Joe Canning's Goal

Can't recall ever seeing better stick work than that of Joe's for his goal. One of the best goals I've seen in years.

The man is a genius. Outside Henry, the best player in Ireland.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 04/07/2011 10:36:48    973992

It was an unreal goal.

As with all great players, form is temporary, class is permanent.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 04/07/2011 10:46:46    974010

Fantastic goal but you'd have to ask what the defenders were at. Good to see him back on form, although as a Corkman I'm hoping he dips again on Saturday.

dowchabiy (UK) - Posts: 204 - 04/07/2011 10:51:38    974021

it was a nice finish but does nobody think it should have been a free out as he actualy through the defender to the ground first

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/07/2011 10:55:27    974029

Unreal stickwork but could have been whistled for charging as well!

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 04/07/2011 10:55:58    974031

I thought at the time he couldve been pulled up for a foul on defender. It wouldve been harsh IMO but could have been given. Hopefully he'll keep it up, along with rest of forwards, we cant be relying on him to do that every game

Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 04/07/2011 11:04:12    974039

A great finish, we were lucky to see it. But - I thought steps were the problem. He seemed to really ride that particular rule when he put the ball in his hand for the second time.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 04/07/2011 11:11:49    974045

I think at times Canning is one of the reasons Galways have not progressed as they should have. I think their natural game is to get behind defences & run towards goal. Managers tend to struggle in deciding where to put him and it disrupts their natural game as they try to play so much through him. If Galway concentrated on playing a running game with the other 5 forwards & left Canning on the edge of the square I think they'd be very hard to stop & they'd produce goals galore. In fairness they've not done that since 2005 with Conor Hayes as manager.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6526 - 04/07/2011 11:49:41    974086

Downes got a point for Limerick V Wexford that was on a par with this goal. He was running away from goal and had no catches left & hit it off his left side over the bar.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6526 - 04/07/2011 11:52:09    974091

Yeah unreal Goal kinda reminded me of a similar goal Tipp's Eoin Kelly tried to score against Limerick the in 2006 Munster championship. (If anyone remembers)
he controlled the ball on the hurl in a similar way bringing it back inside the defender without touching or catching it.
Only difference is Kelly dropped it and then clipped it over the bar for a point, where as Canning buried it in the net.
Clare defence was appalling.
Some goal though.

Dan Breen (Tipperary) - Posts: 165 - 04/07/2011 12:03:35    974112

Absoloute class goal, but I thought it was a free based purely on the fact that I got pulled for it a couple of times before by refs for using my ball carrying hand to shove a player out of the way as Joe did. Bit of a difference between intermediete club and senior ic champo, wheres the consistency from the refs though ;-)

Kenjg80 (Dublin) - Posts: 228 - 04/07/2011 12:13:35    974134

Great finish but slightly dodgy because on another day he could have been pulled for steps or pushing the defender out of the way.I thought his first point (from play) was probably a better score.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 04/07/2011 12:23:06    974146

Free out for pushing. Canning and especially Shefflin get away with this 7 or 8 times a game.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 04/07/2011 12:36:57    974172

Blatantly pushed the defender out of the way but it's hurling so no one cares.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 04/07/2011 12:44:14    974177

Coylers Elbow:

Don't agree he shook off the defender I remeber eoin kelly doing similar against cork a few years ago and scoring a cracker, don't think it was a foul by canning for me a great goal and Joe looks like he in the form to answear his critics depending if he stays fit.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 04/07/2011 13:22:03    974214

Coyler's elbow ye in Meath would know all about illegal goals that should have been disallowed and dirty play. What would ye know about hurling anyway?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 04/07/2011 13:40:44    974243

i dont get that last comment about because hes from meath what does he know about hurling thats a stupid post as does it mean every single kilkenny person knows more about hurling then a dublin meath armagh person even if they never watched a match just because there from kilkenny would mean they know more.
you dont have to be good at the game to know how to play it or watch it

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/07/2011 14:05:49    974273

No doubt it was a free out!

It was a blatant push - apart from that everything about the goal was pure class

This score buried the game as a contest, Galway were never going to loose it but at least the second half might have been a little bit more competitive!

Hope the Galway/Cork game is a cracker.. Championship has been very poor so far and is in bad need of something to light it up..

Teams like Clare/Wexford/Offaly are not being helped by their time spent in the Division 2. RTE and TV3 highlighted this in the weekend - The hurling Championship is highlighting it at the moment. This time next year Clare could be looking at their 4th consecutive year in Division 2 or Offaly will be looking at their 2nd consecutive year down their. How does this help hurling in their counties, how does this help hurling full stop? Because of this their preparation for the Championship is poor and there's a good chance the campaign is going to be short lived also which adds insult to injury!

Hurling people, you need to wake up and help the game! Not too many young lads in these counties going to be picking up hurls! The current structure means the rich get richer and the poor get poorer.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1479 - 04/07/2011 14:07:41    974277

coylers elbow, why leave such a ridiculous and senseless comment!.. please dont get involved in conversations that u obviously dont have an iota about, that goal was a great goal, using strength.. and exactly remember eoin kelly doin the very same against cork maybe 3 years ago.. u obviously wudnt know one end of a hurley to the other, go out and kick sum soccer now.

skippy..2009 (Tipperary) - Posts: 125 - 04/07/2011 14:10:39    974282

hill16no1man

Completely agree litterally flung the player aside a definite free, but as with Henry Shefflin these Ref's are actually in awe of these deities. Ahh but sure its a mans game - sod the rules, back in the day when we played with army boots laced with brass wire and used Dockeryard rivets for studs them where the days.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4957 - 04/07/2011 14:12:04    974284