The Fixture List: Very Unfair on Antrim

This Saturday Antrim play Carlow in the football qualifiers at Casement Park at 3pm. Every true supporter will be there.

We will then leave the ground and drive at 140 KPH to get to Parnell Park to see the hurlers take on Limerick at 7pm.

Does anyone have any sense in the GAA? A double header? Limerick are also in the football qualifiers, so why not toss a coin?

No, instead we have a double header at Limerick but the second game is Cork V Galway.

You couldn't make it up.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 04/07/2011 19:36:12    974728

Don't often agree with you Patrique but good point! But would your footballers surrender home advantage to facilitate adouble header? Our hurlers have done that in the past.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 04/07/2011 19:46:11    974737

patrique, have you not noticed that common sense never comes into play when the GAA organizes its fixtures ?

nevergivein (Roscommon) - Posts: 115 - 04/07/2011 19:47:40    974741

tell me about it patrique, galway hurlers playing at 4 in limerick and footballers at seven in navan couldnt make it unless ballboy brings a few of us in his helicopter sorry forgot its only half a helicopter. Very inconsiderate of the followers of both codes in galway would it be the same if say cork were out in both codes st the weekend, the mind boggles...

skinthecat (Galway) - Posts: 394 - 04/07/2011 19:48:08    974742

I opened this expecting it to be referring to club fixtures but then remembered there was no such thing. Which has me, a club player, extremely disillusioned with GAA.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 04/07/2011 20:09:27    974777

Sure Pinkie the club players will have all the winter to get theie games played dont panic.

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 05/07/2011 09:04:58    975007

It doesnt make sense. The GAA should be trying its best where possible to fix double headers involving both football and hurling to encourage people to enjoy both. Certainly existing dual counties like Antrim should be considered when making the fixtures even if it means approaching their county board and asking them to give up home advantage if it will mean a double header.

Unfortunately we seem to have almost two seperate associations at times whereby we have hurling supporters and then we have football supporters and each looks at the other sport with derision and suspicion. Classic example recently was when I was at Clones at Tyrone-Donegal match. A fellow Tyrone supporter arrived in just before when the throw in was scheduled for the football match. The U-21 hurling game had run late due to it going to extra-time and when he saw the hurlers were still on the field he starting giving off that he didnt want to watch that sh**e. I observed him a few minutes later roaring and cheering on Tyrone hurlers and enjoying the match without realising himself.

My point is more supporters would enjoy football/hurling if they were given the oppurtunity to see more games at mixed fixtures.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 05/07/2011 09:39:57    975022

It is very unfair indeed. The GAA really need to think things through before hand. They are killing attendances themselves

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 05/07/2011 09:44:02    975026

I know, I'm annoyed I can't get to Navan as there's no chance of getting from Limerick in time - ridiculous.

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 05/07/2011 10:07:48    975042

Poor Antrim my heart bleeds for you - NOT; maybe when you consider other counties in Ulster re hurling then you will have an arguement but not too many up here will be too worried

bigtomsbreeks (Down) - Posts: 130 - 05/07/2011 10:16:48    975050

Bigtom are you serious?? Are there not down hurling teams playing in the antrim leagues??? Is this down hurling helping antrim hurling, or is it in fact the other way round?? A very blinkered view you posted there.

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 05/07/2011 10:21:36    975055

These Down men need to dry their eyes methinks!

Seamroga (Antrim) - Posts: 62 - 05/07/2011 10:31:22    975070

Ah the old chip of Antrim does nothing to help Ulster Hurling on the shoulder I see. As Frank points out do Down teams not play in our County Leagues?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 05/07/2011 10:33:28    975073

Down clubs do play in Antrim as do Derry, Armagh etc... and it works for all parties including antrim teams and board.
Thats not the issue here; the issue is antrim wanting to be cut some slack at inter-county level by croker but the same rules dont apply in ulster when they are involved, as stated by many before and not just from down, you get a home venue all the time for ulster county championship matches and ulster club championship matches. Dont want to hear about its the Ulster Council not Antrim as everyone knows who controls hurling in Ulster.
No chip or tears here lads just stating facts

bigtomsbreeks (Down) - Posts: 130 - 05/07/2011 11:01:49    975104

Big tom i feel you are the one who has the ISSUE wrong here. If you read the first post on this message the potser is talking about football and hurling qualifiers. What has that got to do with ulster, or indeed the antrim county board who you seem to have the beef about??? There are other counties who could have a double header this weekend and not just antrim. there are many threads on the go at the moment regarding antrim/games in casement/straight into ulster finls etc, go and cry on them. good man

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 05/07/2011 11:19:37    975118

For counties like Antrim & Limerick and Galway with teams in both hurling & football qualifiers, why not play the football on Sat & the hurling on Sunday. Why not allow fans to buy a ticket online for both games for 20 euro? This would be pretty easy to administer and would promote fans going to both codes, as well as allowing Limerick's dual players to play both games.

No, instead, what we have is a system where people in each county struggle to see both their teams play. In my case, I will probably see neither. What a joke.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 05/07/2011 11:29:40    975134

this is a joke. antrim, galway and limerick all put out because they are dual counties. the gaa say they are trying to promote hurling but penalise the fans of the genuine dual counties by making them choose between hurling and football. ridiculous

Tommo1 (Laois) - Posts: 113 - 05/07/2011 11:32:16    975136

My wee frankie celtic friend I was commenting on the thread title and typical poor mouth antrim supporters who get annoyed when they dont get their way from croke park unlike in ulster!! We all know croker have dealt with these matches very badly but it affects many counties not just antrim; change the thread title if you like. You brought up down clubs and leagues not me; trust me I wont be crying anywhere and wont be taking directions from you where I can or cant comment

bigtomsbreeks (Down) - Posts: 130 - 05/07/2011 11:48:55    975150

Well patrique,you have a home draw while we have to leave very early for your match

Correct me if I am wrong but in the hurling i think the last three times we've played antrim it was away and it our third trip up this year so i think it is fair enough for yous

TheBarrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 82 - 05/07/2011 13:27:15    975294

Sorry Tom, must be time of the month. I wont bother you anymore as you seem to be reading things differently than i am. Summer holidays have a lot to answer for ;)

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 05/07/2011 13:35:04    975303