Northern Ireland Catholics dont want a UI

A major survey by Northern Ireland's two universities has found support for a united Ireland at an all-time low.

The DUP has welcomed the findings of the Northern Ireland Life and Times Survey which reported that just 16% were in favour of unification.

Read more: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/politics/survey-most-northern-ireland-catholics-want-to-remain-in-uk-16012932.html#ixzz1PXa2itFo />

Nothing surprising there, most of them now work for British administration in the civil service.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 17/06/2011 14:43:29    958894

Great, I love these threads. I never ever get tired of reading the same stuff over and over again. I bet it'll be really funny this time round, so excited lol!!!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12387 - 17/06/2011 14:53:50    958913

Why are you surprised Pog NEVER BITE THE HAND THAT FEEDS YOU.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 17/06/2011 14:56:47    958917

I blame the Tyrone crowd !! Again !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 17/06/2011 15:04:50    958924

Not surprised at all, after all we cannot afford to keep your overpaid politicians, state and semi state servants, debt ridden developers or 400,000 welfare recipients. When you consider it really until you clean up your act down there you are not really that good a proposition for the North to subsume.

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 17/06/2011 15:07:38    958927

as ive always said what they want is largely irrelevant as it is the people of the republics choice ultimately and thats all that matter so if 1% or 100% of the people of the north want it it matters absolutely nothing! like all the posters on here they talk rethoric about a united ireland but in reality alot of them would lose their jobs, lose their free everything they get from the queen and that is why it will never happen. sinn fein dont even want it as it would put them out of a job.... but alas we have to listen to the crap over and over again. there will never be a united ireland and that makes me really happy as i despise republicans who have ruined all symbols of irishness and for that alone i want nothing to do with them. united ireland more chance of ireland rejoining britian than a united ireland :D

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 17/06/2011 15:10:26    958932

close the floodgates quickly. ballboy wil be loving this. tell me paddy why does the 2 most controversial posters on hs CLAIM to be from mayo. (or living there)

pig.ignorant (Derry) - Posts: 655 - 17/06/2011 15:14:15    958935

just read your post there ballboy, what about us nationalists from the north that arent part of the "republican" community, that work for the private sector (not you and your (ahem) company), are we not entitled to an opinion. and as for us rejoining the other 26, being down to the people of the 26, it will be for the people of the 32 to decide, not the people of the 6 or 26 separately. and thankfully the irish people - of which you arent part of - will do the right thing when the time comes

pig.ignorant (Derry) - Posts: 655 - 17/06/2011 15:22:49    958951

I thank the Lord, good news at last.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 17/06/2011 15:26:34    958960

pig.ignorant
County: Derry

958951 just read your post there ballboy, what about us nationalists from the north that arent part of the "republican" community, that work for the private sector (not you and your (ahem) company), are we not entitled to an opinion. and as for us rejoining the other 26, being down to the people of the 26, it will be for the people of the 32 to decide, not the people of the 6 or 26 separately. and thankfully the irish people - of which you arent part of - will do the right thing when the time comes

--------------------

here is a straight factual legal based question? can people from northern ireland vote in a refferendum in the republic? NO THEY CANT!! and it will take a refferendum of the irish republic to see do we want to accept ye back. Now please correct me if im wrong- no opinions please just facts! i think you have to get your head beyond what you want and look at things legally they are two seperate countries that will require two seperate refferendum- this nonsense you are talking about a 32 county decison is is absolutely wrong on so many levels but i suppose to just mention one should surely fix it all- a 32 county decision is and would be 100% unconstitutional in the republic. Really hope this help you. personally i would welcome a refferendum in the republic for the laugh so we could finally and factually tell you in no uncertain terms what we think of you. i mean to think about it would anyone within 100k of the border even consider a united ireland fpor a second? Hell no, no cheap booze, food, smuggled goods and as you move further south well we never bought into the republican nonsense and we will make decision based on the facts that we will no pay more tax to pay for keep the people of the north. queen lizzy looks after you well and that is how it shall remain

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 17/06/2011 16:20:39    959023

i suppose if we look at the numbers 16% of less than 50% of the vote would most likey equate to 5-7% of the northern population wanting a united ireland, that reality coupled with the republican rants about when this reunification is going to happen really makes you laugh, is it that if they say black is white forlong enough they may actually believe it- in the end all we do is laugh anyways! whats more on their death beds years from now say in 40 years will that 5-6% increases of decrease? northern catholics/ republicans are more british than the british themselves and are more interested in british popular culture than any republican nonsense. this is a good development! in 20 year time if you mention bobby sands to a teenager on the falls they will say who is he? and this can only be a good thing!

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 17/06/2011 16:40:31    959040

Moving onwards support will rise again, the most important thing to any man and his family is the money in his pocket and the food on the table. At the moment we're severely broke in the south, and will be for many many years to come. I heard an interesting fact today which highlights our problem in frightening terms. Britain was bankrupt after WW2, and had to borrow MILLIONS from America. The last of the re-payments for these loans was made in......2006. Thats 60 years paying off debt from one specific period in time. We owe BILLIONS, with a GDP of around 30 billion per annum.

The fact is the republic wont be able to do anything about NI constitutional status for a hell of a long time. Your talking at least 30 years.

An Irish government review of NI is next due in 2025. I dont think we'll be significantly better off by then.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 17/06/2011 16:43:09    959045

Was wondering which of the partitionist posters would be the first to run with this thread, paddyogall was amongst the favourites, I knew liathroidboy wouldnt have the mental capacity to read a newspaper so it wouldnt be him. Have to say my money was on PomeroyPlunkett/pplocal/ P diddy or whatever he calls himself this weather so fair play Paddy.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 17/06/2011 16:47:44    959052

omaghredhand

I had a good chuckle there Omagh. Anyways I sent some paperwork off to London this morning RE: Infrastructure developments in the North, it should be recycled to you guys next week some time. I'm glad you have accepted your status within the British bosom at long last, now any chance of returning the passport of the country you dont want to be involved in?

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 17/06/2011 16:48:17    959053

An Irish government review of NI is next due in 2025

Where have you heard this Sergeant?

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 17/06/2011 16:49:15    959055

Goodfella, Tir

An Irish government review of NI is next due in 2025

Where have you heard this Sergeant?

Sure jaysus lad, its about 2 years since I read that bit of info, I cant for the life of me remember what the source was, or in what context it was written, all I remember is that fact, that the Irish government were happy with the status quo in the north after devolution and the transfer of all devolved powers. Every so often the government here reviews NI, and its due for another review until 2025, that much is fact. Forgiveness that I cant remember where I read it though.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 17/06/2011 17:36:58    959094

littleboy your bitterness is blinding you. when, not if, the brits hand the keys to the 6 counties back, it will be just like that. they will not ask you do you want us or any other nonsense. there will be a plan put in place between the 2 governments and a small period of transition. i do expect some civil service workers to end up unemployed but other than that there will be nothing of notice. on a separate note do you employ any "northern catholics" in your empire. again don't let your bitterness (or your love for the british) blind you. if, and thats a huge if there was a referendum that would involve the 32 counties, something similar to the good friday agreement.

pig.ignorant (Derry) - Posts: 655 - 17/06/2011 18:21:43    959134

pig.ignorant
County: Derry

959134 littleboy your bitterness is blinding you. when, not if, the brits hand the keys to the 6 counties back, it will be just like that. they will not ask you do you want us or any other nonsense. there will be a plan put in place between the 2 governments and a small period of transition. i do expect some civil service workers to end up unemployed but other than that there will be nothing of notice. on a separate note do you employ any "northern catholics" in your empire. again don't let your bitterness (or your love for the british) blind you. if, and thats a huge if there was a referendum that would involve the 32 counties, something similar to the good friday agreement.

--------------------------

i would actually love if the british handed the keys as you said back, if two government agreed everything down to the very last detail, all of it is 100% completely irrelavant as it takes a refferendum of the people of the country ie. the republic to accept or reject the north. you seem to think that this is a political decision and its not its a soverign decision which will require a change to the constitution of the republic. The constitution cannot be changed without a refferendum- mate live with your head in the sand all you want and delude yourself all you want. ill put it to you like this if sinn fein had every political seat in the north and the south - can they make a united ireland without a refferendum?

let them hand back the keys, they you will have your refferendum in the north and on the evidence presented you definately wont win as the unionist community will never go for it which is entirely their right and choice- and low and behold if you do get a majority in the refferendum from, at present, well less than 10% of agreement (is that a pig i see flying) then the vote goes to the irish people in the republic - and from that vote you will possibly have to for your own state entirely. but alas that will never happen, as for generation and generations to come the royals will hold you close to their bossom as they do for all their loyal subject.

CAN YOU CHANGE THE CONSTITUTION WHITHOUT A REFFERENDUM?

Ps: using tipex changing 26 to 32 aint exactly an option either, you know im right as i am 100% legally and factually right and you just dont like the idea that you only have a minor say in your own destiny as the people of the republic hold the keys- you just refuse to accept that but hey i dont care as we both know i am as always 100% right. this isnt one of these philosophical arguments where you try to convince people you are irish this is a straight forward legal question around the constitution of the republic- harsh but very true :) personal insults from you change nothing but they do give me a smile knowing i have more power than you in relation to your identity :)

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 17/06/2011 20:27:43    959220

patrique

958960 I thank the Lord, good news at last.

lord who??

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 17/06/2011 20:28:23    959221

17/06/2011 20:28:23
dhorse
County: Laois

patrique

958960 I thank the Lord, good news at last.

lord who??

Lord Alex ferguson.

He has got that confused these days they are thinking of making him a Lord.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 17/06/2011 21:43:29    959290