Unemployed GAA stars on The Late Late

I watched Lar Corbett and the other players and managers on The Late Late. Couldn't get over how the hurler of the year was unable to find work, and I felt really bad for him.

Today though, I read a piece on Eircom Sports Hub by a journalist who's just become unemployed (he worked for the Tribune). Here's the link:

http://eircomsports.eircom.net/News/news/gaa/Ewan-MacKenna-blog-The-Late-Grate-Show.aspx

It certainly made me think twice about my earlier feelings. What does everyone else think? I'd also be interested in people's opinions on this journo's criticism of Ryan Tubridy on GAA matters. I didn't really notice, but then again I rarely listen to what that guy has to say. Did anyone feel that he appeared ill informed about the GAA?

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 11/04/2011 21:55:00    909395

The article definitely raises very valid points, however, lads like Corbett, Maher etc are massively employable in fields such as sales purely because there very well known. Many young teachers are also judged on there GAA back round on conditions they will contribute there knowledge and coaching skills to the children. The local school in my area employ Cha fitz and Brian Kavanagh. Both lads take a team in the school and thats a massive boost for the kids. Unfair? Probably, but it makes sense for employers. These athletes have worked incredibly hard to get where they are in GAA, it doesn't just all come naturally. Obviously you can't go employing some twit just because he plays inter county, but if two candidates are on par, its understandable the County man comes out on top. Fair enough, its an amateur sport, but it involves serious commitment, leadership and teamwork, all of which are perfect characteristics for many jobs.

NowYourHurlin (Dublin) - Posts: 65 - 12/04/2011 09:13:11    909420

Definitely Seamus89, Tubridy was totally clueless and patronising. He kept saying these players play infront of 80,000 peopleand were is all the money and that the GAA can afford to pay players the same as rugby players! The reality that we all know is that they rarely play in front of 80,000 people (once a year if they are exceptionally lucky). Yet again the Late Late shows a complete ignorance of the GAA. The boys tried to defend the GAA on several occasions but Tubridy was having none of it. He was on 2FM yesterday morning giving out about it again. Lar has opened a bar in Thurles and I hope the other boys get sorted for work soon, they are a credit to the GAA.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 12/04/2011 09:20:25    909425

Yeah, I think Tubridy showed a real lack of knowledge regarding the GAA. The only point he could contibute to the conversation was to suggest a move to professionalism as a solution and since the players and managers present weren't in the modd to get into that sort of debate on primetime TV he felt entitled to repeat it over and over again. The low point was definitely when he couldn't even identify which Cork player he was talking to.

MacKenna makes some very good points in that piece that, if any of us went into an interview tomorrow and found ourselves sitting beside a very well known GAA player who was also waiting to go in, would probably agree with. Unemployment and emigration are huge difficulties but more so for clubs and communities which were struggling for players even in the good times. By restricting the debate to just the elite of all our amateur athletes that point was missed altogether.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 12/04/2011 09:45:23    909447

As a person that was made redundent and weant back to further education I would have no problem with one of these lads getting a job before me. They add more to society and give thousands something to enjoy and look forward to and put a hell of a lot of their own time into it many without little reward, we need to keep lads like this in the country a lot of people forget the work they do outside gaa such as coaching kids and personal appearances much of the time which they don't get paid for. I know some of the lads and if their not training their someplace else doing presentations etc so in my view they should be looked after and many businesses can benefit with being involved with such high profile people.

I feel that this particular journalist is trying to be controversial to a degree to get noticed and I think it's a bit of a cheap shot against our GAA stars, Gaa is something that will help peoples moral during these bad times and I look forward to county games and therefore appreciate what these lads have done for their county and do not begrudge them gaining anything due to the involvement they have with the county hurling team.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/04/2011 10:07:25    909460

As a person that was made redundent and weant back to further education I would have no problem with one of these lads getting a job before me. They add more to society and give thousands something to enjoy and look forward to and put a hell of a lot of their own time into it many without little reward, we need to keep lads like this in the country a lot of people forget the work they do outside gaa such as coaching kids and personal appearances much of the time which they don't get paid for. I know some of the lads and if their not training their someplace else doing presentations etc so in my view they should be looked after and many businesses can benefit with being involved with such high profile people.

I feel that this particular journalist is trying to be controversial to a degree to get noticed and I think it's a bit of a cheap shot against our GAA stars, Gaa is something that will help peoples moral during these bad times and I look forward to county games and therefore appreciate what these lads have done for their county and do not begrudge them gaining anything due to the involvement they have with the county hurling team.
HAG_AND_CHEESE , 12/04/2011 at 10:07

well said Hag I totally agree with you

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 12/04/2011 10:19:31    909466

Ahhhh Jayusss he's back there goes any hurling discussions we had going!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/04/2011 10:24:42    909474

Here Here!

NowYourHurlin (Dublin) - Posts: 65 - 12/04/2011 10:26:10    909477

Well said HAG_AND_CHEESE

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 12/04/2011 12:07:29    909627

Is thurlas and liathroid boy the same poster certainly have similar views

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 12/04/2011 12:15:58    909642

HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

909460 As a person that was made redundent and weant back to further education I would have no problem with one of these lads getting a job before me. They add more to society and give thousands something to enjoy and look forward to and put a hell of a lot of their own time into it many without little reward, we need to keep lads like this in the country a lot of people forget the work they do outside gaa such as coaching kids and personal appearances much of the time which they don't get paid for. I know some of the lads and if their not training their someplace else doing presentations etc so in my view they should be looked after and many businesses can benefit with being involved with such high profile people.

Very well said Hag. I agree totally.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 12/04/2011 12:19:08    909646

If the GAA are that concerned about unemployment perhaps they might consider having training camps in Ireland instead of abroad.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 12/04/2011 12:48:15    909685

Good point dhorse. Then again, recent trends in the intercounty coaching scene have boosted employment in the sports psychology industry significantly.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 12/04/2011 14:13:54    909805

Hag...

Fair play man.

Big time respect to you...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 12/04/2011 14:18:03    909809

If Lar Corbett is so misfortunate how did he manage to open a pub? If a player is unemployed why aren't the GAA employing them as GAA coaches until they find work?

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 12/04/2011 14:40:22    909843

Hokey Pokey...

What makes you think the GAA are able to just start an employing craze of coaches due to unemployment in this country.

Lar Corbett isn't unfortunate, he's after taking initiative and opening a pub. Fortunate that he is well respected in Thurlas to have that choice. Not so easy for others..

NowYourHurlin (Dublin) - Posts: 65 - 12/04/2011 14:48:44    909858

HokeyPokey:

He didn't open a pub someone else owns it and he approached lar to run it with him, lar family used to own a pub in thurles before so he'd have some expireace working in the pub trade also being a high profile player having him involved wouldn't be bad for business either.

Have to say was well impressed with the way he spoke on the late late in his younger days he would have been very quite but seems to have come out of himself in regards his public appearances and also has become one of the leaders on and off the field for tipp

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/04/2011 14:54:03    909867

HokeyPokey:
"If a player is unemployed why aren't the GAA employing them as GAA coaches until they find work? "
They do Conor O'mahony did a lot of coaching work with summer camps etc. last year unfortunately this can not be a full time job and camps are only run in the summer. There are some players employed full time in positions such as developement officers wasn't that what Tadgh Kennelly worked as when he retured for the year?

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/04/2011 14:58:05    909877

booboo

909642 Is thurlas and liathroid boy the same poster certainly have similar views

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 12/04/2011 15:23:04    909906

Can't get much better publicity for your new pub than a Late Late Show appearance, maybe someone else was more entitled to be on that panel?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12378 - 12/04/2011 15:24:24    909908