Local Radio - how is it for you?

As if it were a hint toward my own creeping senility, I find myself drawn to 96.3 on the radio dial of late, the frequency of my local radio station. There is something strangely compelling about it, as if nobody is quite sure what they're supposed to be doing but they keep on doing it anyway. I can't quite figure out if it's all accidental, or part of some elaborate joke.
They play death notices 5 times daily, that's a half hour in the schedule per day. They even blasted out the death notices to 5000 football fans in the Diamond in Clones on Ulster Final Day 2007 - did they think that somebody might go home on hearing the news?
Bingo accounts for at least another 40 minutes of air-time
They previewed last years Ulster Final on the Monday morning after the game
The breakfast show has a feature called the truckers tune (lifted straight from Today FM). This mornings offering? Walking on Sunshine by Katrina and the Waves.
Mart report keeps us all up to date - Quote 'Cows ranged from 750 to 900 euro. Some sample prices now a Simmental cow made €750 and a Charolais made €900'

A constant source of pride for the community...

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1201 - 03/06/2011 15:58:38    947053

Shannon Side Northern Sound is a quality station eddie........................if your over 80 years of age that is.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 03/06/2011 16:43:18    947103

lmfm is the bees knees especially the green scene.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 03/06/2011 16:51:42    947111

Sergeant_Slash

Shannon Side Northern Sound is a quality station eddie........................if your over 80 years of age that is.

Ye can't beat the death notices. Great feeling listening in and your name is never read out.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 03/06/2011 17:23:36    947148

Radio Foyle, Pure brock, same music everyday for an hour, then when thats done its rant time and time for the people of derry who are locked up to get their 5 minutes of fame on the radio complaining. Then the rest is discussing the news headlines.

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 03/06/2011 17:28:31    947153

OLLIE
County: Louth

"lmfm is the bees knees especially the green scene."

OLLIE,

I'd never in a million years have had you down as a rí rá agus ruaille buaille person.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 03/06/2011 18:31:44    947214

Local radio is for people who like Country and Western, line dancing and who eat 5 boiled spuds at 12.00 every day for their 'dinner'.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9817 - 03/06/2011 18:37:49    947224

Ulsterman

Local radio is for people who like Country and Western, line dancing and who eat 5 boiled spuds at 12.00 every day for their 'dinner'.

liathroidboy loves it !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 03/06/2011 19:45:37    947263

OLLIE

947111 lmfm is the bees knees especially the green scene

Ollie I am worried for you.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6178 - 03/06/2011 20:55:10    947301

thistle_harps
County: UK

Sergeant_Slash

Ye can't beat the death notices. Great feeling listening in and your name is never read out.

Dont forget the Joe Finnegan show....The man is such a Joe Duffy wannabe its ridiculous.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 03/06/2011 21:34:57    947327

Went to the ploughin a few years ago and the bus driver had the death notices turned up each of the 3 times they were on on the way down, Northern Sound. Did he think he was going to get an update. Thats one of the big things I've noticed in the stix. You need to be the first to have the news of a death.

breffni666 (Cavan) - Posts: 294 - 04/06/2011 12:57:24    947430

squidword

OLLIE

"lmfm is the bees knees especially the green scene."

OLLIE,

I'd never in a million years have had you down as a rí rá agus ruaille buaille person.

ah you cant bate it squid.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 04/06/2011 13:39:37    947467

Greengrass

OLLIE

947111 lmfm is the bees knees especially the green scene

Ollie I am worried for you.

ha ha.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 04/06/2011 13:40:59    947468

LMFM is great, especially a bit of Radio Romance

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1661 - 04/06/2011 15:38:02    947528

Was in school with a bloke who's mother played a request for him on LMFM Radio Romance which we all heard! Possibly the most embarrassing thing that can happen a 15 year old!

gael_in_exile (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 07/06/2011 14:03:37    949583

lads its hard to beat i102-104. although its not my local radio station there does be some craic on it with the ijacker.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/06/2011 14:26:45    949614

When i had my teenagers in the car with me i used to drive down the town with the Green Scene turned up full volume and the windows open. They used to hide down on the floor of the car as they would feel so embarrassed and beg me to turn it off. Many a time i threatened them with the Green Scene spin !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 07/06/2011 16:40:16    949789

Is fearr liom Raidio Failte 107 FM, i mBéal Feirste.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 08/06/2011 14:50:24    950615

FM104 and 98FM are brutal, i swear its only taxi drivers listen to them. I only ever really listen to newstalk and phantom and they're not what they used to be either.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 08/06/2011 14:59:24    950629

Try listening to a match on midlands radio 3 with Gerry Russell, excellant quality.
Its dropping, dropping,dropping ....................wide.
Its a high, accurate shot that just drops wide

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 08/06/2011 15:42:48    950693