Funny stories of encouters with rival fans

Instead of all the bad stuff, what about maybe a few funny stories for a change?

Mattie encounter:
I remember as a young lad at a Tipp v Galway game in Croker a bus load of us went up. All decked out in the colors. I had a straw hat with cuts outs of Nicky English and Pat Fox stuck on it. There was a middle aged mattie sitting behind me and the sight of Nicky English looking at him throught the game obiously got to him. At the start of the second half he reached down plucked Nicky off me hat and ripped him up. Granted at the time I didn't think it was funny and was nearly in tears but looking back you can have a laugh at it.

The tinfoil encounter:
I went to the Limerick terrace for one of the Tipp v Limerick game with a few Limerick friends, got the usual hang sandwich banter and got tinfoil hopped off the back of my head a few time all in good sport. The thing is where were these lads getting the tinfoil clearly brought their own sambo's also there was one lad having a bit of banter the same way and at half time sat down opened his bag and got out his sandwiches nearly buckled myself laughing at him.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/05/2011 13:56:51    938894

I was at a Donegal Fermanagh championship match in Enniskillen one day and was sat beside some auld fella also from Donegal. He was brutal for the old F word and noone - the players from both sides or the officials were being spared his wrath! At one stage a Fermanagh lady sat in front of us turned and remarked how bad the Donegal supporters' language was.

Near the end, with Donegal pulling away Brendan DV landed an insurance point. The auld fella nudges me and says loudly in his most plummy voice:
"It looks like we shall be progressing!"

Don't think the Fermanagh lady in front of us was quite so amused!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9785 - 24/05/2011 14:29:33    938936

I don't remember any of this now but I woke up after the Meath v Dublin game back in 09 with a picture on my phone of me out the back of Quinns with one arm around some hot Dub chick and the other around a trophy of some description which I've never seen before nor since. The look on her face made the whole thing though, it was just a perfect blend of amusement and bemusement, the poor girl hadn't a clue what was going on (of course neither do I!). So there you go HAG, not sure if that particular story qualifies as banter or drunk and disorderly harassment but hey, nothings come of it since so I ain't asking any questions!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/05/2011 15:29:00    939034

Was at the double header in croker in 2007 there was a mad looking clareman a few rows in front of me the sort of look about him where you'd say he was only let out for the day.... he abused anything that moved during the game man woman or child, he had a few families around him by the end of the games there was perfect circular space of about 5 seats around him with him left on his tod in the middle.

Another time a certain book maker had the bright idea of handing out inflatable hurls before the match a free for all broke in the terrace with lads hammering each other with them.... think even rte reported it as a roit in the terrace but twas only a bit of craic.

Was at a match in thurles one of the limerick lads we were with was fairly fond of the guinness was over the other side of the pub and noticed that the place was emptied bar the guinness lad.... strolled over to see what the story was only to be greeted by the worst smell i have even got.... he managed to clear half the pub.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/05/2011 15:43:37    939053

Hteam:

Twould have been better if you'd woke up with her and the trophy beside you the next morning!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/05/2011 15:45:13    939054

Htaem,

Where did her guide dog end up ?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 24/05/2011 15:50:44    939060

Joe Brolly wrote in his piece in the Gaelic Life one Friday that he once heard of a Derry fan who got so wound up at a Championship match against Tyrone that he got down on the terrace and started doing press-ups!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9785 - 24/05/2011 15:53:59    939066

Was at a Dublin league game in the 80s on the Hill and Dublin were getting a bit of a trimming from Meath.

Anyway, it was the weekend of the Fine Gael Ard Fheis and just as the opposition again won uncontested control of the ball from a kick out, a Meath man in front of us remarked that "All the blue shirts must be in the RDS."

That got a laugh, then we beat him to death ;-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 24/05/2011 15:54:26    939067

Ye jaysus sorry bout that Htaem ye caught me off guard is all 

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/05/2011 15:56:17    939070

Jackeen

939070 Ye jaysus sorry bout that Htaem ye caught me off guard is all 

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 24/05/2011 16:11:27    939091

Remember walking thru Temple bar in my Meath jersey after Dublin hammered us in 95. All the Dublin fans gathered around us singing "spot the loonies". There was a bus load of Japanese tourists busy taking photographs of us as they thought we were famous. Nothing beats the genuine banter that goes on between the Meath / Dublin fans at a championship match, especially when it's all in good fun. I know of people from many others counties travel to these games just to listen to the ribbing that goes on.

antomeath (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 24/05/2011 16:13:01    939092

Was having a few pints after another tipp limerick after comming back to a watering hole in limerick. After a few pints myself and a mate did our usual thing of swapping jerseys... was sitting at the bar in a limerick jersey when brendan cummins walked into the bar with his missus, my mate in the tipp jersey got straight up and burned the ear off him while I sat at the other end of the bar a little more sober and a bit ashamed couldn't bring myself to go over and talk to him wearing a limerick jersey.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/05/2011 16:13:57    939093

was watching a county junior final sitting in the stands, small enough crowd, one team was getting hammered! Announcement came on over the loudspeaker "There is a lost little boy here at the back of......." then up roars an aul fella behind me (imagine the roughest Cavan accent) "ah now jaysus theres another 15 of them lost out in front of us"! hilarious at the time

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 24/05/2011 16:26:39    939111

You'd want to be more careful of the company you keep..... don't take pints from strangers!! (especially in meath jerseys he'd have you home meeting his mammy as quick as you can say "graham geraghty is god")

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/05/2011 16:28:02    939115

brendtheredhand

Were you the trophy or the hot Dub chick jackeen?

She's both, I had her in both arms you see, haha.

Cavan_Slasher

Where did her guide dog end up ?

Haha don't know Slasher, the little git must have run off with me trophy!

Jackeen

Dammit, sorry about that Jackeen, I'm way too forward when I'm happy (well drunk, same thing).

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/05/2011 16:39:44    939132

HAG_AND_CHEESE

You'd want to be more careful of the company you keep..... don't take pints from strangers!! (especially in meath jerseys he'd have you home meeting his mammy as quick as you can say "graham geraghty is god")

Ah jaysus HAG if anything I was the one spiked, you see I was so happy at that stage that I most probably accidently slipped the roofie into my own bloody drink!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/05/2011 16:45:11    939139

HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

Instead of all the bad stuff, what about maybe a few funny stories for a change?

Mattie encounter:
I remember as a young lad at a Tipp v Galway game in Croker a bus load of us went up. All decked out in the colors. I had a straw hat with cuts outs of Nicky English and Pat Fox stuck on it. There was a middle aged mattie sitting behind me and the sight of Nicky English looking at him throught the game obiously got to him. At the start of the second half he reached down plucked Nicky off me hat and ripped him up. Granted at the time I didn't think it was funny and was nearly in tears but looking back you can have a laugh at it.

Ah Hag back to the Mattie stuff again. Is this a running joke round your place or just your own? Fair good anyway lads, fair good.

Anyway, I'll tell a story regarding an opposing fan (Tipperary)......but funnily enough it happened about 5 months after they played Galway. I was stuck in a UL postgrad computer room, studying my little heart out. I had to print out a few sheet for convenience, but to my dismay, learned I had no money in my print account. In the meantime, I noticed the lad next to me nearly breaking the keyboard, and hoganstand up on the screen. A little lean over, and I noticed the username Hag and Cheese on the screen

Anyway, the gentleman next to me went for his lunch I think (maybe some hag & cheese sanwiches), but still left himself signed on the computer. And me, being way too lazy walk half the college to the print room for the sake of a few sheets and 50c or so, and remembering a certain "mattie" rant earlier in the year......I availed myself of the use of his print account :)

jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 24/05/2011 17:17:41    939181

i was at an ulster semi final against armagh in clones few years ago
me and another fella went but we wer out the ngt b4 so the form wasnt great
i had a jersey 4 meself and an armagh 1 4 him(used for training)
went on the beer all the way up,got steamed and started play fighting in some pub
everyone in the pub thought we wer serious and bouncers fired us out
we went up the road in tears laughing,all of them out seein would we start again
wild funny day,pity armagh beat us tho

ger2 (Donegal) - Posts: 9 - 24/05/2011 18:56:03    939292

Ye took the words right outta my mouth Htaem....musta been when you were kissing me 

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/05/2011 21:44:22    939477

jafallon:

If that is indeed true that's legendary stuff, but you mentioned going to the print room why would you have not tried topping up on-line like most people do now and in fairness you should have taken the oppertunity to send off a few sneeky posts on my HS account.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/05/2011 08:57:09    939517