Cavan team to face Donegal

plenty of pace in that team! donegal watch out

jinky15 (Cavan) - Posts: 271 - 08/06/2011 13:49:49    950511

Bold Brave and correct choices, come on cavan

cav01 (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 08/06/2011 14:30:10    950574

Fair play to the management for putting faith in the young lads, blooding them this year will do no harm no matter what results we get at least there will be something to build on for next year. Kick it long into Mcdermott, keating v donegal to beat the blanket defence... i think we'll do it!!!

legend 44 (Cavan) - Posts: 154 - 08/06/2011 14:31:07    950577

Watching the team going through their paces last night it would be a shame not to come and watch them this Sunday. They appear to be oozing with energy and confidence and I feel they fear no team right now. Come to Breifne and become the 16th man. Things are looking up for the future and it would be a shame not to see it as it unfolds.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 08/06/2011 14:32:16    950578

8 Debutants..

Im not sure but id say there was never a team to field so many new players. Firstly congrats to all the Debutant players & best of luck. Also I really fancy our chances Sunday.
I don t expect 15 players to all play well.Of the eight maybe a few will be replaced & so what.Your allowed 5 subs & Val seems a new age manager who understands that it takes 17-19 players to close out a game.

Imagine you started Corr Sheridan cahill nesty mackey Mc keever & the game was slipping. Bringing in an U21 or two may not cut the mustard! But to be able to call on these lads to steady the ship. Yeah i ll go with that.

Management is judged on great calls & using your experience.If you keep triping over the same rock. that would make you dumb.So i guess val & Co figure that Donegal think they re cute.mc Guinness thinks he should be in the Premiership.Players like Drones with well placed leaders such as murphy an lacey to co ordinate game plans.

But Cavan for once are taking a chance yet with safety net just incase! We won t worry about winning ball in the middle or keeping Murphy the Monster @ Bay.

I think we want to win stages of the game such as first 15 min & last 15 min.

See you Sunday!

Warm Regards!

Denn Man !

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 08/06/2011 14:37:45    950587

Lads I hate to be negative but with that team that has been named we are going to be bet out of breifne, too young, inexperienced, weak and small.

mystic meg (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 08/06/2011 14:38:46    950590

That team selection, while young and enthusiastic, is nothing short of Andrews having a ready made excuse for defeat, i feel. Andrews will say something like "Well we picked a very young team who will have gained a lot from the experience ". He is just protecting his job. What was the purpose of the League and Mc Kenna Cup where he changed nearly every week and used loads of players, were none of them good enough ?
Now don't get me wrong as i will be there and right behind the selected team but blooding 8 new players in a c/ship match is too much in my humble opinion !! I hope i am wrong but i am actually shocked by that selected team !! I think its too much, too soon !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 08/06/2011 15:16:53    950655

Sean Ui Rinn.....your job is to make sure there are no foreign sports being played out on the new 3G pitch. I saw numerous games of soccer being played by some young toe rags a few weeks ago. Sort it out Sean!

Philip2000 (UK) - Posts: 18 - 08/06/2011 15:21:25    950663

its brave alright... i think denn man has a good point with the players that will be on the bench

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 596 - 08/06/2011 15:54:56    950713

Only 7 players making their championship debuts. Dane O Dowd played championship last year did he not?

iluvkeoghan (Cavan) - Posts: 79 - 08/06/2011 15:56:02    950717

Sean Ui Rinn.....your job is to make sure there are no foreign sports being played out on the new 3G pitch. I saw numerous games of soccer being played by some young toe rags a few weeks ago. Sort it out Sean!
Philip2000 , 08/06/2011 at 15:21

Have I got a new job now no thanks I will stay with the one I have, all the players you saw on the 3G are all registered to GAA clubs in Co Cavan

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 08/06/2011 16:12:45    950735

Who are the 8 Debutants???

CavanForSam2011 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 08/06/2011 16:12:58    950737

I'm a bit nervous to be honest. Them young lads can go out and play without fear. They have nothing to lose as all the "experts" are predicting a Donegal win. One thing I know is that down through the years Donegal don't handle the favourites tag well. We'll just have to wait and see.

Where will the craic be before the game? Haven't been down to Cavan in ages so I'm not sure where to go for the obligatory pre-match scoops.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9997 - 08/06/2011 16:23:03    950751

All this, going round with me head in the sand, is sore on me Gregory, but slasher I would invite you to join me, even if it was to lessen the conspiracy stories emanating from the old pea like mate!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 08/06/2011 16:24:57    950755

Lockjaw

Head into Top of The Town, Seamus will look after you in there and its the pub that's closest to Breffni.

92dl (Cavan) - Posts: 52 - 08/06/2011 16:53:52    950792

Good stuff! Looking forward to it now. €15 into the terrace isn't that right?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9997 - 08/06/2011 17:02:04    950809

Apparently so lockjaw.Do you reckon you'll have a big crowd down for it?Wouldn't mind a bit of creeping on a few Donegal honeys!

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 08/06/2011 17:27:37    950847

Good stuff! Looking forward to it now. €15 into the terrace isn't that right?
Lockjaw , 08/06/2011 at 17:02

yes I think that is the price into the terrace

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 08/06/2011 21:30:19    951133

beer baron

950847 Apparently so lockjaw.Do you reckon you'll have a big crowd down for it?Wouldn't mind a bit of creeping on a few Donegal honeys!

I'm not sure to be honest baron. I'm working down in Dublin ya see so it's hard for me to gauge what the interest is at home. Well, there's always interest in the county team but nowadays there are other factors at play which affect attendance at the actual games. It's not on TV (deferred coverage on BBC 2?) so people might make the effort. Then there's the weather and petrol prices etc so I just don't know.

I'll be there anyway roaring my auld head off. I'll try to bring a few dolls with me if I can. I used to go out with a Cavan woman and she was a grand girl. Maybe you can return the favour! ;-)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9997 - 09/06/2011 11:46:30    951325

beer baron

CavanMan1000

beer baron you pick your team Then ? !!!

That's the team you would pick then and not in fact 'Cavan team to face Donegal'? That makes more sense, to be honest i wouldn't even bother putting a team together because i doubt Andrews is too sure of his team given the changes made throughout the year.

I'd say Moynagh would've been a cert in the full back line if he was still involved so that leaves a spot free in there! Along with this i wouldn't be overly surprised if Mc Kiernans played half forward and then used as an extra outlet for kickouts! I'd expect Mc Cutcheon will start too!Then there's the fact we don't know if Podge and Flanagan are going to be fit! Damien Reilly will also be in with a good shout of starting-one of the consistent performers throughout the year and Niall Mc Dermott could be knocking at the door too along with Niall Murray who goes through a mountain of work every game! As for Martin Cahill was he carrying an injury earlier in the year or why was he not involved in many games?

I wasn't too far wrong-i'm not one to blow my own trumpet but http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xYtvepI4rE

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 09/06/2011 12:27:54    951370