Booing by Dublin Supporters

From my time watching gaelic games I've heard rotten stuff from all walks of supporters yet I don't feel the need to come on an internet message board and moan about it. This is the typical Irish debate, loads of moaning and whinging but no one is gonna do anything about it.
Seriously lads if you want to dwell in your little grief hole and ramble on about this kinda rubbish then please feel free to give Joe Duffy a bell or at least post it on the Dublin boards since this stuff only happens with Dublin supporters (thanks for the tip Betty)

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 03/03/2011 10:28:29    880372

NavyNblue

Your spot on. Its typically Irish for a person(s) to watch a sensational game and after it talk about something off the ball for example

The game last saturday was brilliant and was well worth the money eveyone paid in

Yet instead of coming on here and saying that was an amazing game and praising the players for their fitness and commitment at this time of year , they have a go at something/someone ..

its mad..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 03/03/2011 12:26:41    880488

its not mad wayne,its the culchie gaa fan, the vast majority of them are aul biddys and they would not be happy unless they are bitching away at us mean city lads

s.t.r.c.u.y.a. (Dublin) - Posts: 23 - 03/03/2011 21:06:57    880970

NavyNBlue

880372 From my time watching gaelic games I've heard rotten stuff from all walks of supporters yet I don't feel the need to come on an internet message board and moan about it. This is the typical Irish debate, loads of moaning and whinging but no one is gonna do anything about it.
Seriously lads if you want to dwell in your little grief hole and ramble on about this kinda rubbish then please feel free to give Joe Duffy a bell or at least post it on the Dublin boards since this stuff only happens with Dublin supporters (thanks for the tip Betty)
03/03/2011 12:26:41

lol what tip? your welcome anyway.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 04/03/2011 16:16:21    881430

NavyNBlue

880372 From my time watching gaelic games I've heard rotten stuff from all walks of supporters yet I don't feel the need to come on an internet message board and moan about it. This is the typical Irish debate, loads of moaning and whinging but no one is gonna do anything about it.

That has to be the moaniest post i have ever read!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 04/03/2011 17:59:33    881546

From my time watching gaelic games I've heard rotten stuff from all walks of supporters yet I don't feel the need to come on an internet message board and moan about it.

Posted on the hoganstand.com messageboard. I'm always wary of claiming things as ironic but surely this qualifies, does it?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 04/03/2011 18:18:34    881561

lol Kildare

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 04/03/2011 19:59:17    881611

Speaking from personal experience, when Wexford played Dublin in the Leinster final in 08, I have to say the abuse us Wexford folk got beggared belief. The hissing, the booing, Dubs shoving Wexford supporters in the back every time they got a score, I also recall Wexford fans were leaving early because we were getting such a pasting and people were like turning around and going 'yeah, go on, f*** off out of our stadium!' and this was coming from kids that looked about 12. I was always told that such behaviour was confined to some on Hill 16, but I was in the Canal End. Therefore, my own personal experience of Dublin football supporters as a result was...not positive. And the amazing thing is their hurling supporters have always been a great bunch

Still, it is drastically unreasonable to think that all Dub supporters are like that and in a way, I do feel sorry for the Dublin footballers, especially the current team because they look like a very talented bunch, but so many non-Dubs will hate them and it's all due to animosity between the supporters and little or nothing to do with the team or its talent itself.

At the end of the day, there is animosity in supporters of EVERY county in both sports, it's undesireable but it exists. People just point it out in Dublin a lot, because it's got the biggest population & thereby the largest number of hostile supporters, none of your counties is innocent of booing, hissing etc NONE

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 07/03/2011 22:00:14    883411

not every county boos and it isn't that wide spread

but in any case it's a way of expressing oneself if you are a fan

I can't imagine why anyone would want to push you Gigoer, you seem to be a reasonable fellow and not al all alloying (ahem)

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 08/03/2011 09:08:57    883428

Well said, Gigoer!! As a loyal and long-standing Dubs supporter I cringe when I hear other Dubs supporters at times. The booing, the foul language and Im not a prude by any means.I love the craic and the genuine banter at games. Ive been in every part of Croke Park and its not unique to the Hill. There are loadsa decent folk who stand on Hill 16. For me the lowest point for Dublin supporters was last year against Wexford when they booed their own team off the pitch. Dispicable. Ignorence is bliss, as I said to some of them around me that day "Id like to see YOU goin training at 6am in the morning and then headn in to do a days work"...all intercounty players give it their ALL and deserve the utmost respect ESPECIALLY from their own supporters....all that said, it happens in every county, so let nobody claim their own bunch are Saints.....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 08/03/2011 10:00:30    883438

Animosity & hissing is widespread in the GAA whether people like to admit it or not and it is widespread in most field sports, be it GAA, Soccer, Rugby, it's there

To suggest that someone booing the opposition is an expression of being a fan is showing them to be the type of 'fan' (and I use the term loosely) that caused this thread to be started in the first place.

Of course genuine sporting fans disapprove of morons like that but they will always exist. The booers and hissers are in every provincial championship & beyond, and not just in Dublin. Wherever they are, we just have to live with it and ignore them which I alluded to in my previous post, a point that was missed by ochonlir who is clearly too thick to get the point & would rather try to WUM at me instead

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/03/2011 20:56:57    884198

gigoer
County: Wexford

884198 Animosity & hissing is widespread in the GAA whether people like to admit it or not and it is widespread in most field sports, be it GAA, Soccer, Rugby, it's there

To suggest that someone booing the opposition is an expression of being a fan is showing them to be the type of 'fan' (and I use the term loosely) that caused this thread to be started in the first place.

Of course genuine sporting fans disapprove of morons like that but they will always exist. The booers and hissers are in every provincial championship & beyond, and not just in Dublin. Wherever they are, we just have to live with it and ignore them which I alluded to in my previous post, a point that was missed by ochonlir who is clearly too thick to get the point & would rather try to WUM at me instead

a couple of things giggy

Booing as you point out is a poor expression of being a fan, is it any poorer than calling another fan "Thick"

how do you wind up merchant at someone

and if someone is right beside you booing and hissing How can you ignore them, you can pretend it's not happening possibly?

still if the same person is booing the play, in my view, it's preferable to them calling you thick!

you are really an angry ant giggidy

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 08/03/2011 21:22:00    884233

Ochhy, you're replacing your own argument by just trying to have a go at me now, you're reaching and you know it, so do yourself a favour & give it up

ochhity...

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/03/2011 21:33:18    884247

reaching????

wretching possibly

sick at your very intemperate views!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 08/03/2011 21:55:05    884273

ZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.......................................

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/03/2011 21:58:02    884278

Snoring at Gaa matches will become an issue in Wexford if gigadon is not stopped in her tracks!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 09/03/2011 09:04:13    884299

lads dont waste your time arguing with these mulas there so caught up in dublin affairs that it almosts admits how jealous they are of dublin and how they actualy must realy like dublin if they keep talking and taking such an intrest in everything dublin do

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/03/2011 10:58:07    884376

Only a bunch of innocents

Royal_BGFC (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 09/03/2011 12:25:02    884464

Snoring is only an issue at Cavan matches.

Hardy har, just kidding Cavan fans

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 09/03/2011 13:05:08    884495

but the first step is to admit your problem so well done giggy

when you awake we will have a new Government and you may be able to influence them to do your bidding but easy on the personal insults!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 09/03/2011 13:47:14    884524