Pinkie, I'd love to know what they'd do with our team!
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 21/06/2011 17:27:58
Pinkie, they are two men who would have to be in the frame if McIntyre goes.
Donal O'Grady has shown lith Limerick how to sort out a turbulent mess and Sheedy achieved things with Tipp no-one would have dreamed off 5 years ago.
Both would be more than welcome if McIntyre is shown the door (hopefully he won't be though as it'll be hard to get rid of an All Ireland winning manager :-) ).
tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 21/06/2011 17:29:03
tribeinbrum:
The problem is would a manager want to take over the issues in galway... I feel o'grady will stay with limerick for another while as he is making progress, also sheedy would be a no go as he quit the tipp position due to work commitments and in fairness he has a future as pundit too, been impressed with him even if I'm a bit biased!!
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 21/06/2011 17:34:16
I think you've hit the nail on head there Abhainn. In Galway no manager is given enough time. Noel Lane got us to an All Ireland in 2001, the following year i think Tipp knocked us at around the Quarter Final stage and he was given the boot. Conor Hayes got us to a final, and he was gone a year after. Then we had Ger. No-one is given the time, immediate results are sought after and maybe that's not the way to go.
I honestly thought when he came in McIntyre could change the whole thing round and get us where we want to be. Unfortunately this hasn't happened yet. More worryingly has he lost the dressing room. I hope not because i have great time for McIntyre. He's always honest in his views and that's all you want.
As for Clare, quite frankly i hope it's a god awful game of hurling and we come out it with a win of any sort. Anything would suffice after what happened in Tullamore. But maybe Saturday could be a watershed. Maybe the lads will group together, come out fighting and show some pride in the jersey. After all that's all we want to see. If we get beat by a better team, fair enough, but make sure you left everything on that pitch in getting bet. I don't think we dd that at the weekend, and hopefully we will do it against Clare at Pearse.
Limerick and Wexford will be a tasty one. Hopefully RTE show both games because both have the potential to be crackers.
tribeinbrum in all fairness Conor Hayes got four years, three of which were a complete and utter disaster, who will ever forget the 19 or was it 20 point pasting that Kilkenny gave us in 2004? I thought Noel Lane was very badly treated, he got us to an All Ireland final in is first year and then following on from a somewhat unlucky defeat to Clare in 2002 he was out the door. Mc Intyre meanwhile has had three years, but apart from the league triumph last year they have been poor enough, with this year having the potential to be one of the worst ever? Its hard to know where we go from here, we are seriously lacking in confidence, we are tactically very poor and Joe Canning has not performed since 2008. However the problems in Galway hurling lie much deeper, and while Mc Intyre is not the man to bring them forward, we have to look at the way we develop our younger players. One of the biggest problems in Galway is that we always seem to produce the same type of players, fast, smallish skilful players, however the hurling world has passed us by and bigger, physical players with a lightening first touch are the template these days if you want to win an All Ireland?
gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 21/06/2011 17:36:17
"we have to look at the way we develop our younger players"
The problem is not with how galway develope underage players as they are to be commended on that its developing them to the next level where the problem is, no doubt they have the skill again it's hard to put a finger on what the problem is..... they just don't seem to have the metal old school galway teams had in the late 80's early 90's!!
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 21/06/2011 17:55:31
Well this is a good discussion about hurling rather a certain user in other forums using juvenile remarks an turn into slagging match.I see Galway users are sceptical about their chances before Galway/Dublin and Clare/Tipp ye fancied ye chances.We encouraged by our performance v Tipp we worried after been Div2 and some selections at 1,3,4,5,12,13, and Nicky O Connell had flu.We improved from Limerick Div 2 and ran up 1-19 and very good especially in first half.But work do still ,goalie still shaky and shaky in half back line conceding more soft goals and bad all ye think Galway are if they get chances Tipp did ye put them away also !and need more from Darach Honan as young McGrath be heavily marked now.Debating now bring back Bugler and Colin Ryan .Clare improving they young but more work do in backs and foward if any hope winning.That 2 bad championship performances Galway surelt they a backlash from ye or has MANAGER LOST DRESSING ROOM? Should be good close match a lot to debate and ponder between now and match about both teams
claremaninkerry (Clare) - Posts: 92 - 22/06/2011 22:00:51
claremaninkerry
Seriously, I havent a clue what your saying
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 23/06/2011 10:24:40
he had to be locked writing that...
dlegendcooney (Galway) - Posts: 263 - 23/06/2011 10:29:22
Well I did it in a hurry and didnt have time to edit it and folks I a lot on domestically and barely time to write posts, this isnt an english writing forum and I seen worse spelling etc than this!I think HOGAN STAND forums should be open later it too early to close it at 10pm! Basically I was saying that most of the Galway users are playing down their chances and havent much faith in their team.after 2 poor performances in championship .Clare has improved from Div 2 Final against Limerick but we have improve again from Tipp match,encouraging and all the performance was.But bad and all most of Galway users think their team is but if they given the same goal chances against us that we gave Tipp they get 4 or 5 goals too!This is worrying aspect of our play conceding soft goals and changes in backs have to be made,one for sure is Bugler he has brought back in.Young McGrath was outstanding, but he be marked heavily now and he needs more support and better performance from Darach Honan and what about Colin Ryan been recalled?well he the should have been given more than the 4 mins play he got the last day!After all national and local criticism will there be a Galway backlash against Clare or after 3 years has the Galway manager lost the dressing room?A lot to ponder and discuss between now and the match.Should be good and close affair and could be late night up in Galway if match goes to extra time
claremaninkerry (Clare) - Posts: 92 - 23/06/2011 15:14:44
it will be a late nite in Galway one way or another...we'll either be drowning or sorrows or thinking we are the best team in the country again after a lock of pints:)
dlegendcooney (Galway) - Posts: 263 - 23/06/2011 15:32:58
Haha good one there dconney.Hope be there myself and have been to most Clare matches over the years and would be good craic in Galway that night and like to stay that night but if I go match wont be staying as my wife due our baby in 2 weeks time have to say how herself is that day.Anyway back to hurling should be good close match most clashes between Clare and Galway have been close.The main discussion I say would be will Clare improve from Tipp game as one players said they fed up of moral victories and need a win soon as Clare havent had a championship win since 2008 and this young team would get great boost with a win ?Are Galway as bad as been reported in media or will they be backlash and show the form of the League Final last year and v Tipp in quarther-final?May best team win
claremaninkerry (Clare) - Posts: 92 - 23/06/2011 16:17:56
claremaninkerry you better hope Clare arent out again in 2 weeks and she hasnt had it by then!!!
Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 23/06/2011 16:39:58
dlegendcooney That is probaly the only accurate prediction on here. In my lifetime , this is only the second major (no disrespect to Antrim, westmeath or Laois) Championship match that is being played in galway that i can remember (the other one against Tipp about 7 years ago). Are there any more that I can't remember?
onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 23/06/2011 16:46:51
Right then. Game's nearly here, two good matches coming up.
Can't believe RTE aren't showing both of them, but nevermind.
Limerick and Wexford could be the game of the day, and as good as Limerick were the last day against Waterford, there may be a feelgood factor with Wexford with the footballers doing well that could carry through to the hurlers, Wexford to nick it by 2.
Now, Galway and Clare. I'll be honest, when i first heard the draw i was just glad we didn't get Limerick, but as the game has got closer i'm getting more and more nervous. I fancy us to win, hopefully pulling away in the last 10 minutes to win by 5/6 points. Will be good to actually play a game in Galway and hopefully there'll be a big enough crowd to cheer the boys on. Clare are a good young team though, and if we play the same disjointed way we did against Dublin it will be a very long night. It'd be handy as well if we could win some ball in midfield (seems to be a chronic problem between the hurlers and the footballers).
tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 29/06/2011 09:53:57
I'll go for a Limerick/Wexford Draw not sure if there is ET but if so, still a draw.
Limerick 2-15 Wexford 3-12
Clare to beat Galway by 2.
Clare 0-20 Galway 3-9
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6535 - 29/06/2011 10:35:25
I think we're in for a couple of crackers here.
I had initially said that Clare would beat Galway in the aftermath of the Dublin game but now that a couple of weeks have passed, I'm not so sure. It's very hard to call because Galway are such an enigma right now - will they pick themselves up & come out blazing? If so, you have to fancy them for the win, but if they don't Clare will capitalise - I think Clare will put in a fine effort in any event and they'll take heart from the Tipp game, they were in it as much as Tipp for 50 minutes before's Tipp's talent took over
As for Limerick & Wexford, I stand by what I said earlier in the htread, we'll give them a hell of a game but I still think Limerick will shade it, I sincerely hope I'm wrong
I'm going to say:
Galway 2-12 Clare 1-17
&
Limerick 3-14 Wexford 2-15
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 29/06/2011 11:17:54
Fancy clare to win the seciondgame and there maybeonly a goal to seperate limerick and wexford, to be honest i would prefer to watch lim/wex game but guess we can't have both.
Mulman (Tipperary) - Posts: 562 - 29/06/2011 11:26:42
Galway miles ahead of Clare. My prediction: Galway 4.22 Clare 1.10
womenourlimits (Galway) - Posts: 237 - 29/06/2011 11:33:03
My pick:
Clare 2-20 Galway 2-14
Limerick 3-14 Wexford 1-21
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 29/06/2011 11:35:33
womenourlimits
Your a funny guy. Did you watch any hurling this year so far? Did you crawl under a rock for Galways last game?
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 29/06/2011 11:36:28