Banty and McGeeney come Face to Face

Ah the game needs a bit of spice like that every now again! Makes things interesting when the sides meet again!

supermac (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 22/03/2011 09:55:52    893569

Bet Galvin was horrified at Bantys skinny jeans !! now thats a frightening sight and worth a five game ban !!

barroboys (Louth) - Posts: 101 - 22/03/2011 09:58:18    893571

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/499401/

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/499406/

Given O'Gara's 8 week ban for use of the head I can see the CCCC issuing bans to both managers.

BallsMcQ (USA) - Posts: 941 - 22/03/2011 10:22:18    893594

"You couldn't see if he was booked because you were so far away but you had a perfect few of the incident itself?"

I could see perfectly well that Doyle was hanging on to the ball for dear life, anything to prevent Meath getting there hands on it to take a quick free.

It was very hard to see whether the ref flashed a 2x4 inch piece of yellow card at Doyle, due to a scrum of players, both benches off their feet and a big crowd behind gesticulating at the ref....I haven't 20:20 vision!

If that's the road he wants to go down then he has to be willing to take a few slaps and McGeeney shouldn't be feeling aggrieved about that in any way.

As it turns out nothing came of Meath's last chance launched into the square... I just HATE teams that are in front time wasting and delaying other teams at the end of tight games, not just if its against Meath.

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 22/03/2011 10:42:30    893615

"You epitonise everything that is wrong with some Meath GAA followers in what you just said"

How so?

Are you saying its OK to time waste but not OK to try and rip the ball off the time waster?!

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 22/03/2011 10:44:30    893619

cccc to suspend both as they done with o gara for use of head

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/03/2011 10:51:31    893634

Given O'Gara's 8 week ban for use of the head I can see the CCCC issuing bans to both managers.

Jeez, getting banned for video evidence is one thing but from a photo?

Maybe they could go down the "I Now Pronounce You Chuck & Larry" road in their defence of the bans. I smell a sitcom!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 22/03/2011 10:56:59    893642

Have to agree with Daith who said it shouldnt be published. To publish means you are treating rugby and GAA differently. For instance there was a scuffle involving many players towards the end of last Sat Ireland England match. You wont hear it mentioned or see any photos of the incident published. This is a persistant problem with the media covering of GAA.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 22/03/2011 11:12:24    893656

mod if this is the scuffle your alluding to surely it's clear to see it's only handbag stuff is it not.

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/499224/

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/499248/

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/499245/

BallsMcQ (USA) - Posts: 941 - 22/03/2011 11:57:13    893701

Jaysus lads, they will be handing out suspensions for pointing menacingly at an opponent next!

supermac (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 22/03/2011 16:09:45    893951

Balls there is a world of difference of what happened in Newbridge last Sunday and what happened with O'Gara and O'Se. There was no force used by either McGeeney or Banty.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 22/03/2011 17:31:51    894082

sedico

Balls there is a world of difference of what happened in Newbridge last Sunday and what happened with O'Gara and O'Se. There was no force used by either McGeeney or Banty.

With the utmost respect to your view I don't think the amount of force used has anything to do with it.

McGeeney and Banty engaged in aggressive behaviour towards each other.

BallsMcQ (USA) - Posts: 941 - 22/03/2011 19:36:49    894216

Doyle wasn't booked. I dont know how you could justify booking him for that.
You talk about wasting time sure if the referee took out the book, wrote his name down and took out the card it would have took more time then.

I find it so annoying at matches to see referees booking lads in the last minute or two. It's a complete waste of time in my opinion.

kefan (Kildare) - Posts: 498 - 23/03/2011 14:31:30    894661

I hate time-wasting.
It was great to see Louth get their comeuppance in the Leinster final after Rooney kicked the ball away twice.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 23/03/2011 14:38:58    894678

Typical!.....Imagine if it was a Dublin man!!....Ye would be all over it like a bad rash lads!....

Tell ya what it all about: I was McGeeney telling Banty that the Wee County is still in a bad way over the unmanly behaviour of Meath taking the Leinster title by cowardly cheating, and not to be throwing cups of tea at Dublin players and not to be tearing down Dublin flags in a typical meath fashion while no Dubliner is around!!!
Banty just replies: "haigh ho here ho haigh here ho here haigh!"

Both should be ashamed of themselves and then try to pass it off as nothing so as to play it down! GAA should not let them away with this behaviour

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/03/2011 16:05:21    894782

Doyle was fouled badly before the incident. And BallsMcQ you are talking absolute nonsense! There was no striking action involved. OGaras was a plain headbut. As for Gaelantrim:

"County: Antrim

Have to agree with ye there Hurlingdub. Very disappointed , especially with McGeeney who was always the kinda player you referrred to. Two seasoned GAAmen gettin on like Under10s is very poor example. If I had had my young lad at the match I would have been very annoyed at him witnessing the behaviour."

You weren't there and you didn't see what went on. All you saw was a picture, you sound like Reverend Lovejoys Wife from the Simpsons "won't somebody please think of the children!". Drop the self righteous indignation, this was a thing of nothing. Honestly people have little to be doing to be getting upset over a tiny incident like this.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1172 - 23/03/2011 16:35:02    894835

Geezer was clearly at fault and Kildare should give us a replay.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 23/03/2011 16:44:26    894852

Coylerseblo,

You're a glutton for punishment .

BallsMcQ (USA) - Posts: 941 - 23/03/2011 16:55:22    894871

Jaysus lads ye's are blowin this completely out of proportion.. nearly in every match players push an shove each other hit each other off the ball.. ye don give out about that.. its a mans game we play with pride thats why we call soccer a girls game because we get up an get on with it.. i don think mc geeney or banty even had a thought of throwing a box or anything like that it was heat of the moment stuff its nothing new we see it all the time.. get over it

toprow2010 (Kildare) - Posts: 214 - 23/03/2011 17:35:43    894917

Anyone know if they are gonna get hauled in by the GAA

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 24/03/2011 14:59:25    895622