Like everything else Galway lags behind Belfast
Watched that. It changed my views on Irish unity. Never, never, never!
Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 04/03/2011 17:15:09
That said, there looks to be a lot of very beautiful Northern girls about the place in it. And I do have a fondness for the Nordie accent. Not as sexy as the Cork accent, but close.
Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 04/03/2011 17:16:23
Ah RAG WEEK! being wheeled up Royal Avenue tied to a bed covered in Eggs Flour and Water just like my stag night but with my Trousers still on.
fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 04/03/2011 17:40:09
Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 1123
Didn't realise you were a student Hag. Yeah, the infamous 'Lodge' closed a few weeks ago. It was a nice enough place the Lodge, I'll miss it.
Really? An awful place if ya ask me.
For most towns and cities having a University or IT is a boost to the local economy and most places would want it. During RAG Week however, there is some s*** to be put up with. But what do people expect? This behaviour is expected of students and young people in general. They're only living up to stereotypes. Anyway it's not all students, most of us can happily get locked without having to jump on a car roof.
roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 04/03/2011 17:47:41
You an LIT student Roundball? If so, you shouldn't have been in OUR Lodge anyway! Away with ya!
In fairness, it was a nice enough place, but I mean you wouldn't go there every week. I certainly wouldn't. It was a small enough place, and a lot of nights there would be hardly anyone there, and I'm talking about Tuesday and Thursdays, not only days like Wednesday where few people go out. Remember in first year a few friends and myself went there at, what, maybe coming up to 11? We were the only ones there! But it filled up to some extent within an hour.
In Limerick, Trinity Rooms is regarded as the best place, though I've never been gone on it. Always had a soft spot for Icon/Mor Disco. And I hate Molly's. Never been to Angel Lane I'm afraid. Few decent pubs around as well, for those like myself who get sick of nightclubs from time to time.
Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 04/03/2011 18:34:59
Wasters of the highest order the vast majority of them. Arrogant, drunken, boorish, loud culchies who spend their grants and loans on booze and curry chips. The scenes in Galway were a disgrace and very like the ones in South Belfast. I don't mind people having a beer but they believe that they are above the law and have no respect for anyone. If this is the way they behave they should put up tuition fees to 10 grand a year at least and they should be made to clean up their own mess.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 04/03/2011 18:55:22
Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 1125
881568 You an LIT student Roundball? If so, you shouldn't have been in OUR Lodge anyway! Away with ya!
In fairness, it was a nice enough place, but I mean you wouldn't go there every week. I certainly wouldn't. It was a small enough place, and a lot of nights there would be hardly anyone there, and I'm talking about Tuesday and Thursdays, not only days like Wednesday where few people go out. Remember in first year a few friends and myself went there at, what, maybe coming up to 11? We were the only ones there! But it filled up to some extent within an hour.
In Limerick, Trinity Rooms is regarded as the best place, though I've never been gone on it. Always had a soft spot for Icon/Mor Disco. And I hate Molly's. Never been to Angel Lane I'm afraid. Few decent pubs around as well, for those like myself who get sick of nightclubs from time to time.
Not in college in Limerick at all Seamus. Just the nearest big town to me. Always thought the Lodge was a dive and I actually quite like Mollys too.
roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 04/03/2011 19:00:38
Ulsterman,not all culchies are to blame:) Although I do agree its a fecking disgrace some of this behaviour.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 06/03/2011 21:49:33
Blame the ag science students. Absolute pigs.
Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 07/03/2011 10:42:28
Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 1134
881516 That said, there looks to be a lot of very beautiful Northern girls about the place in it. And I do have a fondness for the Nordie accent. Not as sexy as the Cork accent, but close.
Could you actually hear them from behind the curtains?
nacellabeaga (Offaly) - Posts: 700 - 07/03/2011 11:17:09
Nacelwhatever...
Curtains? What curtains? Don't be dragging your animosity towards me onto this forum as well. Seriously though, I hope we can get over this and be forum friends from now on. Here's hoping Rooney gets into double figures this year, eh?
Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 07/03/2011 11:55:28
Nacelwhatever...
Curtains? What curtains? Don't be dragging your animosity towards me onto this forum as well. Seriously though, I hope we can get over this and be forum friends from now on. Here's hoping Rooney gets into double figures this year, eh?
The curtains. Ya know the curtains? That you be hiding behind when the big cool college parties are going on? Well, when you take a break from your intimate obsession with Rooney that is.
nacellabeaga (Offaly) - Posts: 700 - 07/03/2011 12:37:30
I was in cork for 4 years and rag week never saw much trouble, I myself used drink at home/or someone elses house/outside until twas time to go out and then go out, didnt cause any trouble and i never really seen any trouble in my time... Was also at Limerick Rag twice and didnt see any trouble tbh..
The vast majority of students are at college to have a laugh, a drink and to get a degree... others scrape into college and only last a year - these are usually who cause any problems in my experience, they have no fear of being thrown out -- as someone mentioned before people wit rich mammy's or daddy's who protect them.. i knew a guy like that who was givin a last warning three times but obviousally had connections, he was a trouble maker who gives students a bad name...
i also lived in a student village for my time and there was never an incident of note, ya one or two sleepless nights a year but you would get that anywhere..
With regards to Galway, I was speaking to a friend recently who said NUIG hasnt the best reputation for academia and said its supposed to be very easy to pass there with substandars essays and the sort.. dont know how true this is but it could expain why there is trouble... too much free time..
All in all, i miss rag week.. last year a went to lidl and bought 48 cans and 6 bottles of baileys on the sunday and had to go back for more on wednesday
miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 07/03/2011 12:51:21