The Fixture List: Very Unfair on Antrim

bigtomsbreeks
County: Down

975050 Poor Antrim my heart bleeds for you - NOT; maybe when you consider other counties in Ulster re hurling then you will have an arguement but not too many up here will be too worried

You then went on to say that i brought up down clubs.

If you read the posts properly you will realise that me bringing down clubs into it was how i discounted your statement that antrim dont consider other ulster counties. i have even put that part in bold so you dont need to look too hard for it.

Just to make you aware of where i am coming from, firstly i have no time for antrim county board as they have their own agenda's and always have, secondly i believe that the ulster hurling final should be shared out amongst the other counties as this would serve to promote the game further within the province. What I dont get is people from the rest of the province villifying antrim due to them being in leinster and in ulster. Do Down, Derry, armagh believe they should be in leinster too?? Do the same teams believe it would further aid their own development by not having antrim in ulster?? these are serious questions if you want to answer them. If you want to take another hissy fit instead thats your perogative.

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 05/07/2011 13:43:20    975316

05/07/2011 11:48:55
bigtomsbreeks

My wee frankie celtic friend I was commenting on the thread title and typical poor mouth antrim supporters

I am not sure if the administrator of this site is a "poor mouth Antrim Fan" but he/she came up with the title. When I submitted it MY title was simply "The fixture List" But if you want to bad mouth the administrator............

Because I was illustrating that this particular scenario was unfair on LIMERICK as well as Antrim. Hence the suggestion to toss a coin. Limerick footballers play at Limerick, Antrim footballers play in Belfast, if Limerick win the toss Antrim hurlers go to LIMERICK, if Antrim win the toss, play the hurling at Casement.

The thread was also to illustrate that many many counties are affected by this. Probably not Down as they don't often progress that far, but successful counties suffer.

I sometimes wonder why the wife's uncle invented the GAA in Down...in 1959.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/07/2011 14:32:52    975397

Frankie mon frere, not sure what you are getting at re vilification from rest of Ulster but I will try to answer your questions.
Antrim co board are no different from most re their own teams but they do have too much sway over the Ulster council re hurling, fair crack of the whip for all I say re venues etc..
Re Antrim in Leinster I think thats a good call and fair play to them, Ulster will not improve them we all agree and its up to the rest of us to get to their standard. They need to be in both championships but surely to goodness having the strongest county by far play all matches at home at all levels doesnt make sense does it?
Down, Derry and Armagh esp Down have a problem with underage structures because all are football counties first and foremost; kids who hurl in Down do not consider playing for their county an honour, indeed consider it a joke as their club structures, coaches and way they are treated are superior to county team, surely it should be the other way around or at least on a par.
If Down clubs didnt play in Antrim esp the Ards clubs in div 1 then hurling in Downs stronghold would die out; indeed some say its already in serious decline; the Armagh match should be a wakeup call but that result was coming and those on the ground in Down knew it; Armagh have worked hard at underage and its paying off; we havent, indeed the last two hurling development officers in Down were/are both Antrim men and I can tell you they have done absolutely nothing in Down at juvenile level or in the schools but our county board seem happy!!!.
Its not Antrim fault, they have to look after No 1 too but at least try to make hurling in Ulster somewhat fairer as Christy O Connors article recently highlighted.

bigtomsbreeks (Down) - Posts: 130 - 05/07/2011 14:42:52    975413

You put Antrim forward as a successful county!! Enough said

bigtomsbreeks (Down) - Posts: 130 - 05/07/2011 14:45:56    975416

05/07/2011 14:45:56
bigtomsbreeks

Only by Ulster standards. More senior all Ireland's than anyone else, at least 130 more Ulster titles than anyone else, won all three Club titles, current three time in a row world handball champion, only Ulster county to have appeared in all three senior finals, yes......only by Ulster standards.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/07/2011 15:08:11    975439

05/07/2011 14:45:56
bigtomsbreeks

And you really should apologise to the administrator for calling him/her "a poor mouth Antrim supporter".

Tee hee.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/07/2011 15:09:10    975441

Which way will the two Limerick lads go?

Football or hurling?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13803 - 05/07/2011 15:17:21    975454

05/07/2011 15:17:21
MesAmis

Which way will the two Limerick lads go?

Football or hurling?

They say they are hurling agin Antrim, in the BIG game.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/07/2011 15:34:41    975481

maybe should submit a motion, to send all fixtures & venues up to antrim, for final approval.

Long_John (Down) - Posts: 299 - 05/07/2011 15:56:43    975510

The GAA should be doing a hell of a lot more to encourage double headers wherever possible. I dont like using soccer as a reference but they have their 'Super Sundays' etc and once its named as an event more so than a match it generates more viewing and draws more interest. Even in dual counties like Antrim, Limerick, Galway etc you will find supporters following one or the other because the GAA have almost made it that way by keeping them separate. It is hard to cater for all dual counties when it comes to the championship but they are definitely missing the obvious opportunities. Im sure Limerick and Galway Gaels would agree that even travelling the length of the country would be worth it for a double header.

Topa_the_left (Antrim) - Posts: 250 - 05/07/2011 16:05:56    975520

Sligo Minors played Galway in Markievicz Park at 7pm on Saturday 25th June. Seniors played Wicklow in Aughrim at 5pm the same day.

The genious of the GAA's oh-so-intelligent administrators at work again.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 05/07/2011 16:24:48    975539

05/07/2011 15:56:43
Long_John

maybe should submit a motion, to send all fixtures & venues up to antrim, for final approval.

That would be stupid.

Oh sorry, just noticed you are from Down. Sorry.

I was looking forward to going to Limerick.............

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/07/2011 16:35:38    975549

GAA such a joke, toss a coin would have been a great idea.

doubletree (Dublin) - Posts: 164 - 05/07/2011 17:52:18    975651

If Antrim were so selfish hurling wise they wouldn't let the Down teams play here that is a fact. There are many Antrim hurling coaches and people involved with other Ulster club and county sides outside Antrim so we won't take any nonsense from Down people especially. It is unfair on Antrim as it is on the dual counties. This Croke Park regime are so detached from the grassroots that these problems don't surprise me.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 05/07/2011 18:43:41    975705

05/07/2011 18:43:41
Ulsterman

If Antrim were so selfish hurling wise they wouldn't let the Down teams play here that is a fact. There are many Antrim hurling coaches and people involved with other Ulster club and county sides outside Antrim so we won't take any nonsense from Down

Spoken like a true City man.

We take no lip.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/07/2011 19:07:10    975738

I have to work at the game in Casement Park and then rush to Dublin to hurlers play if I'm able to make it.
It's not even on tele so those that can't travel by car can't even see the game on tele.

flemishgael (Kerry) - Posts: 67 - 05/07/2011 21:47:02    975914

Fair enough Antrim are allowing down clubs to play in the antrim league. We are grateful for that, but don't think antrim aren't getting anything out of it. Antrim Clubs need the Down clubs just as much as the down clubs need antrim. Outside of Dunloy/Loughgiel/C'Dall, the standard of club hurling in antrim isn't that high.

Long_John (Down) - Posts: 299 - 06/07/2011 08:51:29    975954

Sure don't the Dubs get home advantage the whole time? Ye have home advantage against us. There are supporter buses leaving at 9 AM so the players would leave before that. Enough said.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1847 - 06/07/2011 10:01:23    975989

The Fixture List is very Unfair on other teams aswell not just Antrim you know...

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 06/07/2011 10:01:55    975990

Limerick's dual players have to make a decision whether to play hurling or football on saturday, now that is a joke.

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 06/07/2011 10:24:50    976001