Belfast/Antrim Egos

16/06/2011 16:31:28
TYRONE_MICK

"We're not at the next level yet, and Westmeath think they're at our level, so it's up to Antrim to go out and show that we are still ahead of them and that we can push on to play the bigger teams."

Who said this? Wexford aren't one off the bigger teams

As I thought, you know NOTHING about hurling.

But what do you expect coming from a county who have never won anything, football or hurling.

Well not compared to Wexford, football or hurling.

I suspect a little bit of misplaced Tyrone arrogance here.

And you thought it was KEVIN McGourty. Admit it, would make life easier.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/06/2011 19:45:40    958336

16/06/2011 18:04:17
FitnessGuru

His comments are a disgrace to antrim gaa!

McGarry's? I agree, that's those country lads for ye.

Should have 15 Belfast men on the team......

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/06/2011 19:46:41    958339

When Antrim had A good team they did't want to see there names in the irish news every time they bought it.
I.e Sambo Woody Clute Dessie Donnelly class hurlers all they wanted to do was there best for Antrim not selling papers for the irish news.

TYRONE_MICK (Tyrone) - Posts: 332 - 17/06/2011 11:11:17    958601

Maybe im missing something here lads , but would Antrim not be generally viewed as better than Westmeath , Carlow and just a little ahead of Laois ?? Would that be an unreasonable assessment?

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 17/06/2011 13:18:02    958790

I think Antrim are a level above Westmeath

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 17/06/2011 13:35:22    958807

LohansRedHelmet
County: Clare

958807 I think Antrim are a level above Westmeath

And several levels above the mighty Tyrone hurlers.
Like many on here a fail to see the supposed arrogance in this statement. compare that with the total and 'in your face' arrogance that you are greeted with from a proprotion of tyrone supporters that fail to acknowledge anything to do with the GAA pre 2003.

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 17/06/2011 13:41:49    958811

frankbhoy77

Your name says it all how many years out of date is celtic your jersey? Im A gaa man all my life..

TYRONE_MICK (Tyrone) - Posts: 332 - 17/06/2011 14:02:09    958834

Mick, that doesnt even make sense, how about you get someone to check your grammar before you post. I also seem to have hit on a raw nerve with you as you have went for the lazy response ie. picking on someones username rather than actually responding to the post. good man, you are doing your county proud :)

By thw way I have also been a gaa man all my life but i also enjoy other sports, my deepest apologies about that.

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 17/06/2011 14:06:32    958844

Your name says it all how many years out of date is your celtic jersey? Im A gaa man all my life.. sorry

TYRONE_MICK (Tyrone) - Posts: 332 - 17/06/2011 14:19:09    958863

My celtic, antrim and everton jerseys are all very much in date thank you for asking, although there may be changes over the summer so might have to purchase those. As a matter of interest, i also have an antrim 1989 jersey, would this mean i am not a true gaa man?????

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 17/06/2011 14:25:35    958873

89? There was A lot of bandwaggon supporters in 89 to that day in 92 when Down done A number on yous.
The glens men will always be there but a lot off the city men only go for A day on the beer.... Are you one of them?

TYRONE_MICK (Tyrone) - Posts: 332 - 17/06/2011 14:56:03    958916

At first glance of the title banner I thought what another Ice Hockey team for Belfast it, But I have to say the BiGGest EgO on here is a certain professor from Antrim

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 17/06/2011 15:05:27    958925

I am as much from belfast as you are my friend, and i agree with you to a certain extent about boys just going on the beer, but lets be honest that happens in all counties.

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 17/06/2011 15:19:11    958943

17/06/2011 14:19:09
TYRONE_MICK

? Im A gaa man all my life.. sorry

Then you should know that there are THREE McGourty brothers. Kevin, who is constantly in the Irish news, and you thought the article was about him. IT WAS NOT.

Then there is CJ, out injured as well at present, and known to make himself heard as well.

Finally the quiet unassuming one, who few have heard of. Kieran, and it is Kieran here who is saying he reckons Westmeath might beat Antrim. And he could well be right.

Hard to keep up with such a great sporting family, all three have hurled for Antrim, and CJ and Kevin have played football for the county. The sister of course is an all Ireland camogie winner, so there are about 18 all Ireland medals in the house.

But no need for Tyrone people to be jealous. Sure didn't Tyrone have the Devlins in their day?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 17/06/2011 15:23:34    958955

With the wet weather predicted for tomorrow, it's going to be a real battle. the hurling probably won't be pretty and Antrim will definitely have to show heart if they want to pull through. They will believe they are good enough, but this is championship. Hopefully they will get past this one.

ruairi_og (Antrim) - Posts: 9 - 17/06/2011 19:06:06    959174

Yep - I can see Westmeath putting these quotes on the dressing room wall to rile themselves up:

"McGourty insists the Ardsmen will have to be at their best to book a date with Carlow in the next round"

"We've always had problems with Westmeath"

"If they had a pick, I'm sure they would have picked Antrim or Laois"

"We're not at the next level yet"

Really insulting stuff!

I can't believe you read these quotes and were so incensed you had to start a thread about it. Did an Antrim man steal you girlfriend or something?

Aint_Trim (Antrim) - Posts: 16 - 17/06/2011 20:29:32    959225

antrim people getting cocky thats nearly as funny as tyrone people saying that winning 3 all irelands in a decade is better than winning 4- they are a funny breed in northern ireland.

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 17/06/2011 20:42:24    959235

17/06/2011 20:42:24
liathroidboy

antrim people getting cocky

36 posts on this my dear Liathroidboy and you still got it wrong.

the whole point was Antrim people were NOT getting cocky.

The thread started because some culchie from Tyrone confused Kevin and Kieran McGourty, and then never read the comments attributed to that person.

But then you already know Tyrone people know very little about the GAA........

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 17/06/2011 21:27:48    959278

Tyrone Mick is a melter.
Patrique THINKS he is a professor but i KNOW he is just a little dude with NO authority. Trust me i know
We'll see this weekend what happens in the hurling.

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 18/06/2011 11:42:59    959357

Heading out to this and with complete arrogance I suspect Westmeath will win.

Antrim only have 5 Division One hurlers in the line up......

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 18/06/2011 13:41:35    959446