Funny stories of encouters with rival fans

The tinfoil encounter:
I went to the Limerick terrace for one of the Tipp v Limerick game with a few Limerick friends, got the usual hang sandwich banter and got tinfoil hopped off the back of my head a few time all in good sport. The thing is where were these lads getting the tinfoil clearly brought their own sambo's also there was one lad having a bit of banter the same way and at half time sat down opened his bag and got out his sandwiches nearly buckled myself laughing at him.

I seem to recall attending the 2002 Munster U21 drawn hurling final with HAG_AND_CHEESE. Hag not only had his own tin foil wrapped sambo's, he set up a stall outside the ground for the replay!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 25/05/2011 13:18:33    939751

Hag, I wasn't going topping up a tenner for the sake of a few sheets....and yeah probably should have made a few stupid posts, ah well :)

jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 25/05/2011 14:47:12    939878

jafallon:

oppertunity missed there, i'll have eyes in the back of me head from now on.

slayer:
Sure weren't you my best customer that day, but you brought your own Thay in a TK lemonade bottle!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/05/2011 17:58:32    940095

i was at a Dublin game once and the other team had a 30 yard free kick.not one Dublin fan booed.never laughed as much in my life.that would have to be a joke.

hogoboss (Monaghan) - Posts: 617 - 26/05/2011 14:11:35    940699

hogoboss
County: Monaghan

940699 i was at a Dublin game once and the other team had a 30 yard free kick.not one Dublin fan booed.never laughed as much in my life.that would have to be a joke.

that was a great story mate

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 26/05/2011 15:10:10    940800

In a pub in Thurles after Cork beat Clare in 99, I think. Some Clare lad was getting a ribbing at the bar and eventually started to point out to the Cork contingent that Clare had won two AI's in three years. 'Come back to me when Cork manage two AI's in three years' he announced as loudfly as he could.

"Yera shut up ya clown' says a Cork lad, 'didn't Teddy Mac win two AI's in three weeks!'

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 26/05/2011 15:37:07    940831

Stayed above in Dublin and made a weekend out of it for an all Ireland semi back in 2006. Kerry were playing Derry the same day. We stayed in either the Skyon or the Regency, anyway come down for breakie and the whole restaurant wall to wall red and white Derry Jerseys and now it's a fairly big hotel - jesus the slagging we got - a old lad walked past the restaurant door doubled back and shouted in to us in the thickest Derry Accent 'youse are in the wrong hotel lads' the whole place stopped eating and burst out laughing.. some craic.. sound supporters too in all fairness.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 26/05/2011 15:53:35    940852

"Yera shut up ya clown' says a Cork lad, 'didn't Teddy Mac win two AI's in three weeks!'

Brilliant you gotta love the cork wit!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/05/2011 16:51:09    940916

Good man hogoboss, lower the tone of the thread why don't ye.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/05/2011 16:58:56    940926

Most Cork GAA folk can tell you the story of the 1990 Munster Football Final when Cork were beating Kerry by 15 points late on. As the Kerry supporters were making their way towards the exits, one local shouted out "Lock the gates and make them watch" to howls of approval.

Well a variation on the theme occured at this year's Munster Under-21 Final. Traffic problems on the South Link road meant a lot of those travelling from the Kerry direction did not make it to the stadium until just before half-time. At that stage Cork were already leading by 2-13 to 0-03. With the late arrivals milling outside the turnstiles, one wag inside roared out "hurry up and open the gates and let them in".

Ah it is not often we can savour such moments so we tend to go a bit over-board when it happens :-)

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 26/05/2011 18:23:50    941026

Yera shut up ya clown' says a Cork lad, 'didn't Teddy Mac win two AI's in three weeks!'

Brilliant you gotta love the cork wit!
HAG_AND_CHEESE , 26/05/2011 at 16:51

shure Jimmy Doyle won 2 in one day Hag

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 26/05/2011 19:44:06    941107

The tinfoil encounter:
I went to the Limerick terrace for one of the Tipp v Limerick game with a few Limerick friends, got the usual hang sandwich banter and got tinfoil hopped off the back of my head a few time all in good sport. The thing is where were these lads getting the tinfoil clearly brought their own sambo's also there was one lad having a bit of banter the same way and at half time sat down opened his bag and got out his sandwiches nearly buckled myself laughing at him.

Heard something similar to that at a derry v tyrone match a tyrone lad got hit with back of the head and turned round and roared , Right who threw that , waiting to see to would any one own up every one just looked at a him as if to say yeah it was me hilarious...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 26/05/2011 20:49:16    941177

hogoboss
County: Monaghan

i was at a Dublin game once and the other team had a 30 yard free kick.not one Dublin fan booed.never laughed as much in my life.that would have to be a joke.

Poor effort. Not one mention of sunshine supporters or the Premiership in your post.

Are you even trying?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13803 - 27/05/2011 13:30:40    941479

Was at the Donegal v Meath qualifier in Croker in 2002, was standing on the hill when early into the match a young meath supporter came swaying down the steps. The young lad gingerly sat down and proceeded to cheer and roar support for Giles, Gearghty & co. He failed to recognise that because of a clash of colours both teams were in changed strips, Donegal in Gold shirts with black shorts & Meath in all Green. He cheered and clapped Donegal scores throughout the match & we didn't have the heart to tell him his mistake or that Meath actually lost the game.

STONE.GOSSARD (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 27/05/2011 19:22:07    941896

HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

Ye jaysus sorry bout that Htaem ye caught me off guard is all 

You'd want to be more careful of the company you keep..... don't take pints from strangers!! (especially in meath jerseys he'd have you home meeting his mammy as quick as you can say "graham geraghty is god")

But... Graham Geraghty is god...

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 27/05/2011 19:42:26    941911