Booing by Dublin Supporters

Eh it was a joke Horse hence the smiley face!

But seeing as you brought it up, both my girls play on under 8's teams and when we have visiting teams they cheer and boo in equal measures. They're kids! They like to make noise and both teams do it to get a rise out of each other. I really don't understand the fuss with this. It's not like they are lobbing bottles at each other and scrapping. Whats more, when I played camoige as a schoolgirl it was going on too and we're talking 20 years ago. Perhaps it's a Dublin thing. Not much phases us here and I don't mean this in a patronising way.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/02/2011 15:52:04    878181

Jackeen

878181 Eh it was a joke Horse hence the smiley face!

Sorry didnt realise that.

Never heard any booing myself as a kid so obviously different set up in the schmoke.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 28/02/2011 15:56:26    878189

Possibly! We don't have the same Parish type community imo.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/02/2011 16:00:36    878195

Boo, Jimbo try coming to Boston

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 28/02/2011 16:07:46    878209

County: Wexford

You could apply that list to any county...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/02/2011 16:13:50    878217

Dub supporters are a bit like Chinese .......its not that they're bad its just that there's more of them.

chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 28/02/2011 16:18:51    878227

Jaysus you'd swear the butter wouldnt melt... it's priceless.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/02/2011 16:19:12    878228

well the next time any other county bar dublin decides to bring enough fans to congregate in one area in a large mass for a match behind a goal we will see if boo-ing is a dublin only occurence. i doubt we'll see it in the league due to paltry attendances but as a pointer of having been to munster hurling championship matches especially between cork and tipperary when its common to get one set of supporters behind a goal, boo-ing is very common.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 28/02/2011 16:20:19    878231

The way i see it is this

I dont always boo but if the game is close and the opposition have a free kick to level it up or whatever i will boo ..

Why do i Boo ? i boo because i like the rest of the hill and Dubs fans in general wish to distract the player taking the free kick so that my team go on and win the game. There is no malice in it at all . You do get the small minority of idiots hurling abuse which i would NEVER par-take in. but Booing .. yes i do the odd time

Do we mean it in a disrespectful way ? Absolutly not one hundred percent. As stated earlier i have absolutly nothing but respect for Kerry football and Bryan Sheehan. Likewise Cork and Dan Goulding and all other players taking frees into the hill from whatever county North/South of the border

Some of Kerry's players from the 70s , the Spillanes of this world , Ose's Coopers etc demand respect and they do get their compliments on the hill when they produce moments of brilliance .. Like Cooper at the weekend he was his usual sublime self.

I fully accept that its not something encouraging and in reality its bad sportsmanship from the fans if you will .. But ill be honest and open here , I couldnt care less about other countys respecting us or hating us cause of us boo-ing .. at the end of the day if Dublin fans boo a free taker as he kicks into the hill in a big game , He misses and Dublin win by a point .. We've done our job for the team , The team win the game and thats al that matters . We dont go to a game to stand there quiet. We go there lookin for lads from our city/county to come out of a game succesful. Its win at all costs

We don't be poncing about looking for other countys and people to stand up for us or be on Dublins side. We know 70% of "model GAA" supporters dislike Dublin and their fans , But we dont mind. Its not something we cry about .. I personally care more about winning against Kerry in a league game in croker , Than Galway fans for example respecting us for beings silent during a free kick.

Not all Dublin fans will even agree with me there .. but i just dont see the issue .. Hurling abuse and having a referees whistle in thr crowd is OUT OF ORDER .. but boo-ing is totally fine in my opinion.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/02/2011 16:21:24    878233

"Soccer supporters boo each other and cant acknowledge that anybody outside of the team they support are any good at all or appreciate good scores. The GAA has always had a type of mutual respect even between the fiercest of rivals but of course it is the Dublin fans and Dublin GAA people seem to just ignore the most valued of the GAA traditions and customs such as respect and loyalty. THey are fast becoming as bad as soccer crowds on many issues such as
1. Booing
2. Not clapping when the other team scores
3. Throwing items from the hill
4. Singing the best example of a soccer song (come on you boys in blue)
5. Going to the matches for the opportuninty to get drunk rather than watch the game
6. Going to matches to slag the other team and the other teams fans, something which up to now i have only seen in soccer.
7. And just in general having little or no respect for the GAA and its values."

Who claps when the opposition scores? Maybe in the case of a trully exceptional piece of skill as a lover of the sport. But get off your high horse. All counties have drunk supporters in championship season and they all imitate soccer chants. Just because the chants are from soccer doesnt make them evil, if anything they add so much to the atmosphere. As for point 6, slagging has always been in the sport and most of it is good natured craic. There is also no segregation of rival fans at Dublin games.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1172 - 28/02/2011 16:25:13    878237

creb
County: Limerick

I was at Sat nights match in Croke Park (as a neutral I might add) with my husband (He being a Kerryman and the reason we were there) and 2 children. I have been travelling to matches all over the country cince I was a child and I have never witnessed such unsporting behaviour as on Sat night. I would safely say that 75% of the Dublin fans sitting around us booed every time a Kerry man took a free kick. We were sitting in the family area of the Davin Stand so there were loads of children around us. Please dont tell me that its just a small section of Dubs fans that behave like this. It was a lot more than a small section on Sat night. Men ,women and children were at. If thats the way they see fit to introduce their children to the GAA they would be better off leaving them at home. It certainly took from our enjoyment of what was otherwise a great night with a great sporting match from Kerry and Dublin. I wouldnt mind seeing Dublin do well this yr but I would hate to see their unsporting so called supporters get enjoyment from it.

BBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 28/02/2011 16:25:33    878239

Did he big bad Dubs upset the poor ickle culchies on their day up in the big smoke? AWWWWW

We're really sorry!!!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 28/02/2011 16:28:36    878242

You are right Jimbo, alot of our coposters need a mirror I am afraid. I classify viewing games in Croke Park,Dublin a treat with few other stdaii to challenge the atmosphere, except Killarney or Breffni Park.

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 28/02/2011 16:29:38    878244

MesAmis

878242 Did he big bad Dubs upset the poor ickle culchies on their day up in the big smoke? AWWWWW

We're really sorry!!!!

I'm not :-)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/02/2011 16:38:43    878257

The First FOUR Threads on the main forum have the word "DUBLIN" in them .. The obsession grows ... :-P

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/02/2011 16:41:32    878259

MesAmis:

Did he big bad Dubs upset the poor ickle culchies on their day up in the big smoke? AWWWWW

We're really sorry!!!!

Jackeen:

Yeh Mes amis speak for yourself

I'm not one bit sorry either ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/02/2011 16:48:11    878264

Jackeen

Have a heart.......the poor children........absolutely traumatised after Saturday night............nightmares............the entire weekend ruined.

I feel so bad about what happened that I'm changing my match day routine. I'm going to stay completely silent once I get within 100 yards of a culchie and I'm just going have six pre match cans of Dutch along the Canal instead of twelve. Its the least I can do.......for the children!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 28/02/2011 16:50:02    878267

neither am i dont go to the dublin matches if you dont like it

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 28/02/2011 16:51:41    878269

waynoI

Its not something we cry about ..

Must be a first for an emotional wreck like you Wayne!

The Gwyneth Paltrow of HS!

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 28/02/2011 16:52:02    878272

Soccer supporters boo each other and cant acknowledge that anybody outside of the team they support are any good at all or appreciate good scores. The GAA has always had a type of mutual respect even between the fiercest of rivals but of course it is the Dublin fans and Dublin GAA people seem to just ignore the most valued of the GAA traditions and customs such as respect and loyalty. THey are fast becoming as bad as soccer crowds on many issues such as
1. Booing
2. Not clapping when the other team scores
3. Throwing items from the hill
4. Singing the best example of a soccer song (come on you boys in blue)
5. Going to the matches for the opportuninty to get drunk rather than watch the game
6. Going to matches to slag the other team and the other teams fans, something which up to now i have only seen in soccer.
7. And just in general having little or no respect for the GAA and its values.

are you for real not clapping when the other team scores who and why would anybody clap for a score from the opposing team that defeats the purpose of supporting your own team.
singing come on you boys in blue what soccer team sings that if you are reffering to the irish scoccer rip off it you have your facts wrong as the dubs have benn singing that long before the irish team.going to the matches to get drunk i dont drink ahem wrong again and if they did it would be the oppisite from most country people who are only out of the pubs when a match is on,look at most towns outside f dublin they have at least 5 pubs in them where i live has 1 and its big area.how do we go to a match to slag other countys ask most louth people after the dublin louth match most people remained on the hill to sing championa to the louth team who were doing a lap of honour at the time if we were ever going to be bad and slag someone that was a perfect oppurtunity to rub salt into there wounds but did anyone NO.as far as having respect for gaa values i think the next time you go to wexford park or your local club and see the lovely astro turf pitch and clubhouse remeber where the money came from to build them

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/02/2011 16:53:33    878274