Cadburys Under 21 Football Championship

Because their the best team in its thats why. Wednesdays game will have given them a big wake up call. Tyrone to beat Donegal in the final. Tyrone Cork All Ireland Final.

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 18/03/2011 16:02:34    891290

best wishes to the westmeath boys against longford tonight.

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 259 - 23/03/2011 16:20:38    894811

This was posted as a new thread but since the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

footiegw
Wexford
23/03/2011
17:39

wexford footballers 21's

wel lads big game 2nyt whos to win

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 23/03/2011 17:41:53    894929

Powerful display by Cork, tonight.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 23/03/2011 20:58:07    895149

We were very poor, congrats. Ye should take Kerry too

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 23/03/2011 21:07:22    895169

Any Word on longford-Westmeath Game ?

Ck0_3000 (Longford) - Posts: 41 - 23/03/2011 21:23:39    895197

Full Time:

Tyrone 0-11
Down 1-8

Extra Time being played.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 23/03/2011 21:29:10    895210

Great win for Longford again tonight....be interesting to see if any of them Westmeath supporters will be on the Longford page with their usual petty excuses...especially the lad who was giving out that they'd have to travel to Wexford or Carlow for the final.....happy to tell him he can stay at home.....Happy Days!!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1361 - 23/03/2011 21:39:20    895229

Kerry hammered limerick 2 goals from geaney some great long range points from barry john walsh.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 23/03/2011 21:42:53    895232

Longford 0-10 Westmeath 0-09

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1361 - 23/03/2011 21:47:13    895242

Australia bound John Heslin brought on shortly after half time for Westmeath against Longford in Navan only to receive a straight red card some moments later. Longford scored last three points to edge home. Westmeath led 0-5 to 0-1 coming up to the break but another trio of Longford points left only the bare minimum in it at the end of thirty minutes. Final score 0-10 to 0-9 for Longford.

Auldfella (Meath) - Posts: 472 - 23/03/2011 21:54:57    895262

Sounds like Heslin has let his team down there but I shouldn't say anything as I wasn't at the games so I could be totally wrong.

So Wexford versus Longfort final, that's going to be a great event.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 24/03/2011 08:52:47    895293

That Heslin chap will get a reputation for getting sent off now. Murphy in Carlow has the same problem. Its a pity cos Heslin looks to have a bit of potential, but thats all it is, potential. Well done to Longford.

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 24/03/2011 09:06:54    895309

Interesting this year in the last 4 in Leinster no Kildare, Dublin or Meath. Gotta be a first and of course Offaly and Westmeath would have been given the thumbs up for the likes of Carlow, Longford and Wexford.
The question is does this show that Leinster is stronger this year and more competitive or that the likes of Dublin, Meath and Kildare have poor teams this year compared to other years. I've seen a few post from different counties for instance Westmeath fans believed this was the best team they have had. Dublin we very much fancied to win this year because of strong showing last year.
What's other peoples opinion on this one.
I suppose we will see once the winners of Leinster go through to the Semis.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 24/03/2011 11:56:32    895442

I'd be of the view that the standard in Leinster has improved, Dublin had a strong panel available to them this year and where beaten by a decent Meath side who were then beaten by a good Longford side who have gone on to beat sa much fancied Westmeath side.

At the start of the year who would of taught we'd see a Wexford and Longford final?

Best of luck to both!

ChuckNorris11 (USA) - Posts: 1 - 24/03/2011 12:08:04    895454

Nick
County: Wexford

Id definatly say that leinster is getting stronger rather than the other. That Longford team didnt come out of nowhere and beath much the same Meath team at minor too. Dublin still had a strong panel from last year and fell at the first. The team the beat in the AI final, Donegal, were also beaten last night by cavan. Tipp, munster champs last year, also well beaten in the semi last night, so theres 3 of the 4 provences where the defending Champions dont even reach the final.
It just shows how much things can change too tho at this level from year to year.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 24/03/2011 12:19:43    895463

Best of luck to Wexford and Longford in the final.

Hanley2 (Longford) - Posts: 420 - 24/03/2011 12:23:50    895468

Munster final should be epic. Kerry were very good last night with paul geaney and james o donoghue in particular exceptional. Cork from what i heard were good too.

mikeoc (Kerry) - Posts: 567 - 24/03/2011 12:36:22    895478

i think standard is poor in leinster, only two players scored for carlow last night and one of those scored 8pts. from free's to me that speaks volume's about the standard anyway the draw was lopsided you had 3 div.4 counties one on side of the draw carlow, kilkenny and wicklow, carlow and kilkenny always finish in the bottom 3 in that division, lets be honest here if you only have to beat kilkenny in the q/final to get to a semi its a joke draw should be seeded so you can have some kind of a decent standard in semi's whoever comes out of leinster will be swamped in the all ireland semi's

tubbs (USA) - Posts: 126 - 24/03/2011 12:38:23    895481

I heard this Longford team is very young with the majority of players on starting 15 (12 I heard) are still underage for next year or two. Be an interesting final with Wexford. Best of luck to both teams.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 961 - 24/03/2011 14:02:47    895560