Who cares if people boo.
Have ye never been to a panto?

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 28/02/2011 14:14:22    878034

waynoI

877966 Creb and co.

Get over it .. I don't usually boo even if those on the hill around me do but i did on saturday night. But so what ? get over it folks. It happens.. there is too much of this moral highground rubbish amongst the GAA community. Oh this is wrong and thats wrong , It Shows disrespect to the opposition and a soccer hooligism adopted by the brits bla bla .. RUBBISH , We dont leave Croke park looking for fights and in fact many of the people boo-ing will go have a drink with opposition fans after the game wether we win or lose the game.. All we do is make a small bit of noise to try distract/put off the free taker. 9 times out of 10 it doesnt work anyway because the free taker holds his bottle
We dont do it to disrespect teams. I have the utmost respect for Kerry football and always have nothing will change that. Just cause i boo-ed and hundred/thousands more boo-ed on the hill we are the worst GAA people about ? fair enough it wont bother us once we win games.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/02/2011 14:14:43    878036

There's no point going on here giving out about booing supporters, who know nothing about the game. The Dubs that are on here posting in February are the genuine knowledgable lads who are mad about their football. There's no point giving out to them about their hangers on booing.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1172 - 28/02/2011 14:14:57    878037

waynoI

878001 This booing is standard Dubs supporters behaviour - it's been going on for years and the authorities in the GAA have done nothing about it. Could they appeal for silence? We don't get boos in rugby. Is it alien to GAA culture to show manners? I don't think so.

_____

Ha ha ha what can the Authorities do .. throw us all out ?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/02/2011 14:18:28    878046

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/02/2011 14:19:48    878052

Coylers Elbow

878034 Who cares if people boo.

Oh yes we have!!

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 28/02/2011 14:19:57    878053

Nope but I've been to a few matches that are like panto's.....

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 28/02/2011 14:20:22    878054

Does that include whistles?

______

It could do ;)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/02/2011 14:24:13    878059

brendtheredhand

878052 jimbodub

Alright then...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/02/2011 14:28:28    878063

creb
County: Limerick

It was quite comical to listen to some of them. They obviously dont know much about the rules of the game. Or maybe the Dubs just didnt commit any fouls on Sat night.

I too was in the Davin Stand with my kids and if it wasn't for the booing I would have had to leave early with them cos they were bored (I blame Damien Dempsey). I turned it into a game. The one who can boo the loudest gets the most jellies :-) If you took offence to the booing, did you take offence to the Mayo boys having a laugh at the top part of the Davin shouting at the top of their lungs making up all sorts of rhymes with swear words and everything!? You even said yourself it was comical. It's banter. There's no vitriol involved for the most part and it's what the rest of Ireland has come to expect when playing Dublin. I for one make no apologies for my fellow countymen or indeed my children. If it's silence you want, try rugby or snooker.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/02/2011 15:11:53    878110

When did people start saying 'banter' in this country?
It conjures up images of people acting like eejits and thinking they're great craic.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 28/02/2011 15:17:53    878119

Booing at snooker... Jaysus!! We could get ken back to the Top!!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/02/2011 15:19:41    878126

4.32PM - 12th August 1971

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/02/2011 15:21:44    878129

Eh since always!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/02/2011 15:21:45    878130

Is that your birthday Jimbo?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/02/2011 15:29:18    878137

i hate to see so called gaa supporters booing , its very childish and is 1 of the many reasons oppisition fans hate dublin and their soccer loving [ so called ] supporters . they have,nt even got respect for their own team let alone the oppisition , shows how much brain cells they have between them.

appleboy (Armagh) - Posts: 479 - 28/02/2011 15:30:40    878138

878129 4.32PM - 12th August 1971

----------------------

I'm not that old... but I'm a 70's baby alright.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/02/2011 15:33:10    878145

i hate to see so called gaa supporters booing , its very childish and is 1 of the many reasons oppisition fans hate dublin and their soccer loving [ so called ] supporters . they have,nt even got respect for their own team let alone the oppisition , shows how much brain cells they have between them.

You love us really .....

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/02/2011 15:39:19    878158

Jackeen

I too was in the Davin Stand with my kids...... I turned it into a game. The one who can boo the loudest gets the most jellies :-)

What happens when they are at some under 10s school match or whatever and they start that carry on?
Poor kids may well be excluded from sports cos of what you're teachin them. Not sayin your a bad parent or anything but you need to think about how the kids will extrapolate this lesson into the rest of their lives.

Its sporting values that allow people to enjoy games. Its not a war.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 28/02/2011 15:40:04    878161

Soccer supporters boo each other and cant acknowledge that anybody outside of the team they support are any good at all or appreciate good scores. The GAA has always had a type of mutual respect even between the fiercest of rivals but of course it is the Dublin fans and Dublin GAA people seem to just ignore the most valued of the GAA traditions and customs such as respect and loyalty. THey are fast becoming as bad as soccer crowds on many issues such as
1. Booing
2. Not clapping when the other team scores
3. Throwing items from the hill
4. Singing the best example of a soccer song (come on you boys in blue)
5. Going to the matches for the opportuninty to get drunk rather than watch the game
6. Going to matches to slag the other team and the other teams fans, something which up to now i have only seen in soccer.
7. And just in general having little or no respect for the GAA and its values.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 28/02/2011 15:44:59    878171