Paul Galvin V's DRA

I think it would be a disgrace if Paul Galvin gets off tonight. And this coming from a Kerry man. He should take his punishment like a man and not be wasting the Kerry GAA's money looking to get off on a techniality. I mean people are trying to portray his supposed "trial by media" as influencing the disciplinary panel when they handed down the 6 months suspension, when in fact he courted the media in the first place when he thought he was important enough to warrant a slot on 6 One news the following day to make his grovelling apology. He has gotten away for long enough, both at club and inter-county level. It's time Mr. Galvin grew up and took responsibility for his actions. But he seems hell bent on turning Kerrys season into a "free Paul Galvin" affair rather than the Kingdoms pursuit of an unprecedented 3 in a row in the modern era. So I hope for the sake of justice that the DRA uphold his 6 month ban, and let us all be finished with this sordid affair.

pole_axed (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 21/07/2008 21:04:37    53341

I'd be inclined to agree with a lot of the sentiments expressed. Galvin deserves his time in 'chokey'. I originally thought 6 months was a bit harsh and 3 months would have been more appropriate but I'd prefer 6 months to 0 months. Funnily enough most Kerry folk I discussed it with felt that 6 months was very fair and three months was not enough - mind you that was before the Munster final...

CorkieInKerry (Cork) - Posts: 93 - 22/07/2008 12:39:59    53757

A friend of mine, who is a really good friend of Paul Galvin (don't know why???) has informed me that Mr.Galvin told him that his ban has been lifted. No specifics given but you can take it as read that he has been given a reprieve. What a joke. I know of at least two referees who have said they will be throwing in the towel if this situation arose. It's the GAAs own loss. Pretty soon they will have nobody left to officiate at GAA matches. What a joke of an organisation.

pole_axed (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 22/07/2008 13:59:58    53855

Fair play top Gally if the ban is lifted. If he got proper protection from the ref or linesman he wouldn't need to react. some 'hero' from Clare tried to make a name for himself and Gally stupidly reacted. The GAA then tried to put the boot in with a stupid ban. he deserved 3 months and I doubt if there would have been any objection if he got 3. The GAA are the ones looking stupid in all this, and if Westmeath don't win the All Ireland, I hope Gally lifts Sam!

Dessie15 (Westmeath) - Posts: 217 - 22/07/2008 14:30:22    53895

6 months is way too harsh, what colin moran did was a lot worse and he got back so then galvin should aswel. why hasn't anyone been questioning the referees decision to send him off? he shouldn't have been sent off in the first place never mind get a 6 month ban. i think the main problem is the referees and officials if they were doing their job right this would never have happened. i really really hope he gets off and its an absolute disgrace if he doesn't after colin moran did. id love to see him liftin sam in september!

kefan (Kildare) - Posts: 498 - 22/07/2008 14:40:40    53911

What the referee sent him off for is immaterial. The 6 month ban is for the way he reacted AFTER he got sent off.

The rulebook states that a minimum ban of 3months, the powers that be decided that he should serve 6.

The DRA were set up to be a non-interfering group to ensure that proper procedures are followed, not to decide whether the CCC are correct in their judgement, but it seems they are overstepping these boundaries.

essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 22/07/2008 15:02:12    53949

Essexile - Your statement that the DRA is overstepping the mark is completely a contradiction of what there soul purpose is. They are there to adjudicate in cases where a player feels the neccesary sanctions have not been followed in there punishment, and in Galvin's case the main bone of contention is that he was handed a 6 month ban when a 3 month ban is what the so called "rule book" claims should be handed down to a player in this instance. Therefore if they follow procedure the ban will be lifted, and according to talk within the county it is widely felt that the ban has been lifted and Galvin will be free to play with immediate effect! Also regarding the sending off, as someone earlier said this whole situation arose from a poor referring decision and the inability of the linesman to do his job in an appropriate manner. However i do agree that Galvins reaction was not acceptable, but the standard of refereeing in our game at the moment is attrocious. The matter has to be addressed immediaely as some of the games this year have been destroyed by such decisions!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 22/07/2008 15:28:23    54004

6 months is a fair punishment for what Galvin did. The sending off may have been harsh but in knocking the book out of the Ref's hand, remonstrating aggressively with the linesman and arguing with Kerry's vice-captain T. O Se, he definitely earned himself a suspension of that length.

Many, many players have been harshly sent off in much more meaningful, high-profile games than this and have taken the referee's decision with dignity ie. Gerry Mc Entee ('88 final...admittedly deserved), Coyle and Mc Hale ('96 final), Diarmuid Marsden ('03 final) and Canavan (Versus Armagh '05). Galvin acted like an idiot and a disgraceful example to young viewers and deserved more than 3 months.

The usual class which everyone associates with Kerry football folk has been compromised in this very sorry affair.

Goalkick (Monaghan) - Posts: 46 - 22/07/2008 15:54:08    54056

Ciarrai Abu,

The rule book states a 'minimum' ban of three months. There is no upper limit stated (as far as I know). The DRA are there only to ensure the correct procedures have been followed, not to agree or disagree with the decisions made, which i think they are doing here and in the Collie Moran case recently.

Forgetting for a minute that Galvin was firstly sinned against, and then harshly treated, the fact is correct procedure was applied, and the DRA should have no reason to overturn the decision (unless something has not been submitted as gaeilge, or theyve spelt his name wrong).

Poor refereeing decisions are as much a part of our games as missed frees and overcarrying. None should happen, but people are fallible!

It is a widely accepted problem in our games that it is becoming increasingly hard to get people to take up refereeing. If this decision is overturned, it wont help the matter one iota.

essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 22/07/2008 16:03:29    54073

Honestly don't know how people find his punishment harsh could have and probably should have been worse to send out a message that players cannot act like this.

As for people going on about why no-one mentions the second yellow card - we could comment on this if he had not reacted the way he did, he probably shouldn't have got the second yellow but had he not reacted like an idiot he probably would have got the sending off overturned.

I think the referees should get a little more support in this country - they do a difficult job and all they ever get is slated for there decisions, if the people on this message board that are complaining about the referees think they can do better lets see ya!!!

Tir_Na_nOg (Antrim) - Posts: 210 - 22/07/2008 16:20:55    54093

I'm a Kerry GAA club player and I am really taken aback by the hypocrisy of the Kerry County Board when dealing with "regular club" players and their "inter-county superstars". Inter-county players have been getting away with murder in Kerry for years. In fact, Mr.Galvin himself had a 24 week ban imposed upon him for breaking a 17 year olds jaw, but subsequently had it lifted so that he would be available to play for Kerry in the championship. And now Mr.Galvin has been given a reprieve again. I'm sorry, but it's just a complete joke and will have major major implications for the GAA. Just wait and see. It's open season on referees now I fear.

pole_axed (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 22/07/2008 16:42:01    54127

Good to have two threads on this topic.

Each thread approaches the subject from a different angle: One is 'paul galvin V DRA', the other looks more at the 'paul galvin V's DRA' side of the argument

Nice work boys

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 22/07/2008 16:43:58    54129

I think the big question is, now that Paul Galvin has gotten off Scot free, is "Where does the GAA go from here?" I mean their disciplinary system is a shambles, referees are offered little or no protection by the authorities, which I can foresee will lead to a chronic shortage of referees, and while they are adamant that they want the organisation to maintain it's amateur status and payment to players is out of the question, they have shelled out 10's of thousands of euros to fat cat lawyers over the last week. The hypocrisy is never ending. This case is going to have very very serious implications for the GAA. And all for what? So that Paul Galvin can get off scot free. I'm willing to wager that he doesn't last 10 minutes in his next championship outing such is the amount of intimidation he is going to receive from opossition players and supporters. Watch this space.

pole_axed (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 22/07/2008 16:44:11    54131

I really think we are witnessing the advent of a two tiered GAA organisation, where you have the poorer clubs and counties having to accept the judgements laid down by the GAAs disciplinary authorities, while the more well off clubs and counties will have the financial clout to bring their cases to the DRA and ultimately have them overturned. I really feel like turning my back on GAA and playing soccer full time, and you know what, I probably will.

pole_axed (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 22/07/2008 16:45:28    54134

Everyone, Get ready for the big PARDON. It always cracks me up how watery the G.A.A. are. Odds on to backtrack again.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 22/07/2008 20:14:41    54281

If Galvin gets off or gets his suspension reduced, what referee in his right mind is going to send him off in future, regardless of the provocation he endures (which will happen), or anything he dishes out (which similarly is more than likely to happen). The man struck the referee (no more crap about only hitting his notebook - it doesn't matter), then went on to abuse the linesman. If the authorities aren't willing to back up their officials there is no future for the game, if the ref, linesmen, or umpires make a decision you dont like - give him a dig!!! the precedent will have been set at the highest level - inter county, and if it's OK there, then surely it's OK at club level too.

optimist (Louth) - Posts: 188 - 22/07/2008 20:44:47    54287

I have to say that I am very entertained reading all these comments! Yes I am a Kerry person & the only question now I have is who has the "inside source" in the DRA that has leaked that Paul Galvin has gotten off??!!!
I have been stalking the internet..literally & no decision has yet been made - we should expect to have it in a matter of minutes probably the 1pm news.
No i dont feel that Galvin should get off - yes I do feel 6 months was ridiculous in the first place - yes i think that 3 months would be fair. I also agree this has dragged on way too long - a verdict is needed ASAP.

Louise (Kerry) - Posts: 40 - 23/07/2008 12:46:29    54721

Im willing to wager that he doesn't last 10 minutes in his next championship outing such is the amount of intimidation he is going to receive from opossition players and supporters. Watch this space.

Pole axed I'll have a thousand euro with ya that he will last more than 10 minutes...thats a ridiculous statement. You've obviously feel very strongly about this but step back for a minute and think about it. It's players like Paul Galvin that the game needs, sure he's made mistakes but Kerry are a lesser team without him.

Rickyknowsbest (Mayo) - Posts: 54 - 23/07/2008 13:00:03    54739

I mean if Collie Moran can get off then so can Galvin

footiemad (Westmeath) - Posts: 733 - 23/07/2008 13:28:25    54777

Like I said in a different post:
"Nobody wrecks the GAA......like the GAA!"

If anybody thinks that ol Snuffy will have the wool pulled over his eyes they must think I shear sheep for a livin!
This delay is designed to dampen the impact of him getting off Scot free!

I can just imagine the phonecalls passing back and forth between faceless people in Kerry and HQ!

Aint ever gonna fool ol Snuffy.

Enjoy yer reprieve Galvin......ye'll have no look for it. Oh and the next time ye wish to stamp yer feet like a petulant child, let me know and I'll by a pair of pink wellies for ye!

Recently whilst down in Kerry, a local lad whilst talkin about Galvin said: "Oh, ye could count on that eejit being the one to do the deed alright!".

Snufalufagus......Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/07/2008 13:32:30    54783