GAA Jerseys - best/worst?

in some ways thats a different point and understandable. interesting point would be do you when they became widely available in shops? was it with the introduction of sponsorship?

1798man (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 17/06/2011 11:42:24    958654

Wicklow jersey is definitely the best

gaelicman94 (Wexford) - Posts: 90 - 17/06/2011 11:43:21    958655

I reckon it goes back further than 15 years onlyhurling, more like 20-25 but in response to your point, the jerseys are much more readily available and marketed today than in the last 15 to 20 years.

And I for one, welcome that, I love wearing my colours to games and seeing the masses do the same

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 17/06/2011 11:46:19    958663

Jos33 I hope i'm not putting it away. I'll never hear the end of it from herself indoors if you guys turn us over!!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 17/06/2011 11:47:25    958668

Where could I get my hands on one of those purple shirts anyway d'yknow? They're nice
gigoer , 17/06/2011 at 11:40

they were giving them away free after the Kilkenny Wexford game Gigoer along with the 5 in a row t-shirts

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 17/06/2011 11:47:31    958669

yeh i've seen them play in the white as well so not totally sure which is the second strip. Funny cos the minute i saw the all purple i was wondering where i could get one. best bet would probably be to hop into sportsavers as theyre the sponsors

1798man (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 17/06/2011 11:48:47    958673

think sponsorship came in early 90s so since then theyve definitely been more available

1798man (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 17/06/2011 11:51:17    958678

It's a pity they didn't shove them in your mouth and shut you up for once Blues boy, would have been worth it

God help you when Tipp are defeated later on in the Summer

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 17/06/2011 11:54:50    958682

http://www.oneills.com/productdetails/2763/wexford-gaa-jersey-purple.aspx Here's the link to the all purple strip, for all you Wexford gaels.
Come on the Slaneysiders ya bhoys ya!!

brolly_4_pres (Derry) - Posts: 356 - 17/06/2011 11:59:00    958690

cheers mr. brolly. €60's a bit steep considering its not the traditional one

1798man (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 17/06/2011 12:02:19    958696

Cheers Derry, much obliged!!

And very sporting too instead of being an a-hole about it

Good luck against Armagh

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 17/06/2011 12:02:40    958698

Carlow's will always be the worst

Blue.Steel (Longford) - Posts: 138 - 17/06/2011 12:04:18    958700

I always liked the Tipp jersey (before the Skoda sponsor, they don't look that good now), as they are quite similar to my own club jerseys. The Cavan one is always nice, pity we have no decent footballers to fill it. Waterford always have a decent jersey. The new Limerick ones are horrible, just way too plain, and I normally like their green jersey. The azzurri/gaelic gear jersey are always bad for some reason, they just don't have the design that O'Neills have. Fermanaghs a few years ago was not nice at all.

Some of the nicest jersey out there are club one. the NYPD from about 5 years ago was awesome. And there is also a club one (I cannot for the life of me remember who it is, one of the lads on our hurling team has it, I'll come back when I get the name of it) and it is black with a red trim and very thin red stripe across the chest. It was just deadly.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2479 - 17/06/2011 12:10:51    958707

Remember that hideous yoke of an effort we had in 2003-2004 lads? With the colours running into one another. Absolutely awful thing. Couldnt wait till we got rid of it!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 17/06/2011 12:12:03    958714

Best: Kildare, Cavan, Sligo, Louth and Roscommon

Worst: Carlow, Leitrim, Donegal, Clare, Wexford

JimboK (Kildare) - Posts: 215 - 17/06/2011 12:15:31    958716

how can i foget i'm still wearing it to every match hence the need for an update. for some reason the jerseys the team had seemed okish - as in it was a deep purple direct into the yellow but the shop ones were a pinky purple and nearly went white where they met

1798man (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 17/06/2011 12:16:39    958717

I still have one of them but in all honesty I don't wear it anymore

Funny when you look for a Wexford shirt on ebay, that jersey always crops up!

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 17/06/2011 12:20:33    958722

I don't know how it works in Wexford or any other county for that matter but when i purchase a county jersey for myself or a t-shirt for example i go to Derry's training complex where its a wee bit cheaper than sports shops and they have the odd one players have worn with number on back etc plus the money goes straight to the county board which in some way filters back into the team or promoting the game in the county.

brolly_4_pres (Derry) - Posts: 356 - 17/06/2011 12:46:01    958748

I seen that on ebay as well, some lad expecting to make a tenner for it, good luck to him!!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 17/06/2011 12:54:29    958757

I'm a Wexford man who lives in Dublin so I usually head down to the O Neills Factory Store near the Long Mile road. Jerseys (amongst a lot of other things, training shirts, goalie shirts, polo shirts etc) tend to be a bit cheaper there than in Elverys/Champions sports etc etc etc, excellent selection too

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 17/06/2011 12:59:25    958762