Geraghty and Fay back in for Meath.

It appears it is true, regarding Geraghty, in any case, wasn't Billy Fitzpatrick 41 when he played in an all alreland semi for Mayo v Dublin, Mick McCarthy and Kevin Moran were pushing on while playing for Ireland in major Tournaments, Darragh O Se was no spring Chichen and could have been an Impact sub had he continued.

if Geraghty is good enough I would love to see him back I love watching the best players playing. Geraghty plays on the edge so has many admirers and detractors but he gets everyone going.

More luck to him!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 20/05/2011 15:07:30    935610

fair play if this is true but i doubt it- anyways the way football has turned in recent years into a b*****dised version of rugby league it would be most welcome to see real exponents of the game to bring a bit of life back to a failing championship

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 20/05/2011 15:09:21    935612

ye but like 2008 was the last time he played , thats three years ago so many players have come and gone since , his pace , fitness and strength must have decreased since , is he even playing club football? surely a management role would suit him better , sure he was forwards coacgh for longford last summer , i just cant see the reasoning considering meath have very good forwards such as reilly , sheridan , bray , orourke etc

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 20/05/2011 15:36:25    935649

liathroid boy wasnt last years championship one of the best in a long time ? riddle me how its failing then????????

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 20/05/2011 15:42:39    935656

Perhaps this news is a reflection of how bad things really are in Meath right now.

Happy Days.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 20/05/2011 15:52:00    935672

i think meath fans should be happy players like geraghty only come along once in a lifetime...forever the entertainer, i hope meath do well now

spy_in_the_sky (Antrim) - Posts: 273 - 20/05/2011 15:57:29    935681

Loathsome boy is not I suspect from Mayo at all but is relishing baiting real Gaa people

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 20/05/2011 16:06:51    935695

I hear Vinny Claffey is returning to the Offaly set-up.
He'll add a bit of pace up front

OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 635 - 20/05/2011 16:23:13    935719

Two super footballers in their day but cant be true. Hope it is. Maybe Shane O Rourke can persuade Colm to come back on board aswell.

kilmichaelrebel (Cork) - Posts: 10 - 20/05/2011 16:25:00    935723

sign of absolute desperation?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1737 - 20/05/2011 16:31:45    935739

Really wouldn't make sense especially when Meath have easily one of the best squad of forwards in the country

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/05/2011 16:36:32    935749

SQUIDWORD..

If he was 40 he would walk onto the Louth team! I guess ye can only dream of players like that..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/05/2011 16:37:28    935751

Why would you worry what age geraghty is, he is a class act one of the finest footballers meath ever produced.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 710 - 20/05/2011 18:00:56    935855

ziggy!

Where are ya gettin you have one of the best squads of forwards in the country?! Meath people seem to be basing an awful lot of their thoughts on the current squad soley on the dublin game last year where the dubs defence collapsed! And then forget the way they struggled for scores and creativity against Louth and Kildare! Ye havent even got the best forwards in Leinster!

Geraghty - even in his advanced age would likely walk on to the current meath team....

Daithi2009 (Louth) - Posts: 282 - 20/05/2011 18:08:14    935859

Well lads Dont care what age they are if those two men walked onto a pitch togged out I would also shed a tear.... they would encourage the young lads so much and it would be great to see the two return to show these young lads how its really done!

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 20/05/2011 18:09:26    935862

wishfulthinkin
Maybe it is a sign of desperation, sure maybe cavan could bring back some of there all ireland winners.
thats if the nursing homes will let them out for the day

atta (Meath) - Posts: 710 - 20/05/2011 18:12:28    935866

ziggy32001

935749 Really wouldn't make sense especially when Meath have easily one of the best squad of forwards in the country

Who are these forwards?

What oneswould make the Dublin or Cork teams for example? Stephen Bray probably would, and Graham Reilly might make the Dublin half-forward line at a push. The rest would do well to get on either team's panel.

Highly biased statement Ziggy.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 20/05/2011 18:17:34    935872

Have to say im shocked they are back.

If Geraghty can play for meath then surely james horan could do worse than give ciarian mcdonald a ring. would be a great sub to come on with 10mins left if needed. geraghty might do the same with meath.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11717 - 20/05/2011 18:31:08    935886

It appears to be true alright.....

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2011/0520/meath_geraghty.html

clubstar09 (Mayo) - Posts: 463 - 20/05/2011 18:34:45    935893

& we in Roscommon thought Frankie Dolan (32) was too old?? seriously what does this say for the youth coming through in Meath!

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 20/05/2011 18:41:36    935902