Just watching this video on youtube It just dawned on me how much some people use such bad language at the GAA games, I know there is so much tension at the match and it is uncontrollable at some times but maybe they could calm the tone down a bit! This lad in the video (A tyrone fan obviously) was going a bit hell for leather, Then that decends down to the wee wains who are there watching the match. But there is using foul language and then as you will hear yourself there is overusing bad language. Don't get me wrong I use the odd wee muttered word under my breath but this boyo is shouting it all over the show. Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 08/03/2011 17:52:36 883985 Link 0 |
It's horrible Orlaith and very very offputting especially for younger fans and women but as a bloke I hate it too. The authorities and stewards don't do enough to stamp it out and I put alcohol misuse in there too. There's vast amounts of booze getting into grounds now particularly at Championship games and this is a big factor in how people behave. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 08/03/2011 18:02:26 884002 Link 0 |
Jesus christ what do people want ? absolute silence in the ground at all times ? waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 08/03/2011 18:09:34 884010 Link 0 |
Wayno, Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 08/03/2011 18:12:50 884015 Link 0 |
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 08/03/2011 18:14:20 884021 Link 0 |
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 08/03/2011 18:15:31 884023 Link 0 |
Sportsmen must be perfect because if they make the slightest mistake the the poor children will get a bad example ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 08/03/2011 18:18:33 884029 Link 0 |
JuanPeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 177 - 08/03/2011 18:18:45 884030 Link 0 |
And about what your saying about it decending down to the kids waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 08/03/2011 18:29:15 884046 Link 0 |
Kids at Matches? what next wimmin at matches? Soon there will be no more male only pubs, then where will we curse and swear and blind? ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 08/03/2011 18:36:01 884055 Link 0 |
'Gwaaaaaan, Hup, hup hup ya, gwaaaaan mooonnnnnnn, hup ya, close em in' nacellabeaga (Offaly) - Posts: 700 - 08/03/2011 18:53:12 884071 Link 0 |
thats terrible f***in language the f***er in the clip is using. he should be f***in warned about it. BufordTJustice (USA) - Posts: 669 - 08/03/2011 18:53:33 884072 Link 0 |
This was all said just days ago on the Dublin supporters thread, it can't be controlled what thousands of people shout from the stands. It's not nice but it's part of the GAA whether you like it or not gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/03/2011 19:30:00 884114 Link 0 |
festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 08/03/2011 20:27:34 884170 Link 0 |
Wayno wind your neck in stop being an eejit would ye, Its alright to have a quiet curse but why roar it all over the place? No I dont suggest we make games for over 18, did I say that? Or are you just being thick? I said for people to calm down on the cursing, its filthy and there is no need for it, And if you do choose to curse atleast do it quietly, Theres no need to shout 'F**k me' when the action isnt even going down, Its so vulgar and around 3.40 the man goes 'Are you allowed cursing on that camera and he hopes that he deletes all that' So Wayno, curse all you want like but dont shout it around acting a hard fella. Plus Ulsterman I agree, I was stewarding at an Antrim v Derry game there a few weeks ago and there was a group of lads drinking and smoking in the stand at the same time! could you imagine! Both at the same time. I wish people would just co-operate with me like I'm only doing what I'm there for. haha Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 08/03/2011 20:33:35 884172 Link 0 |
Cursing will never be stopped at GAA matches. Anyone who went to matches as a child will have gotten used to it very quick as it always happens. As for kids i'm sure they hear worse language on telly and other places. Obviously there are always a few who will go way over the top but it's always going to happen, it'll never change. kefan (Kildare) - Posts: 498 - 08/03/2011 21:42:43 884257 Link 0 |
I think we should make allowances in this case for the limited set of language skills possessed by Tyrone people. It's not their fault, they can't help it. doiregael2 (Derry) - Posts: 337 - 08/03/2011 21:54:54 884272 Link 0 |
How about a 'cursing area' like they did with the smokers? MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 08/03/2011 21:58:07 884279 Link 0 |
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 08/03/2011 21:59:38 884282 Link 0 |
Orlaith, I will not have my wife abused in that way. I'll sort them out! hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 09/03/2011 09:07:41 884303 Link 0 |