Paul Galvin V's DRA

Have to say that listening to Liveline (in strait jacket and couldn't get to turn off radio) which is majoring on the injustice to Paul Galvin re the length of the process (a course PG has taken), the fact that he 'did nothing', etc etc has left me squirming. It was downright embarrassing to listen to and I cannot see how it helps his case in any way. The sympathy I had has been seriously diminished I have to say. Shocking stuff.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 23/07/2008 14:32:26    54868

Well Jayocluxton your lack of empathy for a Kerry man shocks me to the very Core ! NOT !!!!!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 23/07/2008 14:37:29    54876

Well Jayocluxton your lack of empathy for a Kerry man shocks me to the very Core ! NOT !!!!!
Ciarrai Abu , 23/07/2008 at 14:37

I've consistently said 3 months was plenty. But to drag the guys mother, best mate on the national airwaves and hear complaints over the length of the process, the hardship on the guy, the fact he did nothing wrong etc etc is hard to listen to. The guy was made out to be whiter than white - hardly the case. Think it was embarrassing for everyone. Like I said can't see how it helps.

I read all your posts however and have a lot of empathy and sympathy for you personally - a Kerryman :-).

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 23/07/2008 15:06:11    54932

Well Jayoclucxton i can understand your feeling of sympathy, i mean after the success we have had over a very long period of time, and most recently in croker last year against the 'Infallable' Dubs, then i do suppose you must by have experienced nearly every emotion on more than one occasion!

Jayocluxton i think if certain players can be cleared for what can only be described as common assualt then i think Mr Galvin should be cleared, but then again the DRA (Dublin's Resolution Commitee) may feel he may pose a threat to ye later in the summer and uphold, it wouldn't suprise me !

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 23/07/2008 15:21:01    54950

Thanks for that Ciarrai Abu - your modesty and humility belie your county and fellow county posters.

I note you are an overseas poster - though clearly not part of the 'brain drain'.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 23/07/2008 15:27:37    54959

I suppose if its easier for you to just deny the facts in front of you Jayocluxton, thats fine! But we all the know the truth! Oh Well :)

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 23/07/2008 15:31:39    54965

Ciarrai Abu,

The Dubs success lately (other any other counties for that matter) has got rock all to do with Galvin's ban.

His ban was given out by a Disciplinary committee, but may be overturned by a Disputes Resolution Authority. The DRA cannot claim to be better placed to judge on discipline than the CHC - that is not their remit. They should just decide that the correct procedures have been applied, and it seems they have.

Galvins 6 month ban should stand

essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 23/07/2008 15:34:13    54969

Jayocluxton - "Thanks for that Ciarrai Abu - your modesty and humility belie your county and fellow county posters."

Well Jayo I'd be a fellow county poster, but I don't see where Ciarraí Abú's modesty comes into it. Kerry beat Dublin. He stated a fact. He didn't lie. Humble in victory, humble in defeat [very rare ;)]. That's us Kerry folk!

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 23/07/2008 15:41:18    54980

There's something very un-kerry like about Ciarrai Abu. I can't quite put my finger on it

Isn't it remarkable how certain posters from different county's have a similar style and an incredibly similar opinion on certain matters

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 23/07/2008 15:45:19    54985

Thanks - 3inarow08 - the key to your humility lies in your name I guess.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 23/07/2008 15:47:02    54993

Essexile - That is the whole point, procedure has not been followed therefore Galvin's appeal to the DRA is more than justified. Nobody is denying he did wrong, but he has also been wronged by the GAA who have made a media scapegoat out of him.

Also a bit of honest Kerry - Dublin banter has never done any one any harm. I'm sure even Jayocluxton would agree with me on that !

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 23/07/2008 15:51:25    55008

I do Ciarrai Abu banter never hurt no-one! But one of the 'radio' moans was the length of the process. Everyone knows it takes yonks and there are four separate avenues so if you go that route (and fair play if you do) you know its gonna be drawn out. No point in whinging about it.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 23/07/2008 16:01:22    55028

Ciarrai Abu,

Where has procedure not been followed??

Everyone has an opinion about the length of the ban, but he fact of the matter is it was set at 6 months, as per procedure, by CHC. This was well within the rules, as the rule book states a minimum sentence only, with no upper limit.

Not agreeing with the decision by the CHC to hand a 6 month sentence doesnt come into it. I personally think 3 months would have sufficed, but the CHC made the call, as per the correct procedure. The DRA shouldnt overturn this ban because they think its harsh, thats not for them to decide.....

essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 23/07/2008 16:02:17    55029

Ciarrai Abu - agree completely, a bit of banter is a great way to pass the day! Sure I love it when we get to play the Jacks, here's to another one this Summer!

With Paul Galvin in the team of course! ;)

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 23/07/2008 16:11:58    55044

Wow. Ban increased to 12 months!!
I was sure he was going to get off but instead it's doubled!!!

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 23/07/2008 16:22:36    55063

Essexile - You are clearly misinformed as Galvin's appeal is upon the basis, that the ban he recieved was not in line with current procedure as it was leaked via the media before the ban was actually formally issued to Paul Galvin by the CHC. Therefore this did not enable Paul 'fairly' appeal the suspension in the first place, therefore procedure was not followed so according to DRA guidlines the ban should be quashed !

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 23/07/2008 16:24:39    55066

So it will be a technicality that ultimately gets him off (or 12 months - thanks for the inside scoop RMD!!)

essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 23/07/2008 16:38:33    55088

Well essexile, i hate to say it but i told you so!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 24/07/2008 09:25:02    55444

Thats a lie, you are delighted to say it ;)

Correct me if I'm wrong though, The DRA have ruled that he will be re-heard by the CHC, and they will decide what punishment is necessary. The fact that he abused the referee and must serve a punishment is not being contested.

I think he will probably still get 3 months

essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 24/07/2008 10:14:09    55492

the GAA had to make an example of a high profile player for the protecion of referees around the country. there are time when you would feel like hitting a ref or telling him what you think of him and sometime the refs arn't always right but they are only human, and think about it, if we all got away with that then the GAA would eventully implode.

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 24/07/2008 10:18:41    55498