Cursing at the GAA match

Orlaith
County: Derry

884172 Wayno wind your neck in stop being an eejit would ye, Its alright to have a quiet curse but why roar it all over the place? No I dont suggest we make games for over 18, did I say that? Or are you just being thick?

I wouldnt mind him Orlaith, sure he does be in floods of tears most of the time hes at matches. Bawling his head off n drivin people mad.
Total emotional wreck.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 09/03/2011 09:25:10    884312

I saw someone picking their nose at a GAA match one time... my hair turned white.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 09/03/2011 10:19:28    884334

The greater the intensity of a match the more cursing/swearing there is.
I think it adds something uniquely irish to the game.
It never did me any harm.

Happy Ash Wednesday to all!!

OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 635 - 09/03/2011 10:32:29    884345

Wouldnt Hash Wednesday be far more fun...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 09/03/2011 11:19:02    884398

Is this how P.C. thigs have gotten in Ireland that there should be no cursing at a football match. I curse at Louth matches sometimes, and it is because when you get really into the game, it's what happens. Some people on here should go watch other sports like Cricket, Tennis or Golf, were it will be nice and calm from all the crowd, and not a hint of a bad word from anyone.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1661 - 09/03/2011 12:46:28    884480

PK57
County: Louth

Some people on here should go watch other sports like Cricket, Tennis or Golf, were it will be nice and calm from all the crowd, and not a hint of a bad word from anyone.

There was a fella by the name of Gilmore, first name escapes me, played on the PGA tour a few years ago. Brought a very economically diverse set of fans, certainly wasnt "calm" by any stretch. Another chap by the name of McGavin - had some right looney fans. One of them actually drove onto a golf course trying to attack an opponent of his "hero". Again, not very "calm" behaviour.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 09/03/2011 12:53:01    884486

Watching the Cork Kerry game on tg4 some young fella obviously very close to one of the mic let roar "Cork S*** D***!!"

I lol'd!!!!!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12365 - 09/03/2011 13:06:54    884498

I was at a Antrim v Tyrone match last year and a Man in his Sixties was shouting and cusing until a woman beside who had about five kid's with her asked him would he please refrain from using such foul and abusive language, he swiftly turned around and told her in very colourful language to take a flying **** and get back to the kitchen as he was supposed to be a Tyrone fan I was to asked him to tone down his antics he give me a torrent of expletives!. at half-time the woman went away but was soon back with Her Husband who was a well known SF man with a couple of friends, needless to say the Second half was a much quieter affair , well from one supporter. And for the record Tyrone won! [:o)

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 09/03/2011 13:07:25    884499

People giving out about swearing at a GAA match! I've heard it all now (mahoosive eyeroll)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/03/2011 14:18:28    884559

if the woman with the kids was so concerned about the type of language her children were being subjected to SHE should have moved. instead she went away and rounded up the heavy's, she in my eyes was worse than the fella using the expletives. if the lad hadn't toned down his language a confrontation and or perhaps an altercation would most likely have ensued and SHE put her kids right in the firing line. did she want them to witness what a big fella their dad was ?. SHE put here kids in a position where they may have gotten hurt had the lad who was using the expletives did what she did and rounded up some of his friends.

BufordTJustice (USA) - Posts: 669 - 09/03/2011 14:27:37    884571

Jackeen

884559 People giving out about swearing at a GAA match! I've heard it all now (mahoosive eyeroll)

Feckin unreal isnt it... certain GAA heads really think the sun shines out of our rusty sheriffs badge dont we...

It's laughable

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 09/03/2011 14:33:22    884579

Jimbo I can't believe some of the posts I'm reading. I'm trying to work out if it's wumming or not but I'm thinking not. It's a ******* joke man! These boards are getting beyond a joke.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/03/2011 15:30:13    884635

**** sake ive heard it all now. What next? People farting in the hoganstand and lads not washing their hands after using the toilets at half time on the hill!!!!!!

Yep. Hooligans these days thats all you'll find at GAA matches.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 09/03/2011 15:32:46    884639

Horse
County: Laois

I've never heard an angry word spoken in the county, from Fr kehoe Pk in the west to Fr Maher Pk in Graigue or from Mc Cann pk to Kelly/Daly pk in the south. Maybe we need to get angrier

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 09/03/2011 15:45:06    884651

I have Tourette syndrome so there's a $@*!$*! excuse for me.

JudgeDredd (USA) - Posts: 59 - 09/03/2011 16:25:12    884702

Jackeen

884635 Jimbo I can't believe some of the posts I'm reading. I'm trying to work out if it's wumming or not but I'm thinking not. It's a ******* joke man! These boards are getting beyond a joke.

Has the country been taken over by mormons all of a sudden!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 09/03/2011 16:26:19    884703

884703 Jackeen

884635 Jimbo I can't believe some of the posts I'm reading. I'm trying to work out if it's wumming or not but I'm thinking not. It's a ******* joke man! These boards are getting beyond a joke.

Has the country been taken over by mormons all of a sudden!!

Nah, it's just Fine Gael

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 09/03/2011 16:36:24    884717

Is this how P.C. things have gotten in Ireland that there should be no cursing at a football match. I curse at Louth matches sometimes, and it is because when you get really into the game, it's what happens. Some people on here should go watch other sports like Cricket, Tennis or Golf, were it will be nice and calm from all the crowd, and not a hint of a bad word from anyone.

Spot on. 100% your right ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 09/03/2011 16:57:33    884747

Wayno wind your neck in stop being an eejit would ye, Its alright to have a quiet curse but why roar it all over the place? -

Would you grow up. You are clearly showing that you have never been to a big game in your life. Fans are passionate , fans will curse when anger/frustration gets the better of them, It's a rush of blood to the head. It won't ever be stopped. There is no such thing as a quiet curse when your in the height of it.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 09/03/2011 17:05:18    884756

Funny how relevant the topic is for me this week.

Went to the Cork-Galway match in the Páirc on Sunday with my five-year-old young fella and was unfortunate enough to be sitting a few rows in front of a particularly foul-mouthed Cork fan who went far beyond the odd eff or blind and during the second half when Cork were under pressure, he basically started to pour a non-stop torrent of abuse on top of the ref and some of the Cork players. I moved away to a different part of the stand after about five minutes of this and there was no more than the usual odd swear word that you would expect out of the fans in this section.

The episode listening to your man had obviously left an impression on my son, though, as he later asked his Mam what a c**t was.
Needless to say, I got a nice bit of (swear word-less) abuse myself at this point, and the small fella won't be seeing the inside of Páirc Uí Caoimh for a quite some time.

hurling_lad (Cork) - Posts: 69 - 10/03/2011 10:59:36    885209