Tots isn't all that pacey a player and I would consider McInerney as a more mobile/athletic player but Tots is a far better hurler, with quicker hands and a better hurling brain. He is a far more natural inside forward that McInerney. The wet conditions might not suit him tonight but he is an excellent young player. Presume he will be taking the close range frees as well johnnyroastbeef (UK) - Posts: 215 - 19/07/2012 10:36:17 1222260 Link 0 |
Ya thats a fair point. He is a very reliable free taker too. I would hope for a big game from Conor McGrath. If we get that we are half way to a win LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 19/07/2012 10:47:15 1222265 Link 0 |
Full forward line will go well if they get any kind of decent ball but if they have to live off scraps or ballooned deliveries in on top of them then they will struggle to make an impact, with the two wing backs we have along with Galvin and the hurlers we have in the half forward line I would be confident that they will get it. Conditions will make it tough for our forwards as none of them are particularly big but there are some big strong athletic hurlers in the backs which will give us a good platform to build off. johnnyroastbeef (UK) - Posts: 215 - 19/07/2012 11:05:53 1222278 Link 0 |
I hope Davy O H has a good game. He was class for the intermediates against Waterford. I am interested to see how the full back line fair. We need a couple of good defenders to come through to senior level. I would have hopes for Flanagan. LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 19/07/2012 11:44:37 1222332 Link 0 |
Full squad: LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 19/07/2012 12:50:30 1222437 Link 0 |
God they look a seriously good team going by their first half their , they are wiping the floor with Waterford playing a lovely brand of hurling , 2 man full forward line of O'Halloran and McGrath is working a treat , with the likes of Collins , Cunningham , Galvin , Morey doing the business further out the field , Clare's best player Tony Kelly is extremely quiet by his standards and Clare are still dominating regardless , very impressed like by far and away the best team in the province at this grade , future is very bright for Clare hurlers stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 19/07/2012 20:07:09 1223002 Link 0 |
Fair play great win , reckon you'll win the final , some serious displays all through the field and I reckon by the end of the U21 championship the likes of Flanagan , O'Halloran , Duggan , Cathal O'Connell will all have played their way into Davy's plans for 2013 , great hurlers , Colm Galvin absolutely outstanding ditto Conor McGrath an achievement made even greater when you take into account last weekends devastating defeat , Cunningham and Kelly were quiet but they didn't need to be at their best , bigger days lie ahead for this increibly talented team , Podge Collins showed that you don't need to be tall and big to succeed at top level hurling he has all the skill , speed and intelligence to make it at senior level in time, WELL DONE stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 19/07/2012 20:59:37 1223049 Link 0 |
very impressive performance by clare..fair play to lads....it will be a different kettle of fish against a strong and physical tipp team.....a real shambles of a performance by waterford....supporters must be disillusioned....given they were minor winners 3 yrs ago... Dellboy30 (Dublin) - Posts: 37 - 19/07/2012 21:19:09 1223086 Link 0 |
this is the second hiding in three years Waterford have take an this level , seem to do well at minor and senior level , but something at U21 level just goes a miss , serious lack of effort or maybe its just the players in Waterford seem to find it harder to make the step up , who knows stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 19/07/2012 21:27:55 1223096 Link 0 |
Good win and a very sharp performance by Clare, although it has to be qualified by the fact that Waterford were ill prepared and poor on the night. Clare looked very well coached and their touch and striking was very good. Tipp await in the final but I think this team will take serious beating, a lot of these lads feel as though they should have All Ireland minor medals in their arse pocket and look like a group of players and management who are determinded to put that right. johnnyroastbeef (UK) - Posts: 215 - 20/07/2012 10:42:13 1223240 Link 0 |
Fair play to management ! Some tough calls on their behalf paid off! Up the Banner! LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 20/07/2012 10:48:50 1223250 Link 0 |
alot of these players that are coming through are too small for inter county hurling.game against limerick lost on line.sean collins and colm galvin are too small for midfield. yankee (Clare) - Posts: 134 - 27/07/2012 19:00:43 1230922 Link 0 |
I can see where you're coming from yankee, a lot of Clare's good underage players are a bit on the small/light side when you compare them with Limerick/Tipp/Cork underage players last few years. There is a danger that we could go down the route Galway have been on with having really good underage players who don't make the step up. Roashter (Clare) - Posts: 238 - 30/07/2012 12:16:54 1233340 Link 0 |
Will ye gives lads a chance to fill into their frames and get a couple of decent seasons S&C behind them before writing lads off as being too small or light for I/C hurling. johnnyroastbeef (UK) - Posts: 215 - 30/07/2012 19:11:22 1233979 Link 0 |
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 31/07/2012 15:30:29 1234648 Link 0 |
can't wait for this match tomorrow night , I think you will win and I think your minors will win on Sunday too , tomorrow night could be the start of a great week for Clare hurling , you lads will have a serious team going into the 2013 senior championship , what I do really like about Davy is the way age doesn't matter to him and he is not afraid to give minors a go ie Colm Galvin , Aaron Cunningham , Tony Kelly and Seadna Morey , I'd expect him to call up a few from this minor team as well and give them go such as Jamie Shanahan , Conor Cleary , Niall Deasy and Shane O'Donnell and I expect to see Flanagan , McInerney , Duggan , O'Halloran from the u21's all in the senior setup next year stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 07/08/2012 20:00:52 1241208 Link 0 |
Half time 1 point in not a bad game. tipp missed great goal chance... DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 08/08/2012 19:53:22 1241988 Link 0 |
great result for the banner fancied them before the game but thought tipp were going to pip them in the end. the senior boys stood up and were counted when needed i though especially Morey Kelly and Galvin. though Tipp depended too much on O'Dwyer in the end. Hope this is another stepping stone for the banner boys to progress further dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 08/08/2012 20:42:46 1242021 Link 0 |
Brilliant result. Made all the better by the fact that they actually played very poorly. They could have been out of sight at half time and in reality it would have been a travesty if Tipp had won it. LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 09/08/2012 08:49:39 1242095 Link 0 |
Tony Kelly is an incredible player and hes only going to get better , he has all the skills and great pace , huge and hunger and workrate as well which was shown when he chased the Tipp lad the length of the pitch and blocked him down , inspirational , Galvin and Morey are also great players , bit disappointed with O'Halloran , McGrath and Podge Collins at times but I'm sure they'll come good for the final against either Galway/Kilkenny stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 09/08/2012 14:20:30 1242342 Link 0 |