St Eunans / Lkenny Gaels to have Club boundries

St Eunans should be made have its club boundries like any other club. Where in Ireland would you see a situation that exists as at present in Letterkenny. St Eunans can pick from beside the Gaels field as at present. What is your views.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4039 - 04/04/2008 10:47:35    2848

the road from the Mountain Top down main street out the oldtown and up to LIsmonaghan would be a natural divine.St Eunans to be kept to the O Donnell park side of the natural divide. The Bus station to be out of bounds to both Clubs.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4039 - 04/04/2008 10:55:26    2854

"Where in Ireland would you see a situation that exists as at present in Letterkenny."

Dublin, that's where!!

Leeroybrown (None) - Posts: 32 - 04/04/2008 11:32:57    2885

GALES HAVE THE SAME TOWN TO PICK FROM AS ST. EUNANS. DONT SEE WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. IF PLAYERS WANT TO PLAY FOR EUNANS SO BE IT, IF THEY WANT TO PLAY FOR GALES SO BE IT. I JUST THINK IF YOU WERE TO PUT IN A BOUNDARY THE PRICE OF THE HOUSES IN EUNANS SIDE WOULD GO SKY HIGH.

liam (None) - Posts: 34 - 04/04/2008 14:22:36    3015

As already stated a natural divide exists, perhaps down the new road and out the Port Road,
What is the view of L,Kenny Gaels folks.
Most important the Bus Station to be out of bounds for L,Kenny Gaels and particulary St Eunans

Tom Smith

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4039 - 04/04/2008 18:32:08    3159

What a stupid argument. Why did you even propose it? At the moment any player can play for the club of his father, so therefore anybody born in Letterkenny can play for any club. While we are on the point, congratulations to the Gaels on their wonderful new playing surface, fair play to all involved there. They should use the example of neighbours Glenswilly and really push on to great things.

BlaBlaBla (Donegal) - Posts: 104 - 05/04/2008 00:08:21    3213

There is only room in town for one team and that is Eunans

on the fence (Donegal) - Posts: 731 - 05/04/2008 19:11:47    3386

Why would the gaels win a senior championship this year???

on the fence (Donegal) - Posts: 731 - 05/04/2008 19:31:39    3387

U need planning for what yous are talking about!!!!!

on the fence (Donegal) - Posts: 731 - 05/04/2008 19:37:57    3391

I understand that the county board is drawing up club boundries for 38 Donegal clubs.
Why is that no club boundry is drawn up for St Eunans and Letterkenny Gaels?

Tom Smith

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4039 - 05/04/2008 20:27:14    3399

There is only room in town for one team and that is Eunans -ha ha that is laughable. There are 20,000 people in Letterkenny, there is room for 10-15 clubs - not 2 or 1. How many soccer clubs is there?

BlaBlaBla (Donegal) - Posts: 104 - 05/04/2008 22:07:23    3415

look at what has happened to soccer in Donegal. Plenty of clubs but no players.Would you not agree that letterkeny already has three clubs Eunans,Gaels and the Glen.

on the fence (Donegal) - Posts: 731 - 06/04/2008 08:35:43    3460

Good topic tomsmith to stir a bit of blood on a Monday morning!!

St. Eunans GAA Club, have played in Letterkenny since 1927, many many years before the Gaels came on the seen in the mid 90's. There is a club boundary for Eunans and Gaels ant that is Letterkenny!

You can't go round in an arbitrational manner deciding after 81 years that a clubs boundary should be completely unrecognisably altered. I am from the Northern side of Letterkenny, on the shores of Lough Swilly, I and all my brothers played all our football for St. Eunans, from the late 80's to the mid 90's, my youngest brother is still playing with the club, how dare you suggest that I, my children or any other people on that side of Letterkenny, be forcibly made to declare for the Gaels.

St. Eunans can surely pick from beside the Gaels pitch, as can they vice versa, as we are all from Letterkenny, what authority are you to state that the town should be spilt in half, maybe we should rename both 'new' towns whilst your at it!

You clearly don't know what your talking about, as previously stated on here in Dublin, Cork, Galway and many other large towns like Dundalk, you can play for whatever club you choose. I wish the Gaels the best in the future and would love one day to see a Letterkenny derby at Senior level, but your proposal is ludicrous.

LetterkennyMan (Donegal) - Posts: 393 - 07/04/2008 11:04:40    3872

Agree with Letterkennyman, don't think boundries would work. It would be difficult for individuals whose close families have played for the club for years to suddenly change teams. Think it would take away one of the greatest aspects of playing gaelic, ie pulling on the jersey of the team that your big brother or even your father wore in the past. Also think if you had to play for a certain team in letterkenny it would result in many individuals dropping out of gaelic.... ie, younger players not being able to play in a team with their friends just because they live in a different part of town.

Bigjan (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 07/04/2008 14:16:56    4064

I can understand people whose families have played with Eunan's wanting to play for the same club but as far as I know this is currently acceptable even if you live in a different town, e.g. if I lived in Ballybofey but my father played for Eunan's there is a clause that I too can play for Eunan's. Correct me if I'm wrong but I'm nearly sure this rule is in the GAA but soon to be removed.

For the sake of the Gaels I can see why they need the boundaries established. If I was a talented underage player and had to choose a team I'd defo choose Eunan's as they are the big senior club, this being the case Gaels wills never develop as they will continuously lose their best players after spending time coaching them from U10's up.

When I played underage against Eunan's they could have fielded 4 teams with the amount of players they had but were only able to field two meaning loats of young lads never got football and as a result stopped playing altogether. The town has nearly doubled in size since then so there is definately room for two teams.

Set the boundary in stone, anyone currently registered with Eunan's and their immediate family, sons & daughters, should be allowed to continue with the club. All others living in the Gaels area should be made play with the Gaels.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 07/04/2008 16:21:07    4212

Young people have a choice here in the twn Eunans or the Gaels most go to Eunans.Why is that I WONDER????

on the fence (Donegal) - Posts: 731 - 07/04/2008 16:39:22    4245

i think a rule should b brought in that when u start with a team at u.10 level u should stick with them + not b able to chop + change whenever u feel like it.
u have a situation where a good young player with the gaels maybe not having alot of success + he see's his friends at eunans winning titles then he is'nt going 2 stay with the gaels.
i use young bradley as an example, i c that he has now transfered 2 eunans after playing with the gaels from u 10 upto 17...

anfearmor (Donegal) - Posts: 188 - 07/04/2008 16:49:12    4255

Has Bradley transferred?

BlaBlaBla (Donegal) - Posts: 104 - 07/04/2008 17:03:44    4274

Tír Conaill Abu - I can see some merit in what you are saying, however people should still have the right to choose, no matter what part of the town their from. It is all the one town after all, what do u mean by "Gaels Area", there is no such thing as "North Letterkenny" & "South Letterkenny"? It's the one town after all.

The rules do allow you to declare for the club of your father, however they are even looser than that. If you reside in an area (i.e. for work or educational purposes) you can play for that club in your adopted area, as we are all aware with some players in the recent past on the Eunans panel (for good or for bad).

I agree with one point however, if a player starts out underage with Gaels or Eunans he or she should not be allowed transfer (or be poached) to the other L'Kenny Club. Letterkenny has the population to support two clubs, but the boundaries of Letterkenny have been set long ago!!

LetterkennyMan (Donegal) - Posts: 393 - 07/04/2008 17:13:50    4287

Re: On the fence
I am starting to get a bit pi**ed off with your anti Gaels rants. You stated "Why is this i wonder?" Well tell us why. This is the typical story of the old school Eunans rant. Most sensible people within Eunans are quite happy to see the Gaels progress and develop - a healthy bit of competition even. As stated in other comments here the town is big enough for 4 - 6 teams. The Gaels do not want the town to be split. So please do not let your club down by your ignorance. Its all in the name of sport.

Mr.Man (Donegal) - Posts: 53 - 07/04/2008 18:35:07    4332