Martin Samuel - Daily Mail article...

Im not usually enraged.

this is what he wrote

Careful Andrew, there are skeletons in Ireland's closet too
After a week of Irish glory and glorification at Cheltenham and two very jolly days in Dublin to follow, many Englishmen would have felt the bond between our countries had become rather civilised these days.

So it came as something of a surprise to pick up the newspapers on Monday and discover what really inspired Ireland's Six Nations victory over England at the Aviva Stadium: hatred.

Andrew Trimble, the Ireland wing, let this slip, describing a rallying call from lock and most recent Lions captain Paul O'Connell prior to the game. 'I always love listening to him during England week,' Trimble said.

Irish eyes are smiling: Andrew Trimble (right) celebrates with Ronan O'Gara after beating England
'We wanted to get everything right technically, but we also wanted to use our physicality, our intensity, just a real hatred. We never get sick of beating England; that is why we enjoyed the win so much. There's a lot of history there.'

Indeed there is. Like the European Union's £73.7billion bailout for the failing Irish economy last November, that could end up costing British taxpayers in the region of £6.07bn.

Not many songs about that on Saturday, though, just the usual one about prison ships, prison walls and a terrible famine that took place 160 years ago yet is still thrown in the face of every visitor in an England shirt, as if it was cooked up in the Harlequins dressing room last Tuesday.

Maybe next time Martin Johnson visits he could give a rousing and equally relevant speech before the game based on vengeance for all the little kiddies abused by Ireland's paedophile priests.
Or is it only the English who have entries in the history books of which their modern descendants might be ashamed?

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1369018/Martin-Samuel-Deafening-silence-ends-John-Terry-affair.html#ixzz1HQyWpYK3

Cork_boy (Cork) - Posts: 100 - 23/03/2011 14:04:12    894623

I don't get it Cork boy, what is the point he is trying to make?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/03/2011 14:50:10    894696

What has a European bail out got to do with rugby?????

Or the Fields of Athenry?????

Jesus what was this fella on when he wrote that.......

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 23/03/2011 14:53:23    894701

Well i think he's saying that we shouldnt be singing the Fields of Athenry because we owe England so much money for the bail out.
Then says the Fields of Athenry is an anti english song.
and thinks the prients have done more bad things for irish history than the english.

Cork_boy (Cork) - Posts: 100 - 23/03/2011 14:54:29    894703

Cork_boy

894703 Well i think he's saying that we shouldnt be singing the Fields of Athenry because we owe England so much money for the bail out.
Then says the Fields of Athenry is an anti english song.
and thinks the prients have done more bad things for irish history than the english

If you ask me this clown is angling for a job with 'Sir' Tonys crew, but can the Independent group cope with another ego, who knows?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/03/2011 15:05:55    894714

He's just sore that Ingurland didn't win the Grand Slam, so he's attacking Ireland to make himself feel better. Rather pathetic really. Not a rugby fan, but after reading that stuff I just want to say 'thank you' to all the Irish players on Saturday.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 23/03/2011 15:09:05    894716

You can almost taste the bitterness from that article. Is this guy so removed from reality that he doesn't understand that irish players always have and always will enjoy beating england more than any other team? Also, what did those fans singing what is basically our most renowned anthem have to do with the banks situation? He's a pathetic whinger that is trying but wont succeed to rain on our parade.

mikeoc (Kerry) - Posts: 567 - 23/03/2011 15:12:43    894723

Fellas i'd just ignore it. The Daily Mail has a reputation over here of being the archetypal middle England rag. Tis forever living in the past, has a colonial, slightly xenophobic feel and believes that there are about 50 million illegal immigrants running around claiming benefits. It is a gloomy paper at best with a glass half empty feel. Most days they are predicting the end of the world.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 23/03/2011 16:08:04    894788

Will Liverpool and Celtic fans have to stop singing "The Fields of Athenry" now too to appease him ?
The man is just a bad loser but has stooped very low with that article !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/03/2011 16:15:49    894805

Stupid, arrogant, irrelevant, offensive, disgraceful. Both the article and the muppet that wrote it.

square_ball (Galway) - Posts: 229 - 23/03/2011 16:22:14    894814

Makes our victory even sweeter - brilliant, GIRFUY !

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1795 - 23/03/2011 16:34:15    894832

if they want to dance that tune , then after 800years of opression murder and tryanny , then i think we should tell them there is a lot more they owe us , apart from everthing they stole out of the country .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 23/03/2011 16:34:29    894833

Well this article didn't do his journalism any favours either !!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/article-1367774/SIX-NATIONS-2011-Martin-Samuel-day-Martin-Johnson-pulled-carpet-Irish.html

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/03/2011 16:38:50    894843

Do people actually read this sorry excuse for a paper? Daily Mail readers believe Poland is empty

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 23/03/2011 17:13:10    894886

Just about to say it PP. Do people who are not married to their cousin actually read this paper??

The article is hilarious.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 23/03/2011 17:20:49    894895

he is just an example of a smug englishman who hates to get beat - but usually does and tries to re-direct the focus from the fact we kicked the be-jasus out of their cricket and rugby team. ha ha

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 23/03/2011 17:32:47    894912

yew_tree.
yes excatly but do not forget cheltenham we cleaned up there as well ;D. LOL.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 23/03/2011 18:19:37    894956

ta32,

Is Dell ok ? Haven't heard from him in ages on H.S. !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/03/2011 18:33:06    894974

23/03/2011 18:19:37
ta32

yew_tree.
yes excatly but do not forget cheltenham we cleaned up there as well ;D. LOL.

Ireland 13 14 GB

Not exactly cleaning up, but a creditable, narrow, defeat.

But still a defeat.

But it is the "Sport of Kings" and they have more Kings than Ireland.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 23/03/2011 18:40:43    894985

The English tabloid press are a shower of horrible, right wing Little Englanders so they would go down well with a few HS 'posters'. Anyway there's a bit of hypocrisy going on here, the Dublin news and sports media have been doing exactly the same to Northern Nationalists and Ulster/Northern sports sides for decades. The hatred that Ulster Catholics and Tyrone and Armagh GAA teams have to put up with from the Southern media is pretty nauseating too.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 23/03/2011 19:04:11    895020