Strangest thing you've ever heard from the Stand?

What's the weirdest roar you ever heard at a GAA match?

Some many colourful examples out there I'm sure - Great Goal for Kilkenny! - at a football match.....just kidding.

A few years back I was at a club championship final in Breffni Park in Cavan, (better half is from Cavan) on a freezing damp day, the Cavan Gaels were playing Mulahoran or someone like that, didn't know what I was doing there to be honest.

Anyhoo, there was an old man sitting a few rows behind me, classic elderly culchie, the coat, the cap etc and everytime the Mulaharon Number 8 got near the ball, he roared out:

'Ah sure kick him in the belly Packie, sure he's only a surrogate man!'

I have to admit I fell off the seat laughing, I'd heard some oddiities in my time but that took the biscuit....

Anyone got a funny story like that to tell?

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 28/06/2011 14:54:04    969396

Often hear ''Kick the ball in low hi''

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 28/06/2011 15:16:52    969446

Can we invoke the fourth station of the cross please

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 28/06/2011 15:35:50    969475

Not heard but saw Christy Moore at an All Ireland semi final sitting beside me eating a big bag of cherries with a pair of binoculars to watch the match. We were in the old lower hogan about 20 rows from the front - not exactly binouclar territory.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 28/06/2011 15:43:08    969494

"c'MON to f*** boys get your act together" At a ladies game

"Let the ball in to the full forward" Also at a ladies game when the goalie taken a kick out

"catch the ball with your Hands"

"referee you blew the bal before the whistle"

Favourite story ever;

Man goes to game at croke park, parks car nearby!
Little rascal asks him for a euro to look after his car, man says "no need i left the dog in the back seat!"
The rascal looks at him and says in dublin accent "thats aww right Mister but can your dog put out a fire???????

Euro paid promtly,lol!

SeniorPanel (Tyrone) - Posts: 57 - 28/06/2011 16:55:22    969618

my personal favourite is 'aww jaysus, should have made chips with him through that fence!!' after someone missed a shoulder tackle lol

tyroneled (Tyrone) - Posts: 69 - 28/06/2011 18:01:39    969698

"Warm up, you're coming off" !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 28/06/2011 18:58:41    969752

SeniorPanel

Favourite story ever;

Man goes to game at croke park, parks car nearby!
Little rascal asks him for a euro to look after his car, man says "no need i left the dog in the back seat!"
The rascal looks at him and says in dublin accent "thats aww right Mister but can your dog put out a fire???????

Euro paid promtly,lol!

thats unbelieveable ive also heard that same story and i was only telling someone about it just the other day,i have to honestly say too its on eof the funniest ive heard too :-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 28/06/2011 19:03:29    969758

All-Ireland final 2008, a Kerry man behind me roars 'Come on lads, you can beat this Tyrone team'. Near wet myself laughing

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 28/06/2011 19:21:41    969779

I am now distinguished by two shouts.

Watching Antrim play football I am the one shouting "It is not ice skating or high board diving, no points for artistic merit, just kick it over the ######g bar".

At the hurling it is usually me shouting "see those big lumps of wood youse are carrying, you are allowed to hit the ball with them" Serious team for hand passing...................

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 28/06/2011 19:53:25    969824

Best i ever heard was "your hairs in your eyes ref!!" ..... the ref was bald

tyronelegend (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 28/06/2011 20:00:46    969832

Was at a Leinster football final in the old Hogan Stand a number of years back. Was in the next section to the old Ard Comhairle section. Between the minor and senior match a bishop in full black and purple regalia came in to the section holding his ticket and looking for his seat. He walked all the way to the top of the section and halfway back down again with no luck. He stopped on the steps and looked around. It was then that a Dublin wit roared at the top of his voice, " I'm up here Daddy !" The aforementioned bishop found his seat very quickly after that.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6192 - 28/06/2011 20:14:43    969852

At a Camogie Game the mentor shouting " Ye have arses, use them"

N16Calling (UK) - Posts: 260 - 29/06/2011 09:27:06    970044

Greengrass
County: Louth

969852 Was at a Leinster football final in the old Hogan Stand a number of years back. Was in the next section to the old Ard Comhairle section. Between the minor and senior match a bishop in full black and purple regalia came in to the section holding his ticket and looking for his seat. He walked all the way to the top of the section and halfway back down again with no luck. He stopped on the steps and looked around. It was then that a Dublin wit roared at the top of his voice, " I'm up here Daddy !" The aforementioned bishop found his seat very quickly after that.

Brilliant.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 29/06/2011 09:36:33    970052

Was at a Kerry/Mayo league game few years back and Mayo were having a real bad day on the scoring front, it was wide after wide till one old lad from Mayo stands up and roads will ye stop the game and put wheels on those goal post to move them about... another old lad beside me from Kerry roars back.. ya but ye better keep them well oiled.. the whole stand burst out laughing..

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 29/06/2011 10:12:24    970084

patrique

969824 I am now distinguished by two shouts.

Watching Antrim play football I am the one shouting "It is not ice skating or high board diving, no points for artistic merit, just kick it over the ######g bar".

At the hurling it is usually me shouting "see those big lumps of wood youse are carrying, you are allowed to hit the ball with them" Serious team for hand passing...................

------------------------

A real wit. Jim Davidson look out!

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 29/06/2011 11:07:00    970128

Derry Dublin game in Clones a few years back.

A dub shouts to a garda "Here, arrest that man Cosgrove for trespassing on a football pitch" (Meaning Ray Cosgrove of course)

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 29/06/2011 11:38:12    970174

Heard coming from the half time dressing room at an u14 championship match good couple of years back after a team getting hammered up to half time, old man roaring in the dressing room " Lads, the longer we stay in this dressing room, the longer we stay in championship"

whoop_hero (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 29/06/2011 12:21:58    970253

'Ta athas orm an corn san a glacadh' From a Mayoman.!

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 29/06/2011 12:29:29    970263

Patrique is the only poster to stay on topic, it's "strangest things you've heard" not funniest things.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12483 - 29/06/2011 12:32:39    970268