Cavan team to face Donegal

just wondering is there a forward in the county that can take a score from distance jesus playing against a team that packs the defence and yet we still try to walk the ball in any top inter county forward should be able to kick scores from distance.and what a stupid sending off my god if gaynor done that everyone would be up in arms giving out.

cbj (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 12/06/2011 21:32:10    954320

Thought the Cavan lad made a total meal of things to get Murphy sent off. He ran into Murphy and then throws himself on the ground.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 435 - 12/06/2011 21:42:27    954337

Management have to take the slack for this one, they got it all wrong and failed to recognise where they were going wrong throughout the game. How did they leave Carroll on McFadden the whole game that was ridiculous! Then this high ball tactic which was obvious wasnt working after the first 3 balls but yet they persisted with it, McGee was made look like a superstar! Karl Lacey was not tracked by Johnstone and nothing was done, a glaring weakness in the Donegal team, Paddy McGrath at corner back, was not exploited by Cavan. Damien Reilly was playing well enough i thought and they brought him off, really it should have been Dane O Dowd coming off or Carroll. The subs Cavan made were only made when the game was over and when players like smith, brennan and mckeever did come on they proved they should have been there from the start. Givney is suffering from playing too much Junior football, countless times he was disposessed trying a dummy solo and at times he was forced to take players on when the support wasnt coming. Niall Murray was out of his depth a bit and so was Fergal Flanagan, in a few years maybe but right now its too early for them. As long as the management learn from their mistakes i wouldnt get carried away with the state of Cavan football, if they can sneak past Longford we might get a better idea of the strongest 15

christyring (Cavan) - Posts: 22 - 12/06/2011 21:53:28    954359

ochonlir

Just stop posting, and stop now. Save the tiny bit of credibility you have left, and leave. People are laughing at your silly opinions, just give it up and call a spade a spade. We're bad, and we're getting worse.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 12/06/2011 21:53:51    954360

Sgt I appreciate your bandwagon advice and its great that im getting it from one who is tapped into the feelings of others. Its a strqmge reaction to a.cavan loss however but like richkid you resort to laughter

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 13/06/2011 08:46:26    954390

Lads ye were on about us being too defensive?? Ye have to be the most defensive team i ever seen!!

onequestion (Donegal) - Posts: 104 - 13/06/2011 09:02:26    954400

Folks

We went the same way as the following, Division 3 teams:

Limerick
Waterford
Louth
Offaly
Westmeath
Waterford

The only team from Division still standing are Wexford

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 13/06/2011 09:09:27    954405

With regards to yesterdays game we were well beaten by a team who should make the last 8 of the competition. On a wet and miserable day their physical strenght came more into play. A long way to go before we are even competitive but we just have to stick at it and support the youngsters over the next couple of years. I can't see any other route out the situation that we are in.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 13/06/2011 09:15:58    954410

Look lads the management has to take its fair share of the blame for yesterdays disaster .Im all for blooding these young under 21s but at the end of the day they have got to be comfortable about the way they are playing and the system and yesterday they werent... NOW THATS A MANAGEMENT MISTAKE.

Heres a few examples.
James Reilly.. Fantastic shot stopper on his day, yesyerday he was quite content to hoof his kickouts out into the middle of the park. No attempt was made to find a player from these kickouts. The two he kicked towards the wings both went over the sideline..Durcan on the other hand placed every single kickout..MANAGEMENT FAULT

Dane o Dowd. going for a ball with one hand on the edge of the 13 m line, gets skinned for Donegals first goal by a 18 yr old making his first full championship debut. What these backs been doing in training?

Niall Murray been employed as a sweeper on his first championship game was a big ask. He covered endless ground in his own backline playing off the shoulder of his own teammates which wasnt turned in to attacks .. When Murray finaly did go forward with the ball into the Donegal half at the start of the 2nd half McKiernan scored a fine point after Murrays hard work..

Givney.. bid disapointment. caught one ball in his own square and one ball in midfield. poor return for 70 minutes.

You know where id play Givney the next day? Full back on Kavanagh because Carroll certainly is NOT a fullback

Lyng. big dissapointment too. no penetration whatsoever for a half forward. Like all forwards yesterdat they seem to be running up blind alleys into the tackle.
Unable to create space for themselves too. This plan of kicking a ball AT a team mate leaves the player in possession stiffled ..No movement of the ball into space for sharp nippy forwards to run on to.
Once Johnstone is doubley marked its game set and match because there no other forward capable of standing up to be counted. Johnstone gave away a free on his own 45 m line and we were winning 2pts to 1 pt at that stage.
McDerrmott showed glimpses , he needs to learn to lose his marker before the ball comes in to him and also learn to lose him when he has possession. But that should come with experience.

Thise so called route one football into Givney didnt work in the second half. He never got a ball.
This spraying the ball across the park of the outside of the boot doesnt work either,

Management must take its fair share of the blame.Hylands words in the Irish Independent were" we had opportunities and maybe overplayed the ball at times"
Terry take the blinkers off.. we had NO opportunities because apart from the penalty i dont remember Durcan making many saves. We kicked 4 wides.. that says alot about opportunities...As for over playing the ball at times?? Well sure got that part right .. except not at times....ALL THE TIME.

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 13/06/2011 09:49:17    954469

Would love to spend the day telling everyone that we told you so...however, we need to get things right. And quickly, very quickly. The confidence and belief developed in the U21 in the past 2 year can and will be destroyed if the performance in the Longford game is the same as the Donegal game. we all agree that the U21 are the future, but unless we do the right things NOW, we will look back on another lost generation of footballers. The Under21 in the senior squad can't be expected to change the culture, the residence seniors won't change the culture (as history over the past 6 years has shown), so it is up to the management to do so. Val, Terry, Stephen, it rest with you, the next few weeks will determine the direction of Cavan football for the next 6 years, change the culture, demand honesty, instil pride, develop passion...in simple terms turn the group of good footballers into a team.

cavangaafan (Cavan) - Posts: 218 - 13/06/2011 09:55:03    954478

I have no inside knowledge of the cavan set up and don't know any of the players personally. but all I have to say about yesterday's performance from a spectator's perspective and also from a life-long Cavan fanatic's perspective is that it was the worst cavan performance in an ulster championship match that I have ever seen.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 13/06/2011 10:17:49    954521

Where was the game-plan yesterday ? Had we one ? I Looked at the highlights last night and it seemed even worse than earlier. Players short passing and running down blind alleys or ending up further back after 10 passes than where they started from.. What was Andrews shouting at players during the game ? Why was O'Down left on after his first mistake and changes only made when the game was lost ? Same in U.21 Final !!
We only got slightly better when the bigger and more experienced players came on and Martin McHugh is right, we finished with a better team.
Are we going to lose yet another generation of players to bad management ?
The people who braved the elements to attend deserve better than that !! Only 9 thousand turned up, i understand why !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/06/2011 10:23:31    954534

the I told you so merchants, sadly are all too many especially on these forums. Its easy to, as shev does, point the finger of blame point out the obvious but I believe we took a bold step we gave the younger players a chance we tried to change our tactics to beat Donegal. We came up short, very short but we have 8 new players with c'ship experience, 8 new players who know the gap we need to bridge and a management team who know what we have to do. Its important that we learn from Sunday I believe that we were shown so much we will learn from it. These players will get better and over the next two years we will see our fortunes improve and we will move up the leagues and become competative again in Ulster. Its about holding our nerve and developing a team rather than hysterical rantings about success now and sack the management. over the last 40 years we have had little success we have the basis for growth with the younger players we need to support their efforts to bring us back and I hope they close their ears to the whiners and nay sayers and get on with the business od developing success.

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 13/06/2011 10:30:53    954551

Vice99.....what a sad individual you are.....fair play to the Cavan posters on here.... only one of them rose to your pathetic rantings.....ie. Jacknoff.

Hard luck Cavan yesterday. Ye will be back. Best of luck in the qualifiers against Longford.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 13/06/2011 10:40:33    954568

Cavan team to face Donegal
the I told you so merchants, sadly are all too many especially on these forums. Its easy to, as shev does, point the finger of blame point out the obvious but I believe we took a bold step we gave the younger players a chance we tried to change our tactics to beat Donegal. We came up short, very short but we have 8 new players with c'ship experience, 8 new players who know the gap we need to bridge and a management team who know what we have to do. Its important that we learn from Sunday I believe that we were shown so much we will learn from it. These players will get better and over the next two years we will see our fortunes improve and we will move up the leagues and become competative again in Ulster. Its about holding our nerve and developing a team rather than hysterical rantings about success now and sack the management. over the last 40 years we have had little success we have the basis for growth with the younger players we need to support their efforts to bring us back and I hope they close their ears to the whiners and nay sayers and get on with the business od developing success.

Some of your post makes sense. BUT if we had faith in the management or if they convinced us that they actually know what they are doing it might be easier to accept. Eight new players, 5 in defence was madness and proved so. If we could see that then why couldn't management ? Management also too slow in changing things and not for the first time. We have been persevering with the same thing for years, thats why there is impatience. Why didn't they even try these players in a challenge game and not leave it until the c/ship ? These questions need to be asked of management as blind faith has not worked before !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/06/2011 10:53:32    954591

we've had challenge games for years and players shone and practice matches wher we saw players look like Jack o Sheas and we are languishing in div 3 with little prospect of improvement. We have had two great years at U21, two ulster final appearances and an all ireland appearance, so either we continue to do the same as we've always done or we change things and look long term. We may well have been closer to donegal yesterday but that would have been yet another gallant performance, instead we learned that we have a long way to go and the players who we need to develop found that out first hand. A harsh lesson but a lesson none the less!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 13/06/2011 11:03:14    954616

ochonlir

It's going to be a long week for you sir . If we don't beat Longford you might want to look about getting a few staff to help you stem the tide

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 13/06/2011 11:15:50    954644

When are we going to get rid of the greed of our forwards also???

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 13/06/2011 11:15:53    954645

I wouldn't be overly critical of the Mgnt yesterday. There was a definite plan of how to play against Donegal in the first half against the wind and if hadn't been for the soft goal we'd have gone in just trailing by 3 pts. That would have represented a good half's work for me provided the plan changed in the second half. And it did. Straight away in the second half we began to use the wind advantage and went the direct route. Unfortunately that wasn't successful. We didn't have ball winners on the day and Donegal coped with us too easily. Most of the subs were forwards, telling it's own tale. I don't believe any of the subs made any real difference and some of them made none. There was evidence of planning, good planning IMO. We just weren't good enough and we need to accept that and move on.

It's back to managing expectations. How can we expect to be a finished article just because we had some suceess in one U21 competition? We are hopefully at the start of a rebuilding process that will only be successful if we can continue to provide winning talent from Minor and U21 squads over the next five years. To introduce so many U21's yesterday was a brave decision and IMO the correct decision. It's a long term strategy. However, they were exposed for lack of physical strength in the tackle and they were repeatedly caught in possession, not moving the ball quickly enough. They will learn and be the better for it in time, but not this year, and maybe not even next year.

One small thing that really annoys me though is when a team is left on the pitch, in poor weather conditions, before the start of the second half and nothing is done to counter it. It usually happens as a result of a delibrete ploy from the opposition, as I suspect was the case again yesterday. Cavan, having presumably been re-motivated in the dressing rooms and fired up for the second half, were left out on the pitch in their match positions, hanging around until Donegal eventually turned up, to a chorus of loud cheers from their suppporters. The Cavan Mgnt team should have imediatley reacted and brought all the players down to an end line together in a huddle or in a series of warm up routines to keep them warm and collectively focused. By the time the game started they were cold and switched off and whatever had been said at half time had long passed it's shelf life.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 13/06/2011 11:21:15    954662

Well if you are all satisfied with that then it sums up where we are and why we will stay there !!
The fact that we finished with a stronger team than we started with speaks for itself -- the wrong team was selected, too many first timers !!
Too slow in making changes when we were clearly in trouble !! But if you are satisfied then so be it !! More of the same expected !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/06/2011 11:35:08    954696