Limerick hurlers are back

yankee

Get real my friend. Cork and Waterford are very poor???? One of them won Munster last year and both contested All-Ireland Semi Finals. Teams dont die in twelve months nor do they become born again. Get a life. Enjoy life in Div 2 for now matey. If I were you Id focus my attention on yere need for promotion as opposed to long winded dreams of Munster sucess.

Glad to see Donal at Limerick, he's a fine manager and will no doubt improve and re-build a fine Limerick team. I have no doubt ye will put it up to us in the Munster this year and who knows perhaps cause an upset. Wish ye all the best and cant wait for championship hurling.

Deise_4_2011 (Waterford) - Posts: 50 - 14/02/2011 10:31:38    867065

LohansRedHelmet
County: Clare

We will see come Sunday. Clare will win it by 4-5 points. Limerick have a poor record in Ennis. Our pace in the forward line will be too much for ye . I also feel that not playing in the Wateford Crystal Cup was a mistake. If Honan starts he will destroy Lucy!!!!

firstly, clare were poor.... secondly, we hammered ye... thirdly, honan destroyed no one but himself!!! he was poor, i dunno how he was kept on the pitch that long

theatreofdreams (Limerick) - Posts: 73 - 14/02/2011 11:32:50    867128

Limerick back. Unfortunately they were never there in the first place.

SuperCats (Kilkenny) - Posts: 101 - 14/02/2011 19:27:39    867751

Fair play to Limerick. It sounds as if Clare were brutal but its still early days though. Don't forget they'll have to win the league final to gain promotion so Clare are still in with a chance. As are maybe Antrim, they may fancy themselves to sneak into the final and gain promotion.

Well done Limerick.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 14/02/2011 19:53:03    867768

Firstly congrats on the result.... but really can anyone read too much into this result at this stage of the year things are moving in the right direction but to score 2-09 in a senior hurling match isn't overly inspiring in fact seen as clare only scored 6 points that says how bad Clare have started. Sorry lads just want to put it in perspective a bit.

Anyways things can greatly inprove over the comming months and here's to a good year for Limerick hurling

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 14/02/2011 20:21:21    867800

Good result yesterday as Clare are not a bad side. The two will probably meet again in the league decider and that will be the must win match. It was oddly low scoring though. I hope Davy Fitz's blanket defense tactics are not spreading.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 14/02/2011 21:13:21    867861

I wasn't at the game but the reports that are coming back are as follows:

1 - Clare were brutal
2 - The weather was brutal
3 - Limerick played a lot of short passing

I'm glad we won, but there's very little we can read into this. Antrim & Carlow will be itching to beat Limerick & Clare as people seem to think Limerick & Clare will walk this division. Ths division could be more competetive than we all think and if it is that would be great preparation for the championship.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6483 - 15/02/2011 09:35:37    867950

slayer:

Think 1-4 of that was from frees so 1-4 in open play in any game is a poor return especially when Clare were supposed to be brutal, I know it's only the first games but Limerick need to get a bit of fire power up front.

Tipp tried to play a lot of short passes again kilkenny too dosen't work this time of year kilkenny were way more direct and looked a hell of a lot sharper early days but plenty to improve on.

Bit if an upset too in division 2 with down beating Carlow didn't see that on the cards.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 15/02/2011 09:54:38    867966

Im pleased for limerick, they needed the win more. However as previous posters have stated its too early to read anything into result. Overall I expect the main honours to go to Kilkenny or Tipperary with Galway the best of the rest. Cork are rebuilding and will not feature for the next 2 years however we had a little bit of fun at the weekend with great victories for Ballymartle and Meelin. I have some connections with Ballymartle and am absolutely delighted for them.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 15/02/2011 10:23:47    867986

Tipp tried to play a lot of short passes again kilkenny too dosen't work this time of year kilkenny were way more direct and looked a hell of a lot sharper early days but plenty to improve on.

Bit if an upset too in division 2 with down beating Carlow didn't see that on the cards.
HAG_AND_CHEESE , 15/02/2011 at 09:54

I totally agree with you hags Tipp game was more suitable for the dry sod

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/02/2011 13:22:25    868116

back where?

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/02/2011 13:23:09    868117

back where?

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/02/2011 13:25:22    868125

Fair play to Limerick. It sounds as if Clare were brutal but its still early days though. Don't forget they'll have to win the league final to gain promotion so Clare are still in with a chance. As are maybe Antrim, they may fancy themselves to sneak into the final and gain promotion.

Well done Limerick.

ha ha ha ! theyl be destroyed when they meet the superpowers

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/02/2011 13:27:11    868127

That's true, I'm not looking forward to facing Kilkenny, Galway, Cork or Waterford.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6483 - 15/02/2011 14:37:18    868217

Please don't do that i'll start to question myself if you start agreeing with me!!!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 15/02/2011 15:25:27    868300

Laois are in division 2 as well you know...sure were missing a few but we've still got just as much of a chance as Antrim or Carlow.

Markymark (Laois) - Posts: 644 - 15/02/2011 17:45:15    868511

Laois not missing that many, still a good panel of players, very balanced team with good hurlers throughout. i fancy them to split the precieved view of clare limerick league final.

0853658 (Laois) - Posts: 25 - 15/02/2011 19:07:43    868582

That's true, I'm not looking forward to facing Kilkenny, Galway, Cork or Waterford.

who are Waterford and Galway?
wer looking forward to ye though carry on Limerick ha ha !!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/02/2011 20:49:35    868705

Please don't do that i'll start to question myself if you start agreeing with me!!!!

well being from Tipp I have to acknowledge the fact that you do know something about the game Hags

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/02/2011 20:51:12    868707

slayer we beat ye 24 points in semi in 2008
if we meet ye this year wel beat ye more than we beat the Galway u21s in 2010

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/02/2011 20:52:49    868710