Respect for our National Anthem

If you were to criticise anything it would surely be the amount of Dublin fans who jumped up and cheered when Alan Brogan's effort for a fisted point dipped under the bar and into the net. Most of the dubs appeared to be unaware this wasn't a legitimate score despite the fact there are 6 year old's playing Go Games who know it's not allowed. Strange. Must be all that English TV you're talking about!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 11/07/2011 13:54:46    980740

This thread isnt about dublin, it is about players respecting the national anthem. It just happened to be a dublin player who was the guilty party on this occasion. I agree, people should respect the national anthem and cannot understand the mindset of someone who, on national television and in front of 80000 people, decides to walk off while it is still going on. Regardless of who else does it, at the very crux of it, the action is wrong

To the dub lads getting overly defensive, do you think what the guy done was right? All you have said is 'youz have nothing for doing' i.e. attacking the poster instead of addressing the point. I imagine this is because you know alan brogan shouldnt really have done this and want to avoid giving a straight answer.

Hteam, why do you bother following meath then? Doesnt your point work for the county as well as the country?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 11/07/2011 13:57:59    980748

Perhaps they would respect God Save the Queen more?

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 11/07/2011 13:59:51    980752

To the dub lads getting overly defensive, do you think what the guy done was right?

No he wasn't and I too would like both supporters and players to respect the anthem to the end. And as to the Dubs getting overly defensive...sure why wouldn't they when the haters trot out the same lazy stereotypical comments ad nauseum..

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 11/07/2011 14:14:35    980778

I couldn't care less, all I'm worried about is winning the match .

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/07/2011 14:17:37    980785

i have no problem with what they done at all...i would say if ur in croke park with 40-50k people watching an tv audience etc that ur pre match nerves etc will be building up an getting moving about etc is a good way to get rid of the nerves...probably was just looking to things moving an get into game...its not like he was jumping about from start to finsih...

Erinsown91 (Derry) - Posts: 38 - 11/07/2011 14:18:39    980789

DOUBLEHOP
Youre right everyone in the canal jumped up.ridiculous

dubs4eva (Dublin) - Posts: 484 - 11/07/2011 14:19:35    980791

Regardless of who else does it, at the very crux of it, the action is wrong

In your opinion its wrong. Its not wrong per se in the sense that stealing or lying to your mammy is wrong.

I imagine this is because you know alan brogan shouldnt really have done this and want to avoid giving a straight answer.

Again, why not do it. Hes bigger things to be worrying about that what some oul wimmin out the west think. In case its escaped your notice he was playing in a provincial decider yesterday, not hangin around a fleadh!!!

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 11/07/2011 14:20:43    980796

with some admirably blessing themselves before the game had begun
And if the match was being played during the 6 o'clock hour everyone would be sure to stop and say the Angelus. Except for those Dublin hoors who would probably face Mecca instead. Cop on man would ya...

FloridaDub (USA) - Posts: 64 - 11/07/2011 14:22:14    980799

bubba its just racism of a different sort they like to sterotype us it makes them feel better

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 11/07/2011 14:23:09    980805

'The GreenandRed' I hear they're auditioning for the next Flinstones film.You should go along.I hear they're always looking for more dinosaurs.

bradysleftfoot (Mayo) - Posts: 30 - 11/07/2011 14:32:28    980825

Break_er

980752 Perhaps they would respect God Save the Queen more?

Dublin supporters are among the best singers of the anthem. Was looking at Donegal/Cavan and it was embarrassing silence.

Besides, maybe you might compare Donegal's record in 1916-21 to Dublin's? Actually don't bother. I think the Tans went to Bundoran for holidays ;-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 11/07/2011 14:34:18    980828

@doublehop i agree, just like all the Wexford fans in the cusack who jumped up and down like crazy flags waving when their "goal" was disallowed ,why do people go to matches when they dont know the rules ?

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 11/07/2011 14:34:58    980830

Hipster do you ever come on here for anything other than high-horsing? I don't think I ever remember you making a constructive contribution to any thread.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12440 - 11/07/2011 14:40:07    980840

@doublehop i agree, just like all the Wexford fans in the cusack who jumped up and down like crazy flags waving when their "goal" was disallowed ,why do people go to matches when they dont know the rules ?

disingenuous(dis|in¦genu|ous)
adjective
not candid or sincere, typically by pretending that one knows less about something than one really does:

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 11/07/2011 15:03:16    980866

The ONLY stadium I EVER saw the Anthem being treated with respect was at Casement Park because it could have been dangerous to do otherwise.

EVERY county in Ireland has players who jump about during the anthem, and EVERY county in Ireland has supporters who break into cheering during the penultimate line.

Personally what do you expect playing anthems at sports games?

Anthems should be played at state occasions.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 11/07/2011 15:08:28    980878

doublehop maybe alot of them thaught the defender got a hand to it did you ever think of that bcoz as you know because your mister rules book himself(another kevin mcstay we have here) that if the defennder touched it the goal would have stood

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/07/2011 15:11:36    980883

Real Kerry Fan

Respect for our Anthem is important. Look at Rugby and the respect they give it in Cardiff,London,Edinburgh and various other oversea venues. A credit to their country.GAA please note.

and doublehop says it s dubs watching english television wise up you fools culchies know more about any english sport then us

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/07/2011 15:14:04    980886

Besides, maybe you might compare Donegal's record in 1916-21 to Dublin's? Actually don't bother. I think the Tans went to Bundoran for holidays ;-)

LOL@hurlingdub!

You have to ask the culchies who slag off Dublin, how many Risings were there in your own country? And to our Cork friends who go on about them being the 'Rebel County' you only got that name when you took the side of the royalists during the English civil war!

Padraig_Dub (Dublin) - Posts: 100 - 11/07/2011 15:14:54    980888

Padraig_Dub

You have to ask the culchies who slag off Dublin, how many Risings were there in your own country? And to our Cork friends who go on about them being the 'Rebel County' you only got that name when you took the side of the royalists during the English civil war!

Might not have been at Easter, but we had a pretty good rising back in 1798. It took the rest of ye 120 years to catch on to what we were doing!

Hardy har

(I know I said I wouldn't answer this thread again but I had to answer that!)

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 11/07/2011 15:20:08    980897