Is Bono a hero or a hypocrite?

The lads of U2 have probably paid more tax to the Irish republic than anybody in the history of that state.Heros.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 28/06/2011 16:32:12    969595

seanie_boy

969595 The lads of U2 have probably paid more tax to the Irish republic than anybody in the history of that state.Heros.

FACT?????????????

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 28/06/2011 16:36:13    969598

Bono is in love with himself although he is a great singer I've been to their gigs and found myself thinking "jayuss it would be nice if he cut the BS and actually sang a bit more"

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 28/06/2011 16:52:36    969615

Interesting article on it here - http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2011/0627/1224299635130.html .
I know it's in the Irish Times, that Left leaning/Unionist/abortion loving/church bashing newspaper, but worth a look nonetheless...

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 28/06/2011 16:55:11    969617

dhorse
County: Laois

seanie_boy

969595 The lads of U2 have probably paid more tax to the Irish republic than anybody in the history of that state.Heros.

FACT?????????????
---------------------------
No.Probably.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 28/06/2011 17:00:17    969623

seanie_boy

969623 dhorse

seanie_boy

FACT?????????????
---------------------------
No.Probably.

Definitly.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 28/06/2011 17:14:03    969635

abhainn

969617 Interesting article on it here - http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2011/0627/1224299635130.html .
I know it's in the Irish Times, that Left leaning/Unionist/abortion loving/church bashing newspaper, but worth a look nonetheless

Kevin Myers is very good though

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 28/06/2011 17:15:17    969638

Seamus89
County: Kilkenny

968983 You might have heard about the controversy at Glastonbury, where a group called 'Art Uncut' unveiled a large banner attacking U2 for moving their corporate base to Holland, so as to pay less tax. This was around the same time that Bono attacked the Irish Government for not spending enough taxpayers money on foreign aid (which is often given to corrupt dictators). Here are two links to articles about this issue, one by Michael O'Doherty in the Evening Herald and one by Ian O'Doherty in the Indo.

Leaving aside any thoughts about his music, what do people think about this aspect of U2's past and present? Is Bono a hero, who's just taking advantage of a loophole like any of us would given the chance? Or is he a hypocrite who believes that there is one set of rules for him and another for everyone else?

Do you seriously mean to say Seamus that you actually read what Ian O Doherty "writes "?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6182 - 28/06/2011 17:56:44    969693

Do you seriously mean to say Seamus that you actually read what Ian O Doherty "writes "?

Surprises me too as O'doherty is a self processed atheist wouldn't have thought he would have been Seamus's cup of tea??

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 28/06/2011 19:41:10    969812

28/06/2011 14:47:13
PJ

Sure wouldn't we all pay less tax if we were able to???

The answer to that is no.

A lot of people like myself would actually pay MORE tax if we thought it was being used for some good, like education or health, rather than Trident submarines.

Does anyone know the purpose of Trident submarines?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 28/06/2011 20:04:49    969837

28/06/2011 16:29:02
dhorse

patrique

969288 Obviously I have heard of U2 but could not name one song they do.

A lot of their stuff sounds like the late great Margaret Barry, less polished of course.

Would they be as well known as Margaret?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 28/06/2011 20:05:24    969838

Greengrass

Ah, O'Doherty isn't that bad in fairness. He's not in Myers' league, but few are.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 28/06/2011 20:06:46    969842

The answer to that is no.
A lot of people like myself would actually pay MORE tax if we thought it was being used for some good, like education or health, rather than Trident submarines.

Lucky your not living down south then you'd have a canary to see what the money is being wasted, at least ye have a trident submarine to show for it, most of what happens here is money is pumping into something and there is nothing to show except a few public sector big wigs or banker walking away with a big fat wallet!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 28/06/2011 20:10:48    969846

28/06/2011 16:55:11
abhainn

Interesting article on it here - http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2011/0627/1224299635130.html .
I know it's in the Irish Times, that Left leaning/Unionist/abortion loving/church bashing newspaper, but worth a look nonetheless...

Typical Irish Times.

Hasn't Corporation Tax attracted well known soccer agent Jorge Mendes, rep of Mourinho, Ronaldo and many, many others to Dublin? Sure Jorge employs........no one in Ireland!!!

Gosh, I hope Jorge being Irish isn't just a .....tax dodge?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 28/06/2011 20:10:53    969847

patrique

969838 28/06/2011 16:29:02
dhorse

patrique

969288 Obviously I have heard of U2 but could not name one song they do.

A lot of their stuff sounds like the late great Margaret Barry, less polished of course.

Would they be as well known as Margaret?

Not to afficianados.

She had that OMG factor, you couldn't even see her lips move

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pCl1VBM-0A0&feature=related

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 28/06/2011 20:30:17    969870

HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

969846 The answer to that is no.

Lucky your not living down south then you'd have a canary to see what the money is being wasted, at least ye have a trident submarine to show for it, most of what happens here is money is pumping into something and there is nothing to show except a few public sector big wigs or banker walking away with a big fat wallet!

As bad as that is Hag i'm afraid if you believe that's where it's gone or going to go your more naive than I thought

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 28/06/2011 20:36:08    969876

in all fairness can you take anyone seriously that calls themselves bono? anyone who uses a stage name is completely full of crap. terrible top of the pops music too- they are in the same bracket as justin bieber- says it all really

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 29/06/2011 12:24:54    970258

I take it those criticising Bono's tax avoidance measures carry the same principles through to disagreeing with Dell, Google, Microsoft, HP etc taking their business to Ireland for tax purposes?

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 29/06/2011 12:40:46    970287

liathroidboy

970258 in all fairness can you take anyone seriously that calls themselves bono? anyone who uses a stage name is completely full of crap. terrible top of the pops music too- they are in the same bracket as justin bieber- says it all really

Yeah I have the same opinion of people who say the have half a helicopter

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 29/06/2011 14:16:10    970407

Seamus89
County: Kilkenny

969842 Greengrass

Ah, O'Doherty isn't that bad in fairness. He's not in Myers' league, but few are.

You are having a laugh. First O Doherty and now Myers !!

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6182 - 29/06/2011 15:54:23    970545