ruanua brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 15/02/2011 13:20:40 868113 Link 0 |
Seamus89 brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 15/02/2011 13:23:25 868119 Link 0 |
Dont get enough time to read as many papers as I'd like. During the week it'd normally be a glance at the Irish News to keep up-to-date with sport. Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 15/02/2011 13:23:59 868122 Link 0 |
Widening the debate out the reaction to RTE's 11th hour programme last night has been ongoing all day. Most fair observers have acknowledged that Gerry Adams performed pretty well last night and held his brief. ALL the Irish political websites have put Kenny out first on 44% with Adams on 37% and the others trailing after that. HOWEVER the panel on the 11th hour immediately put Adams last, spent most of the programme attacking Adams and the anti-Sinn Fein bias was quite shocking. Even supporters of other parties have been lambasting RTE all day for this nonsense and the most well known political webiste has stated that a fair number of complaints have flooded into RTE about the treatment of Adams and Sinn Fein. It appears that NO matter what Sinn Fein people say, the Irish media will not give them a fair hearing and are pre-programmed to attack them. The North is moving on but it appears that the 26 county media is not. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 15/02/2011 14:28:14 868196 Link 0 |
brendtheredhand dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 15/02/2011 15:10:22 868276 Link 0 |
Ulsterman dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 15/02/2011 15:20:50 868291 Link 0 |
Ulsterman black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 15/02/2011 15:20:57 868292 Link 0 |
black&white dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 15/02/2011 15:48:39 868339 Link 0 |
HA HA HA. So even when websites show some support and sympathy to Adams and Sinn Fein they are manipulated by Sinn Fein? I don't think Sinn Fein are that good that they can falsely control EVERY political website and their views and polls. Flattering I know for the Shinners but quite improbable. Face facts lads there are people in the 26 counties who are seeing through the corrupt, right wing, gombeen nonsense that they have had to put with for decades. Fianna Fail are clutching at straws and are now resorting to frightening scare tactics; that's how you know they are really desperate! Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 15/02/2011 15:59:32 868360 Link 0 |
Ulsterman dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 15/02/2011 16:41:54 868431 Link 0 |
There was a great article in The Irish News today by it's best political writer Brian Feeney. He really got stuck in to the 26 county political Establishment and print & electronic media for the hateful bigotry they have thrown at the North, and Sinn Fein especially, since the Southern election was called. On Vincent Brown the other night some smart arsed journalist smirked that "they shouldn't be coming down here telling us what to do" while Micheal Martin said the same to Gerry Adams. There has been some really nasty anti-Northern comments on various political websites and before anyone takes umbrade at me and Feeney he saves his criticism for the media and political parties in the 26 counties and not most of the popualtion who he said could'nt really care less. I have been following the election coverage quite closely and have to say he is spot on. Fionnuala O'Connor is another brilliant journalist and she wrote exactly the same a few weeks back. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 16/02/2011 19:09:44 869487 Link 0 |
Ulsterman black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 16/02/2011 19:52:59 869524 Link 0 |
i think the important thing is why do people in the south say such things? would it be anything got to do with the activities over the past 40 years? calling us biggots ulsterman do you think that would compell us to like you any better?- posts like yours and the attitude of the majority proves the mindset of the majority is right YE HAVE MADE YOUR BED... mend your ways and then that attitude may change until then the north shall remain on the naughty step liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 16/02/2011 19:53:50 869525 Link 0 |
oh so the media is only correct if they say sinn fein are brilliant and everyone else is biased- chip on both shoulders. folk it obvious sinn fein people are hijacking websites i mean look how they have ruined this one- i suppose that is biased too... yawn! change the record folks same old tripe all the time why cant we call sinn fein/ ira for what they are? have they not terrorised this island of next to 40 years? is that not true? is it wrong to say that? is that bias? and before people start harping on about a cause and we would know in the south- we couldnt care less about your ideology its your actions that define you- and you all support those action so we will call it for what it is. is any part of that not true? liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 16/02/2011 20:06:40 869535 Link 0 |