Cadburys Under 21 Football Championship

corkcelt

"Powerful display by Cork, tonight"

I heard that al-right. Were Tipperary very weak or was it a matter of Cork not letting them play?

Was going to go into it, annoyed I didn't now. Are yee lads favourites at this stage?

NowYourHurlin (Dublin) - Posts: 65 - 24/03/2011 14:22:16    895585

tubbs
County: USA

895481 i think standard is poor in leinster, only two players scored for carlow last night and one of those scored 8pts. from free's to me that speaks volume's about the standard anyway the draw was lopsided you had 3 div.4 counties one on side of the draw carlow, kilkenny and wicklow, carlow and kilkenny always finish in the bottom 3 in that division, lets be honest here if you only have to beat kilkenny in the q/final to get to a semi its a joke draw should be seeded so you can have some kind of a decent standard in semi's whoever comes out of leinster will be swamped in the all ireland semi's

This is the Under 21 Championship Tubbs NOT Senior! There is no league in Under 21 so how was there 3 Div 4 sides on one side of the draw. Also just to point out to you on the Longford SENIOR starting 15 in the league the total of Longford Under 21 players on it comes to the grand total of 0!!!

So your theory on Leinster Under 21 been poor is wrong....considering Dublin won the Under 21 All Ireland last year!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1361 - 24/03/2011 14:30:27    895593

Nowyourhurlin, I would say that Tipp did not play well last night, but Cork are very good and I fancy them to go all the way this year. It will take a very good side to beat them, especially with players like Aidan Walsh and Ciaran Sheehan in the team.

Star Gazer (Tipperary) - Posts: 436 - 24/03/2011 18:29:08    895851

Tyrone and Downs marathon confirmed what I thought about the first round ulster championship minor match in 2008. This was a great game of football which Down should have won on their first half display yet Tyrone came back to win by two points and went on to win the All-Ireland. Such is the way with the minor championship when you think of Tyrone losing narrowly to Down in 2005 and Armagh 2009 and yet these two went on to win the All-Ireland. Whoever loses out in this battle could easily watch the winners go on to All-Ireland glory.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 24/03/2011 18:47:17    895864

spinx im talking about this year's championship it's a poor standard if you come out of leinster you will find that out in all ireland

tubbs (USA) - Posts: 126 - 24/03/2011 19:42:24    895922

I wouldn't think that Tubbs....As Spinx said Dublin are reigning AI Champions and had the majority of last years team this year and were still knocked out. In my opinion Leinster was strong this year with strong teams in Meath,. Dublin and Kildare all exiting which obviously means there's stronger teams left in it.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 961 - 24/03/2011 20:43:04    895993

kilkenny will win ai

banterladhi (Donegal) - Posts: 502 - 24/03/2011 20:51:29    896006

tubbs
County: USA

None of your arguments really stack up and without trying to look like a smart-*** I actually don't believe you know what you are talking about.
For instance Wexford beat Louth and Kildare to get to the point of playing Carlow. Both Louth and Kildare had pretty decent teams and there wasn't much between them. Infact there were very few games where there was a large margin in the final result. Forget about Kilkenny they are one team.
Look at the recent results in Munster for example. Kerry and Cork are miles ahead of everybody else in Munster. Now Cork and Kerry obviously are superpower in football terms but to say Leinster is not competitive is crazy really.
You cannot even consider U/21 form from one year to the next it's not like senior and generally at the start of the year it's a very unknown quantity. As you point out we will see once the All-Irelands Semi's begin but to be honest I cannot tell if Leinster is stronger this year than last year however at least for me to say it was I have one bit of info to back it up and that is that last years All-Ireland Champions Dublin(with alot of the team from last year) were beaten in the first round and there hasn't been much between any of the teams in Leinster after that so definitely you would think it was no worse than last year if not better. That's just an opinion like yours but at least I've tried to be a bit constructive about it. Maybe you can expand on your theory.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 25/03/2011 08:31:15    896083

It's difficult to know with underage teams but Leinster does appear to be strong based on the Defeat of Dublin then the defeat of Meath. Elsewhere people are making Tyrone favourites to win the all Ireland before they have played Down and before the eventual winner plays Monaghan then Cavan. Connaught and Munster will provide strong Champions, if you are still in it then you have a chance.

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 25/03/2011 09:59:22    896117

Heslin's prob sick of playing at this stage and wants a while off before going to Oz

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1735 - 25/03/2011 10:29:11    896146

nick from weford where did i say in any of my posts that leinster was'nt competitive. i said the standard is poor this year and where's your proof that dubin have ALOT of their team from last year just more jibberish. as i said before my point will be proven in the all ireland series.leinster championship was competitive this year because all the teams were just average and just in case tou didnt know u21 football changes each year because players become overage doh!

tubbs (USA) - Posts: 126 - 26/03/2011 13:11:04    896662

I fancy Cork to win it this year! very strong looking line up & they will play the Connacht champs in the semi final (can't see ourselfs or Galway beating them)

I'll go for a Cavan v Cork final with Cork to win it by a few points.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 26/03/2011 15:41:10    896712

Hear Cavan are handy. Longford seem to have some very competitive underage teams over the last few years. Cork probably still playing their usual negative/ugly style. Seems to be a cancer right now borne from fear. Probably from so many defeats to Kerry.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 27/03/2011 11:36:55    896923

[wexford 4 leinster]

footiegw (Wexford) - Posts: 178 - 27/03/2011 18:32:00    897154

Hear Cavan are handy. Longford seem to have some very competitive underage teams over the last few years. Cork probably still playing their usual negative/ugly style. Seems to be a cancer right now borne from fear. Probably from so many defeats to Kerry.
27/03/2011 18:32:00
footiegw
County: Wexford

897154 [wexford 4 leinster]

Just wondering have you seen the Cork under 21 team play?

marym (Cork) - Posts: 242 - 27/03/2011 20:54:38    897308

marym

Just wondering have you seen the Cork under 21 team play?
-----

I could be wrong but I'd have my doubts defil1 has attended too many Cork under-21 games but nevertheless he seems to under the impression that the Cork under-21 football team are playing a style of play that is 'a cancer borne of fear from too many defeats to Kerry'. A bit hard to fathom when you consider Cork are the most successful county at under 21 level with 11 All-Ireland wins to Kerry's 10 who themselves are well clear of everyone else on the roll of honour.

Maybe the poor guy is unable to differentiate between the different age grades of gaelic football or perhaps he ventured into the wrong thread?

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 27/03/2011 21:48:37    897404

Guys somebody please remind me again why the Semi-finals were put at neutral grounds again?
I see they have done the same for the Final. Look I'm not going to start moaning about it but why do the GAA seem to constantly change their minds about things mid-way through.
At the end of the day it was set out from the start that the team which came from the Wexford side of the draw should have a home final. Why did they have to change this gain. Personally I think that a final should be held at a neutral ground anyway but it irks me that they can make these rules at the start and then suddenly change everything.
It's crazy really. What's the story for the All-Ireland Semi and Final were there rules set down around this from the start and are they now going to change these rules too.
They should stick to their decisions from the start and find fair ways to ensure they are stuck to. Lets face it there are alway a few grounds in any county where the games can be held.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 29/03/2011 10:29:23    898330

Rhodejim
County: Offaly

895309 That Heslin chap will get a reputation for getting sent off now. Murphy in Carlow has the same problem. Its a pity cos Heslin looks to have a bit of potential, but thats all it is, potential. Well done to Longford.

Best potentail westmeath have seen in the last 10years! Best of Luck to him in OZ. Who was the last Westmeath player that was scouted?

bj37 (Westmeath) - Posts: 16 - 29/03/2011 12:57:42    898465

Cracking Connacht final in store on Saturday, Defending Champions Roscommon head into the lions den in Pearse Stadium to face a talented Galway outfit.The winners will not fear Cork or Kerry I assure you.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 29/03/2011 21:56:52    898994

Fair play to Jason Ryan resting the Wexford U21's on the senior panel for the crucial league game against Tipp.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 30/03/2011 17:10:09    899433