Geraghty and Fay back in for Meath.

Ziggy we have a footballer of the standard of Paddy Keenan so we are happy enough.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1664 - 20/05/2011 18:53:35    935909

Beautiful.Meath

"Well lads Dont care what age they are if those two men walked onto a pitch togged out I would also shed a tear....they would encourage the young lads so much and it would be great to see the two return to show these young lads how its really done!"

I'd say the young lads parents will be crying also when they here GG is back.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 20/05/2011 19:09:57    935923

ziggy32001

SQUIDWORD..

"If he was 40 he would walk onto the Louth team! I guess ye can only dream of players like that.. "

ZIGGY,

I've clearly said something that has upset you.

Also I wouldn't let GG anywhere near the Louth team, there are too many young lads in the current set up and their welfare has to be a priority.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 20/05/2011 19:24:57    935939

squidword
County: Louth

935939 ziggy32001

SQUIDWORD..

"If he was 40 he would walk onto the Louth team! I guess ye can only dream of players like that.. "

ZIGGY,

I've clearly said something that has upset you.

Also I wouldn't let GG anywhere near the Louth team, there are too many young lads in the current set up and their welfare has to be a priority.

Welfare a priority!!! I would have thought that after what we saw after a certain game last year that certain Louth people didn't really care for the welfare of others. If Geraghty is back then I surmise that it is for an impact role and helping the younger players which I would have no problem with, we need experienced help and a bit of fight back in the team and he would provide it.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3757 - 20/05/2011 19:38:15    935946

3 years away is a long time tho' Ja Fallon tried something similar for Galway. Be interesting to record how many other inter-county stars tried a comeback. Did Jack O'Shea retire and comeback a few yrs later ? Also Billy Byrne of Wexford ?

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1071 - 20/05/2011 19:44:45    935951

I agree with those who say it shows where Meath football is at present, yes this seems a mad decision but DON'T WRITE OFF GRAHAM yet!!!

I talked to Graham after Anthony Rainbow's testimonial last November and you could tell by his post match reaction that he missed playing gaelic football in front of a big crowd. He was a class act only a few years ago so, if he can himself fit, then I think he will be a real addition to the Meath team. Let's face it, doesn't seem to be too many young stars coming through quick enough.
Last November, I think he scored 3-5 in that game. Yes, it was only a friendly and the Kildare players were not going at full tilt, but Geraghty was by no way ushered to the goalposts and helped kick the ball over the line. Geraghty is a genius. He has a clever brain, the desire and heart Meath seem to be lacking right now and, although we might face them on June 5th with the help of God and Johnny D, I would love to see Graham land a few scores in a narrow defeat ;-)....

Only thing, Graham got a standing ovation from the Kildare crowd in Newbridge when he was replaced with around five minutes to go. He said after the game that it was probably a one time only kind of a thing from the Lilywhite fans. If he comes back, then his prediction is probably true!! haha!

But, seriously, I wish him well and hope to see him back playing the game. A genuinely nice bloke and, even though I love beating Meath and like to see us go further than them in the championship, I hope they do well this year now!

One last point, as for the mayo lad that said our game is now a game of rugby, did you not watch Kildare v Down, Kildare v Meath, Kerry v Down, Monaghan v Armagh, Cork v Limerick, Dublin v Tyrone or Meath v Dublin last year?? Seriously, they were excellent games, not always tight, but some of the score-taking in those games and sheer entertainment value was top notch! perhaps you should tune in after Mayo get dumped out of championship in the early rounds ;D

yearofthelily (Kildare) - Posts: 279 - 20/05/2011 19:53:19    935960

One of the reasons Fay left Trim (a senior club) for Dunderry (intermediate) was that he wasnt even able to perform well enough for Trim anymore, so I dont know how he could return to the county setup

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1695 - 20/05/2011 20:06:21    935972

yearofthelily

You mustn't have been at the Louth 1-22 1-16 Kildare game in Navan.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 20/05/2011 20:29:26    935985

OH MY GOD. Someone pinch me I'm dreaming. This has been my dream for the past two years since he retired and now he's back :D So happy I'll get to see him in a Meath jersey again

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 20/05/2011 20:31:24    935989

Bomber listen made a comeback in the mid 90's, how old was he?....Also does anyone know the age of Colm O'Rourke Martin O'Connell and Vinnie Murphy when they played their last games?

meathfan1 (Meath) - Posts: 231 - 20/05/2011 20:50:15    935997

my first reaction was a bit rash , in ways i think its quite exciting the buzz that geraghty would bring to a meath dublin leinster semi would be unreal , he comes across as one of the villains in gaa due to his arrogant manner on the pitch , the thing about this is how much of his game as he lost since 2008 which is three years ago now ? ive no doubt itll add a bit of hype to meaths championship prep , if this works out vbanty will go down as a genious , geraghty is just 38 and hell be thinking if ryan giggs or tony browne can do it , he can too , his presence in the setup will be a boost for the squad , a starting position in the full forward line could be on the cards but hell more than likely come on as an impact sub

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 20/05/2011 20:53:26    936002

Joe brolly was telling me that he and pat may be on their own come sunday aftenoons this summer, I wonder why?

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 20/05/2011 21:21:42    936017

stefan white is also making a come back.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 20/05/2011 21:45:29    936044

squidword
County: Louth

935985 yearofthelily

You mustn't have been at the Louth 1-22 1-16 Kildare game in Navan.

Sorry Squid..... that was a cracking game. Just forgot about it )as i try to most Kildare v Louth championship games haha). Probably THEE best game of the year. 1-22 and 1-16 is some scoreline. Just proving my point though.... load of quality games with fine kicked scores. In fact, your wing-back got the goal of the championship for me. Lovely footwork and a cracking finish into the top corner from 20 yards. Where is the rugby there?

yearofthelily (Kildare) - Posts: 279 - 20/05/2011 21:47:26    936046

Meath do have the best selection of forwards in leinster,the creativity to them can be awful,they often have to feed on scraps..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/05/2011 21:49:20    936048

http://youtu.be/xxs_ta-Pjcc class is permanant

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 20/05/2011 22:00:18    936059

ziggy32001

936048 Meath do have the best selection of forwards in leinster,the creativity to them can be awful,they often have to feed on scraps..

Ziggy, I think you mean delivery?

Anyway as a collective group of footballers, the Dublin forwards are way ahead of Meaths. There is no doubt about that.

I would put us on a par with Kildare or Louth in terms of attacking threat.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 21/05/2011 09:33:01    936073

It smacks of a Banty stunt.
Whatever about Geraghty I'd be amazed if Fay came back.
Both were top class in their day, Geraghty possibly one of the most naturally gifted players of all time.
But what have they to gain by coming back?
They've won everything, Fay looked like his best days were behind him when he last lined out for Meath so he has hardly improved.
Have either done anything exceptional at club level?

sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 21/05/2011 10:14:19    936080

This is blatantly obviously a Banty stunt, no question there what so ever but how much will it really impact us? I'd imagine all it do is create a bit of nostalgic based excitement around the county and raise ticket sales for june 5th which the Gaa will accept with open arms. Other than that though I can't really see Geraghty doing any more than coming on in the last few minutes as an impact sub. Obviously all Meath fans would now give anything to see him playing the Dubs one last time but we're a long long way from that just yet, but imagine he it did happen, it'd be bloody awesome!!! Any chance Ciaran Whelan would make a shock return aswell no? :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/05/2011 10:52:18    936093

Htaem

This is blatantly obviously a Banty stunt, no question there what so ever but how much will it really impact us? I'd imagine all it do is create a bit of nostalgic based excitement around the county and raise ticket sales for june 5th which the Gaa will accept with open arms. Other than that though I can't really see Geraghty doing any more than coming on in the last few minutes as an impact sub. Obviously all Meath fans would now give anything to see him playing the Dubs one last time but we're a long long way from that just yet, but imagine he it did happen, it'd be bloody awesome!!! Any chance Ciaran Whelan would make a shock return aswell no? :-)

I was just thinking last night about when they used to read out the teams before the Meath/Dublin matches and without fail he would always get the loudest cheer from the Meath supporters and the biggest boos from the Dubs.

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 21/05/2011 11:08:56    936099