Stephen Cluxton takes out McAteer

arrest him its just common assault isnt it?

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 04/04/2011 13:58:46    902863

good man joxer, a run in the league and the dubs are mouthing about other teams not having talent. But that image is down to the media, right?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/04/2011 14:05:30    902884

mayo were in the league final last year- it means nothing unless ur a dub- for the last 12 years the league is meaningless to the dubs suddenly it has become important as they happen to be in the final- ya gotta love the dubs they are some laugh watch them run to the papers proclaiming stardom and then in july they will ridicule the same papers for building them up and the lauging circle that is dublin will start again next january 'there is a good feeling in the camp lads... it could be our year, we are traing at half 4 in the morning' its one big comedy show

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 04/04/2011 14:57:42    902972

Bitter

NowYourHurlin (Dublin) - Posts: 65 - 04/04/2011 15:11:30    903002

Double standards lads, when Geraghty threw a few digs against the Dubs in 07 he was to be hung, drawn and quartered but of course when Cluxton does it he's a legend, come now lads, you's are better than that.

Just for the record though I was happy to see McAteer getting a slap.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/04/2011 15:25:49    903013

Objective number 1 2011 = Reach League Final - Completed - Win lose or draw - We have achieved a significant goal in this teams development

On the way defeating Armagh/Monaghan away - Something almost unheard of from recent Dublin teams

On the Big pitch - Cork/Kerry/Mayo/Down - Enough said. Simple as that… you couldn't ask for anymore

With a load of young lads being played out of position.... a makeshift defence/ a makeshift midfield / playing a new system on the big pitch - while missing a dozen first team players

Yes we have nothing to be happy about…. Down with this sort of thing - Who do we think we are doing well for ourselves all of a sudden…!

Yes - Meaningless preparation for the championship

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/04/2011 15:44:44    903044

Youre sad people the lot of ye, any given opportunity and youre on here knockn the Dubs. Answer ye better to have a close look at some of your own players. Im sure they are all Saints, yea right.......least of all those of ye from Meath. Your supporters cant even behave sittn in the Stands in Croke Park....let alone your players....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 04/04/2011 15:45:07    903045

12 week suspicion for Cluxton and they should offer the other charity team a replay.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 04/04/2011 15:47:21    903051

nacca , check out the picture and you'll be it was very much face to face..

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 04/04/2011 15:52:31    903065

You shouldnt be throwing digs in a charity match... but hey it was FC Darndale! :)

I'd be interested to hear what was said...

Anyways hopefully it raises awarness for the Charity involved - I mean would you have even known about this match otherwise?

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/04/2011 15:55:52    903070

Laytown Legend

What do you mean never seen that side to Cluxton before? You must have a very short memory.

Was he not red carded a few years ago for booting some one up the backside, effetively costing Dublin a place in the All Ireland final? I forget the game, was it Mayo or Armagh maybe?

You've slightly exagerated the incident against Armagh in 2003. A stupid trip on an Armagh player that resulted in a deserved red card.

In anyways fair play to Cluxton and McAteer. Not many people were aware of the charity match the weekend but now the entire country is talking about it.

Well done to the lads.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13812 - 04/04/2011 16:08:05    903094

Obviously staged. If not - Cluxton comes out as a bit of a plonker to be honest.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 04/04/2011 16:08:55    903100

Laytown Legend

902722 What do you mean never seen that side to Cluxton before? You must have a very short memory.

Was he not red carded a few years ago for booting some one up the backside, effetively costing Dublin a place in the All Ireland final? I forget the game, was it Mayo or Armagh maybe?

He is undiscplined and obviously hasn't changed.

ARE U SERIOUS HE IS VERY RARLEY IN TROUBLE IN GAA I CANT REMEMBER THE LAST TIME HE WAS BOOKED FOR DOIN SOMETHING WRONG AND TIME WASTING DONT COUNT HE IS AN AMBASSADOR TO THE SPORT OF GAA FOOTBALL

delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 04/04/2011 16:13:42    903104

maybe the charity could ask the 2 boys to take part in a proper charity boxing match to raise funds for autism? Could take place in the national stadium and have a few other cross code bouts as an undercard??

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 04/04/2011 16:24:48    903125

Mesamis - dont be dressing up "that" incident calling it a little trip. He drew a full force boot on the man and was rightly sent off. I wouldn't mind - all the opposing player did was tug at his jersey. I certainly am not exaggerating the instant, nor did the ref who sent him off. If you care to remember back, all the pundits on tv that day were singling him out too as having cost Dublin the game.

Anyhow talk I see that it was planned so all this talk might be immaterial.

Granted he rarely is in trouble - but my point is if it did happen, well then it's not the first time and that's a fact.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 04/04/2011 16:30:20    903138

Laytown Legend

It may be a fact but it's still an incredibly weak comparison... Lads get sent off in GAA all the time.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/04/2011 16:36:02    903151

Laytown Legend

If it was planned do you see anyone apologising for their comments?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/04/2011 16:38:27    903158

Laytown Legend

He deserved to be sent off and he certainly was stupid. He defo cost Dublin in that game.

You have exaggerated the extent of his kick though.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13812 - 04/04/2011 16:38:37    903159

To all you Dublin posters. Will you please go back and read the 1st post in this thread?

Dub1 says that he's never seen this side to Cluxton before. I have just reminded him that it has happened before. Thats my point. End of story. If you want to start a thread saying about how great Cluxton is well belt away. I'm sure you'll all have the page filled in no time.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 04/04/2011 16:48:25    903184

http://www.joe.ie/gaa/gaa-news/dublin-keeper-cluxton-flattens-jason-mcateer-in-charity-soccer-match-0011091-1

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 04/04/2011 16:59:56    903203