Unemployed GAA stars on The Late Late

Hokeypokey, Lar Corbett has decided to take a risk and he is going in partnership with another businessman. He took this risk so he wouldn't have to emigrate. I applaud Lar and people like him who get up and try and do something.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 12/04/2011 15:32:29    909914

"maybe someone else was more entitled to be on that panel? "

Think the main reason why he was on that panel as he highlighted employment issue in regards himself and mentioned the other 2 lads in a newspaper article earlier that week.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/04/2011 16:54:34    910035

Christy Cooney was one of the senior executives in FAS, an organisation devoted to skills and training and getting lads and lasses back to work.

Surely he should be able to come up with a strategy to help lads like Lar etc given his experience? Or is he too busy building perspex fences and learning how to courtesy for the Queen.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 12/04/2011 17:03:51    910057

I agree with the article. Inter-county players are probably in a better position then most people unemployed as they have a high profile around their county and the country.

If there was some way to employ these players in coaching roles within the GAA then go ahead. However are the inter-county players more entitled to these jobs than the club player who is also unemployed?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13811 - 12/04/2011 17:38:50    910123

MesAmis:

Not being cynical here but in general what relationship do you have to the normal joe soap on the dole outside friends and family say..... people get something out of county players as they represent their county so really the public perception would it would be better to keep these people in the country, I'll use myself as an example not many people would bat an eyelid if i emmigrated after my study but the likes of lar corbett, conor o'mahony and padraig maher would be as a bigger loss to tipperary people I'm a nobody they are a somebody !! You get the point I'm trying to make??

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/04/2011 18:04:05    910147

i wouldnt be too surprised by the beanpoles lack of GAA knowledge kielys of donnybrook isnt exactly a hotbed of GAA fans

as for the jobs issue i hope the lads find work as soon as possible it would be a shame to lose such talented players to emigration but i think someone should get a job because they are the best candidate and not solely because they play for the county

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 12/04/2011 18:20:21    910169

I get the point you are trying to make but hypothetically if you were holding interviews or responsible for filling a position would you honestly be in favour of giving that job to an inter-county player over someone who was more qualified or who had more experience just because they offer less enjoyment to others.

And where would you draw the line? Just prominent players like we had on the late late? Fringe senior players? Under 21's? A promising minor who has just finished school? Are these all to be given preference for the good of national morale?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 12/04/2011 18:25:06    910175

HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

Not being cynical here but in general what relationship do you have to the normal joe soap on the dole outside friends and family say..... people get something out of county players as they represent their county so really the public perception would it would be better to keep these people in the country, I'll use myself as an example not many people would bat an eyelid if i emmigrated after my study but the likes of lar corbett, conor o'mahony and padraig maher would be as a bigger loss to tipperary people I'm a nobody they are a somebody !! You get the point I'm trying to make??

Don't understand what you mean about relationship with joe soap on the dole...........you've lost me there!!

I understand your point that these players give a lot to the country and people get a lot of enjoyment from watching them play. However, that should not entitle them to preferential treatment.

For example, if you and Lar Corbett go for the same job. You're fair more qualified for the job but he gets it ahead of you because he stuck three goals in the All-Ireland, is that fair?

I don't want to see top inter-county players emigrating but I also don't want to see my family or friends emigrating. The bottom line is that if you give GAA stars preferential treatment then someone else, more qualified maybe, loses out.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13811 - 12/04/2011 18:38:16    910192

I see your point MesAmis, but being a well-known GAA player is in itself a major attribute when looking for work. If there's a vacancy for a primary school teacher, and a GAA star is up against some other person, all things equal the GAA star will get it. That's just the way it is.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 12/04/2011 19:12:03    910229

Why should Ryan Tubridy be any different to thr rest of the RTE journalists?

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 12/04/2011 20:33:28    910279

Is 'I suppose' a Tipperary thing or what? Couldn't help noticing that every second word that came out of these guys mouths was 'I suppose' - made it hard to focus on the content of the interview. I suppose it was just me that noticed it....!!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 12/04/2011 20:49:55    910294

Don't understand what you mean about relationship with joe soap on the dole...........you've lost me there!!
What I'm saying in terms of being a GAA fan would would be happy for a gaa player get a job over someone i did not know i.e an ordinary joe soap (which i would class myself as aswell).

"For example, if you and Lar Corbett go for the same job. You're fair more qualified for the job but he gets it ahead of you because he stuck three goals in the All-Ireland, is that fair? "

I've have no problem with that what so every if it mean him staying in the country and sticking another 3 goals next year.... that's were the heart rules the head. Are you thinking of this as a gaa fan or in other terms..... I'd happily take one for the team to keep larry corbett in the country!!

Look it this way say conal keaney or bernard brogan was in the same situation, would you be upset for someone you didn't know not getting a job even if they were more qualified if it meant the boys would continue playing for dublin, what can they do for you or your county in another country!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/04/2011 21:00:12    910311

Lifford Gael:

Sure we always talk like that I suppose!!!!! DATS RIGHAT!!

Also "well" on its own can be used as a greeting a question and many other things in tipperary speak..... I suppose!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/04/2011 21:03:01    910316

'Wellyaknowwhatimeanlike' is a popular verbal fart aswell.

JuanPeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 177 - 12/04/2011 21:08:35    910321

Cheers Hag and Cheese...lol.....Thanks for the info.....it's always interesting to hear the dialect from different parts of the country......I suppose there's plenty in the Donegal dialect too that would be alien to outsiders...:)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 12/04/2011 21:10:20    910324

Lifford Gael:

Sure ye all talk like Daniel O'Donnell up there!! The last time I was up there I just did a lot of smiling an nodding cuase I hadn't a clue what people were saying to me ;)

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/04/2011 21:23:31    910344

Sign of the times when you see these hurlers highlighting the unemployment crisis. Everyone has been affected by it. Lar spoke very well. It's all about the positive attitude as he said. Like hokey pokey I think it was said, all these unemployed gaa stars should be employed as coaches. Get them into the school and promote the game. The GAA are so slow to re act compared to the rugby and soccer. I read somewhere recently that the 2 latter sports are becoming more popular in cities. Here's a great opportunity staring the GAA in the face and they won't act on it for months to come.

TribesFanatic (Galway) - Posts: 16 - 12/04/2011 21:25:00    910347

all these unemployed gaa stars should be employed as coaches.

All of them? How many do you think that number would come to?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 12/04/2011 21:37:45    910365

Lifford Gael

910294 Is 'I suppose' a Tipperary thing or what? Couldn't help noticing that every second word that came out of these guys mouths was 'I suppose' - made it hard to focus on the content of the interview. I suppose it was just me that noticed it....!!

You're definately on to something there. To remove emotion and empathy from the situation; they spoke terribly. It was probably due to nerves and being in front a live television audience, but they spoke like U-14's and the message was totally lost. This wasn't helped of course by Ryan Tubridys aimless interviewing skills. I think high profile GAA players should be given some guidance/tuition on how to speak and deal with the media. Take John " ya know " Mullanes interview for example - how many times has this been parodied? Its not really fair on amateur sportsmen, they should be at least thought how to trot out a few rescue cliches to cover themselves in a tight situation. If the GAA wants to be taken seriously it should provide assistance to the ambassadors of the game and not have our GAA heroes looking and sounding like trapped wildlife in front of TV cameras

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1XuVigxAKvo&feature=related

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 12/04/2011 21:52:07    910384

I think it depends on the job in question as well. If it's anything to do with sales then the benefits of employing a county man are obvious.
But in other jobs, especially in these hard times I think the days of "sorting the lads out" are at an end. It was all very well back in the good times employing bank officials who couldn't really count just because they represented their counties. It's sad but it's just the way it is at the moment.

I understand the point of view that county players can offer a great morale boost to their counties by their performances on the pitch. But in the big scheme of things how many players actually do this? Sure your Lar Corbetts, Colm Coopers etc do but is the same also true for counties like Leitrim, Carlow, etc? No offence to the counties I mentioned, just making a point.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9788 - 13/04/2011 10:05:32    910454