Rory McIlroy to play for Britain

pig.ignorant

Congratulations on completely and utterly missing the point. Master said NI is part of Britain, I pointed out that it isn't.......... if that's difficult for you to comprehend then you're username really is appropriate (although probaly disparaging to pigs).

Meath-bhoy, same point pint above goes for you too.

Some people on here really need to learn how to read.

Just for the record, someone born in NI now is the same as somebody born in Dublin in 1920. They're Irish (being born in Ireland), and have the right to identify themselves as British citizens if they so choose.

WTF is the problem with this place that people go around looking for reasons to be offended? Do HS advertise on websites for the emotionally-retarded and mentally impaired?

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 20/06/2011 16:54:14    961222

Also, pig.ignorant, care to point out anything in the post that wasn't true?

Whatever we may want to happen with the 6 counties, we have to face the reality of the current situation before we can do anything to change it.

Sticking your fingers in your ears and pretending that things are different isn't exactly the brightest way of progessing towards our goals.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 20/06/2011 16:56:57    961225

according to MR I'M 100% RIGHT, THIS MAKES ME HAPPY, I EMPLOY OVER 300 PEOPLE, I HATE CIVIL SERVANTS BALLBOY ETC ETC,
this was a ref.to ballboy, whom i mentioned in the post

this isnt the first time you have come out with this type of stuff on here black and white, sense! if you read over and break down what i said "this isnt the 1st time you have come out with this type of stuff here-sense.and sense was the main word. i was trying to point out that you were talking sense and that it would probably be lost on the ballboy.

looks like it was lost on more than him though. as for me saying you've come out with this stuff before, that was referring to previous posts by yourself which i thought made sense. tut tut shame on you. did you ever hear of friendly fire?

pig.ignorant (Derry) - Posts: 655 - 20/06/2011 18:09:42    961318

pig.ignorant

Apologies! I missed the key word in your first reply. Must try harder!!!

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 20/06/2011 18:21:33    961329

ha ha love the Dumb and Dumber line there Breffni :) fair play.

Dubsfan08 (Dublin) - Posts: 619 - 20/06/2011 19:06:58    961359

patrique

961065 dhorse
County: Laois

I'm agnostic re the moon landing. Why do you think there wouldn't be shadows on the moon?

Too dark. There is no moonlight on the moon and no street lamps.

Sunlight, light emanating from the sun , as opposed to the well known brand of soap

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 20/06/2011 19:12:28    961361

Meaningless, irrelevant fact, only vaguely related to this subject: Rory McIlroy is actually a Catholic.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/how-the-boy-who-learned-golf-by-chipping-into-his-mums-washing-machine-is-set-to-really-clean-up-1631738.html

It should also be pointed out that Golf, like Rugby, cricket, Gaelic Games and boxing is administered on a 32 county basis by the the GUI. I now feel all warm and fuzzy, happy in the knowledge that Rory is Irish, Northern Irish, United Kingdomish and above all European.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 20/06/2011 20:02:52    961412

20/06/2011 19:12:28
dhorse

Sunlight, light emanating from the sun , as opposed to the well known brand of soap

Don't be daft.

The sun comes out during the day, the moon at night.

So how could the moon get sunlight?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/06/2011 21:52:43    961517

i dont really care if hes irish, british or from the united kingdom but....

did anyone notice that just off the 18th green he was thrown a tricolour?... he proceeded to throw it on the ground... if i was someone from ireland or isreal doing that id be annoyed, im myself found it very disrespectful

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 21/06/2011 13:07:47    961815

MickeyTyson: Yeah I noticed that, saw it being thrown and it the next shot it was not there. I don't think there was a screenshot if he indeed did throw it. However I can understand why he did, if he did. It is a complex situation for him with Ireland and Britain trying to claim him. Like Darren Clarke grabbing the orange on the tri colour after Ryder Cup wins. Poltics and sport should not mix but unfortunately on this island that is often impossible. Andy Murray has something similar in Tennis. However he has given his view and see's himself as Scottish, not British. Perhaps that is the difference in their personalities, Rory not wanting to offend while Andy not really caring. Sure its only a flag!!! Why do we have to label people anyway.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 21/06/2011 13:22:44    961834

MickeyTyson: Yeah I noticed that, saw it being thrown and it the next shot it was not there. I don't think there was a screenshot if he indeed did throw it. However I can understand why he did, if he did. It is a complex situation for him with Ireland and Britain trying to claim him. Like Darren Clarke grabbing the orange on the tri colour after Ryder Cup wins. Poltics and sport should not mix but unfortunately on this island that is often impossible. Andy Murray has something similar in Tennis. However he has given his view and see's himself as Scottish, not British. Perhaps that is the difference in their personalities, Rory not wanting to offend while Andy not really caring. Sure its only a flag!!! Why do we have to label people anyway.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 21/06/2011 13:24:02    961836

rory was right to drop the flag- he isnt political and i would do the same if someone threw a flag over me- rory mcilroy won the open not ireland not britian or any other such nonsense- its pathetic this trying to claim him as rory has often joked he is european and that all that matters- a wise head on yound shoulders why on earth would he engage in the political hatred associated with stupid things like flags.

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 21/06/2011 13:51:30    961871

Rory is off playing golf round the world, he would not give one thought about the squabbles catholics and protestants believe to be important in the north and one thing for sure he would be laughing if he read any of the silly squabbles that is been had on this forum on whether he is catholic or protestant playing for britain or ireland.. yawn!!!!. Who gives a sh*t, i know one thing for sure he dont care. He went to mixed cross-denominational school in hollywood, where he would have grown not giving a feck bout things that narrow minded biggots think is important. Who cares what foot he kicks with!!! the young fellow is a legend.

keepherlow (Tyrone) - Posts: 127 - 21/06/2011 13:53:31    961877

miketyson
County: Limerick

did anyone notice that just off the 18th green he was thrown a tricolour?... he proceeded to throw it on the ground... if i was someone from ireland or isreal doing that id be annoyed, im myself found it very disrespectful

I saw the tricolour. It was not thrown at him and he certainly did not throw it on the ground.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 21/06/2011 14:07:08    961900

So how could the moon get sunlight

Any time you observe the moon from Earth it is because of sunlight reflecting off its surface.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 21/06/2011 14:23:34    961920

Sincerest apologies, replace Britian with the United Kingdom of Great Britian, because clearly, that changes everything. Who is it McIlroy wants to represent again? Is it the United Kingdom of Great Britian, or Great Britian? Do they have two different Olympic teams? Does he have a passport for the United Kingdom of Great Britian or Great Britian? Maybe he should get the two, just in case. You are splitting hairs for the sake of it. Clearly, the context isnt to do with land masses, the lad has a british passport, he lives in a country which receives funds from the british queen. In truth his day to day life has more affiliation with england than ireland.
If a man from the aran islands is asked if he is from the island of ireland in passing conversation, does he have to say no and get into the finer points of land masses or just say yes and get to what he is actually talking about?

Spot on breffni, u got it in one, mr french tickler

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/06/2011 14:23:56    961921

patrique

961517 20/06/2011 19:12:28
dhorse

Don't be daft.

The sun comes out during the day, the moon at night.

So how could the moon get sunlight?

the Sun doesn't go in or out, it's just that at regular intervals the part of the planet we live on is not facing the sun, well, apart from some obvious exceptions where the light of day has not intruded since 1690.

From the sun... where else? The term moonlight is a misnomer, it is simply reflected sunlight.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 21/06/2011 15:19:39    961989

21/06/2011 13:07:47
miketyson
County: Limerick

It is indeed very disrespectful having national flags at sports events, nearly as bad as playing National Anthems at them. Anthems should be for state occasions only.

Rory McIlroy was representing Rory McIlroy in the US open.

So unless there is a McIlroy flag............

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/06/2011 15:49:50    962039

dhorse

From the sun... where else? The term moonlight is a misnomer, it is simply reflected sunlight.

WHAT!!!!!!!! Where did ye get that nonsense from?

So we will have songs like "Sunlight in Mayo" and City fans will be singing "Blue Sun, you saw me....."

The moon comes out at night. The sun during the day.

EVERYONE knows that.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/06/2011 15:53:13    962045

Patrique.

Continuing on matters solar.

This year, July has 5 Fridays, 5 Saturdays and 5 Sundays. This happens
once every 823 years.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 21/06/2011 15:54:04    962048