Clare have little chance against Tipp

why would i direct my comment at you if you never said anthing bad about regan? that makes absolutely no sense , the three tip posters in question liturally attacked me as to what i had said which i will still standby , you saying outside of two games you didnt concede more than one goal , that fact backs up my point , tipp played six games last year and conceded more then two goals in a third of them , thats hardly a glowing statistic right there that you have come out with about the tipp backilne to concede three goals in one game is too much let alone 2 , like cmon im pointing this weakness out and you guys are covering it up with nonsense staistics , also i can talk about whatever match i like

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 14/06/2011 16:17:48    956260

Will probably head down for this one, although I don't expect Tipp to run away with it. Its a no-win situation; we have to be favourites, but my one big fear is that Tipp might switch off, and someone like Darach Honan might do to us what Kevin Downes did to Waterford at the weekend.
In fairness to Clare, they've lost some huge players off the panel in the last year or so, influential players that you'd need when bringing through lads from U21, and no county can really afford that. Its still early days to expect the recent U21's to produce at Senior. But the thing with young lads is, if they get on a run, and the crowd gets behind them, their confidence will kick in and all bets are off then.
I just hope the weather holds on Sunday, I don't need another match drenching.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 14/06/2011 16:52:25    956314

Stekhi:
Why did you make the following comment then
"as for tony og being a bad centre back are you serious he completely cleaned out tipps hf line last july and has kept up the form this year ,"
Please show me where on this tread someone said he was a bad center back, I was the only one who commented on regan!!

Also I take the point that their are goals conceeded but not as many as other teams and the fact that when they do conceed they score more than the opposition, goals don't just come from the full forward line you know and in my view the two corner backs were solid last year!!!

We'er not jumping down your troat it seems like you don't give tipp any credit and weight clare up against their potential which they havn't shown yet and they way their going I can't see anything much out of them this year.... they have a few dangerous players but in my view have regressed in the last few years.

I see on another thread that you say dublin have a great chance of an all-ireland this year, now they are a team that also has shown weakness at the back would you then think clare would beat dublin too??

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 14/06/2011 16:56:35    956320

"tony og regan isn't even the best center back on the galway team John Lee is"......................... are you serious about that staement after the performance tony og gave in this years league and last years championship - cmon man

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 14/06/2011 17:16:56    956340

a lot of you tipp guys dont have a clue about the current clare outfit hence your lack of ability to pinpoint their obvious strenghts which is their ff line of mcgrath , honan , ryan their midfield of oconnelll and clancy and their hb line of oconnor , buglar , donnellan with the likes of dillon , mcmahon and crmac odonovan good options from the bench , have a good feeling honan will show us what hes all about come sunday , no full back in ireland can keep up with him once hes in full flight , a real unique talent , conlan is equally as good but in a different way

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 14/06/2011 18:09:37    956413

stekhli:
Have you not seen the preformances John lee has given I never remember him playing a bad game. I think a lot of galway people would agree with me there regan is too inconsistant and many can't understand why lee dosen't start lee didn't get playing time last year and galway conceeded more is that any coincidence. Lee was galways hurler of the year in 2007 and limited his involvement in the county setup in subsequence years to concentrate on his medical studies!! The only reason why regan got into the team in the first place.
If reagan was so good how come lee kept him out of the team for so many years also regan wasn't a great full back either remember in 2006 when galway were on the verge of beating kilkenny and fast eddie slammed in the 2 fast goals who was he up against you guessed it tony og regan. He's not rated by a lot of galway people I know that becase many have told me.

"are you serious about that staement after the performance tony og gave in this years league and last years championship"

I did indeed I was at pearse stadium in galway and saw him get subbed off after being destroyed in that match!!
"no full back in ireland can keep up with him once hes in full flight "
No full back can keep up with him when he gets the right ball and that one are I think tipp have improved the likes of bonnar maher's work rate in the half forward line although he dosen't win every ball he also limited the quality of the ball half backs can deliver into the forwards. Also I was talking to a clare lad about honan a while back (in fact he was from his own club) and he pointed out the fact that honan is not good in the air which he should be given the size of him. Honan is a treat when he has ball in hand the thing is you have to give him the right ball or like many flair players in the game he'll go missing. Question is can clare give him the right ball. We have you won version of Honan on the tipp team in seamus callinan you give him the right ball he'll do damage.... their like the ronaldo's of hurling.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 15/06/2011 18:14:47    957431

stekhli:

In fact Honan himself agrees with the point about aerial ability in an interview he did

"If you could change one thing about your game what would it be?

I'd probably improve my aerial ability."

Remember he's 6 6'!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 15/06/2011 18:22:53    957435

In fact Honan himself agrees with the point about aerial ability in an interview he did

"If you could change one thing about your game what would it be?

I'd probably improve my aerial ability."

Remember he's 6 6'!!
HAG_AND_CHEESE , 15/06/2011 at 18:22

All the same what height he is when you have the likes of Paul Curran standing behind him Hag!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/06/2011 19:14:56    957503

No full back can keep up with him when he gets the right ball and that one are I think tipp have improved the likes of bonnar maher's work rate in the half forward line although he dosen't win every ball he also limited the quality of the ball half backs can deliver into the forwards. Also I was talking to a clare lad about honan a while back (in fact he was from his own club) and he pointed out the fact that honan is not good in the air which he should be given the size of him. Honan is a treat when he has ball in hand the thing is you have to give him the right ball or like many flair players in the game he'll go missing. Question is can clare give him the right ball. We have you won version of Honan on the tipp team in seamus callinan you give him the right ball he'll do damage.... their like the ronaldo's of hurling.
HAG_AND_CHEESE , 15/06/2011 at 18:14

I wouldnt compare Honan to Seamus Callinan now Hag!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/06/2011 19:20:11    957510

well hag and cheese if lees as good as you say hell be starting against the dubs so , your info about him getting in the galway team due to lee doing his final meds is also false , regan wasnt on the panel that year and lee returned for the championship and started against kilkenny , cork and waterford ..............as for honan and callanan being similar well theres a few problems with that statement 1 honan is about three times faster 2 is much more powerful , callanan cant win his own ball albeit he has great skill and is aconsistant scorer , honan is a far superior player and much younger

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 15/06/2011 19:32:09    957523

well hag and cheese if lees as good as you say hell be starting against the dubs so , your info about him getting in the galway team due to lee doing his final meds is also false , regan wasnt on the panel that year and lee returned for the championship and started against kilkenny , cork and waterford ..............as for honan and callanan being similar well theres a few problems with that statement 1 honan is about three times faster 2 is much more powerful , callanan cant win his own ball albeit he has great skill and is aconsistant scorer , honan is a far superior player and much younger
stekhli , 15/06/2011 at 19:32

doesnet matter whether its Lee or Tony Og neither wouls handle Noel McGrath.

Callinan a way better player than Honan for skill and physicality and opportunism no comparison chalk and cheese.
Honan woyldnt get his place on the Clare team whereas all the Tipp subs would walk onto the Clare and Limerick team.

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/06/2011 19:36:45    957528

Callinan a way better player than Honan for skill and physicality and opportunism no comparison chalk and cheese.
Honan woyldnt get his place on the Tipp team whereas all the Tipp subs would walk onto the Clare and Limerick team.
thurlesblues , 15/06/2011 at 19:36

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/06/2011 19:41:12    957536

honan is a far superior player and much younger
stekhli , 15/06/2011 at 19:32

how much younger is Honan than Callinan Stekhli?

Callinan is 23 Honan is 21 not much difference there I guess except that Callinan has an All Ireland minor and senior medal compared to Honan.

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/06/2011 19:44:13    957541

you are just waffling again thurles blues how can we have a proper discussion about this game if you are just gonna take the piss the whole time , honan is technically better then every forward tipp have except noel mcgrath , theres a great saying thers no substitute for pace , and honan is the fastest around in full flow

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 15/06/2011 20:03:23    957558

you are just waffling again thurles blues how can we have a proper discussion about this game if you are just gonna take the piss the whole time , honan is technically better then every forward tipp have except noel mcgrath , theres a great saying thers no substitute for pace , and honan is the fastest around in full flow
stekhli , 15/06/2011 at 20:03

no point having pace when you cant get near the ball Stekhli

now Lar hes a different proposition lightning pace and the ball in the back of the net.

keep the jokes coming we need a laugh to cheer us up!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/06/2011 20:13:27    957569

stekhli , 15/06/2011 at 20:03

tell me what Clare or Limerick man would make the tipp team stekhli?
and dont say Honan please as Im weak from laughing .

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/06/2011 20:15:57    957573

I cant wait to post you after the Tipp Clare game Stekhli ha ha ha!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/06/2011 20:17:14    957577

ye like yourself i feel tipp will win when did i say clare would i just think yourself and a few other tipp poster are really underating this team , if there was a mixture this would be it:
1 cummins
2 odonovan(wont be available on sunday)/vaughan
3 curran
4cahill
5 omahony
6 maher
7 nicky oconnell
8 mcgrath
9 maher
10 conlan
11 mcgrath
12 callanan
13 honan
14 kelly
15 corbett
i think everyone bar the tipp posters agree with this , i cant wait to post to you after the tipp game thurlesblues , are you gonna bother heading up or will you be glued to your computer so as you can get me to eat my words during the match? i think itll be a cracking game , to free scoring teams with nice forwards

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 15/06/2011 20:25:57    957588

1 cummins
2 odonovan(wont be available on sunday)/vaughan
3 curran
4cahill
5 omahony
6 maher
7 nicky oconnell
8 mcgrath
9 maher
10 conlan
11 mcgrath
12 callanan
13 honan
14 kelly
15 corbett
i think everyone bar the tipp posters agree with this , i cant wait to post to you after the tipp game thurlesblues , are you gonna bother heading up or will you be glued to your computer so as you can get me to eat my words during the match? i think itll be a cracking game , to free scoring teams with nice forwards
stekhli , 15/06/2011 at 20:25

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
No Stekhli none of those Clare players would make the Tipp subs as Paddy Stapleton is a cert for corner back
Johno Brien corner forward Bonnar Maher wing forward and Young or O keefe wing back as Brendan Maher may go there yet and leave Gearoid Ryan midfield.

then we have subs like Pa Burke Johno Neill Heffernan Shane Burke
sorry cant see any room for any of the Clare lads there .

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/06/2011 20:33:31    957596

stekhli , 15/06/2011 at 20:25

oh Il be there Stekhli for the show.
Tell me who are the Clare forwards as I only heard of one Honan never heard of the rest of them.

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/06/2011 20:35:02    957598