Booing by Dublin Supporters

Mes Amis...

Someone has to clean up the mess after the Jarvy's and or change the horses nappies...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/03/2011 15:58:32    879837

Yes true Jimbo great bit of mind games by Mayo that day, must have been sickening for Dublin at the final whistle esp as it was Mayo, who usually get a hiding to nothing in Croke Park.

But being a free country and without any prior arrangements Mayo were well entitled to warm up in front of the Hill, something I think teams should do more often when playing Dublin in HQ. It was an act of defiance, part of winning the mental battle. Of course had Dublin won, they could have said after " Well we showed them etc." Amazing the difference in winning or losing by a point.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 02/03/2011 16:31:17    879880

Laytown Legend

It's just a little tradition but of course anyone is free to warm up in front of the Hill

But dont moan about the outcome folks...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/03/2011 16:48:04    879909

At the end of the day... it would have been far more intelligent just to kick a few balls over the bar at the canal end... but Caffrey was a bit of a hot head.

But sure thats 5 years ago now... and this is a very different Dublin team.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/03/2011 16:59:58    879929

Jimbodub anyone is entitled to warm up at the hill but don't moan about the outcome really hits the nail on the head with regard to dublins thugish supporters.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 02/03/2011 19:09:54    880059

Laytown Legend

It's just a little tradition but of course anyone is free to warm up in front of the Hill

But dont moan about the outcome folks...

Beating Dublin you mean? :)

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 02/03/2011 19:40:01    880091

Coylers Elbow

Why would you moan about beating Dublin?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/03/2011 20:19:46    880139

True again Jimbo and the main reason I think Dublin are a much better outfit is that they seem now to be concentrating more on doing the business on the pitch rather than playing to the Hill. This craic of walking arm in arm slowly towards the hill before the warm up, goading opponents who miss great chances, lining up in front of the hill for the National Anthem, almost looking for some sort of re-assurance, for me let Dublin take their eye off the ball somewhat. Also, it must be said, it was not appreciated by opponents and rivals alike and thus the rest of Ireland delighted in Dublins defeats.

Not wanting to get away from the title of this topic but Gilroy seems to have eradicated this pageantry nonsense in favour of hard work and modesty. That and the 21st Century tactic of men behind the ball when opponents are attacking. It's only a matter of time before Dublin do win Sam - they have massive resources and too good a panel with some excellent players not to, and under Gilroy's regime they should be warmly received. None more so than the genuine Dublin fans and the big wigs in the GAA for filling up Croke Park.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 02/03/2011 20:29:00    880157

Mayo went out to cause trouble and well they got exactly what they wanted...

More like mayo psyched the dublin players out of it.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11697 - 02/03/2011 20:29:43    880161

Great post Laytown Legend. Couldn't agree more.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 02/03/2011 20:32:24    880171

yew_tree

880161 jimbodub

Mayo went out to cause trouble and well they got exactly what they wanted...

More like mayo psyched the dublin players out of it.

A very simplistic way of looking at it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/03/2011 20:32:24    880172

Laytown Legend:

It's a different team now alright... it got a bit silly there for a while.

I guess Caffrey thought he was doing the right thing... but he was off the mark.

It's not bravado that counts... you know what it takes.

Yeah Gilroy and his right hand men are going in the right direction... but honestly the only thing I'm thinking about right now is Monaghan away in the league

A real hard game for Dublin... and it's probably the most crucial. It wont be easy...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/03/2011 20:41:02    880183

Exactly Jimbo.....any game against Monaghan whether its league or champ is going to be really tough amnd playing away from home makes it oh so slightly harder eh? But we go there with a bit of confidence thankfully. I logged on a after a few days to realise this silly thread was still going on....and now someone brought up something that happened 5 years.....MOVE ON and let it go for your own sanity..... now lets put this silly thread to bed.

Dubsfan08 (Dublin) - Posts: 619 - 02/03/2011 21:00:15    880207

A loss against Monaghan could just be what the doctor ordered. Keep the culchies from hyping us up.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 02/03/2011 21:03:31    880218

Jaysus this thread might go longer than Indas govt.

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 02/03/2011 21:24:59    880252

Dublin has the best support when there winning, but the worst when there loosing!

biffo1 (Cavan) - Posts: 148 - 02/03/2011 21:33:20    880265

So we have won 3 outa 3 in the league:)....you admit we have the best supporters? chuckle :)

Dubsfan08 (Dublin) - Posts: 619 - 02/03/2011 21:38:27    880272

Ah come on Lads, are we still making threads about this topic.

Yeah the dublin fans boo when an opposition player is taking a free. But this is widespread at games up and down the country.

I was at the Munster Hurling Final last year and both Waterford & Cork fans were at it.

Ulster Football final the Monaghan fans at the town end were at it too.

Sure its not nice carrying on but it happens. Its not just Dublin Fans. Its only because they have a larger following than most counties it comes across as been alot worse.

ClonliffeRoad (Kildare) - Posts: 11 - 03/03/2011 08:59:26    880326

Unfortunately ill have to agree with you Biffo1. I've heard some awful things shouted from the hill at our own players when were not going well. The semi final against Cork last year I was in the hill and it was all great chants and support right up until Cork came back into it. Then utter silence. It was embarrassing. I certainly won't stop me following my county with a passion and attending matches, but I can safely say I won't be back to the hill. Don't want to make a generalisation of supporters in the hill because there is a great deal of loyal supporters following on the tradition of the hills true supporters. However its a lot easier to hear, see and take note of the idiots than it is the true supporters. Unfortunate I know, but can't see it changing in the near future.

Hon the Dub Hurlers!

NowYourHurlin (Dublin) - Posts: 65 - 03/03/2011 09:44:12    880343

Utter silence is wrong, booing is wrong?

perhaps a list of acceptable sounds would help

Grunting and groaning should be also banned oohing and aahing are two more obvious ones.

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 03/03/2011 10:15:16    880363