Limerick hurlers are back

The Limerick hurling bus rolls back into town sunday in Clare and everything coming out of the camp is good, everyone is fit and on the same page.. Twill take a few weeks to get back the sharpness but ive a good feeling about the year..

We will win division 2 which will be a big boost and hopefully win a championship game!!!..

Come on limerick!!!!!!

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 11/02/2011 10:53:14    865219

Go on Limerick Hurling and while you are at it, any chance you could transfer John Galvin to Kerry football, one of his parents are from Kerry

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 11/02/2011 11:54:00    865267

We will see come Sunday. Clare will win it by 4-5 points. Limerick have a poor record in Ennis. Our pace in the forward line will be too much for ye . I also feel that not playing in the Wateford Crystal Cup was a mistake. If Honan starts he will destroy Lucy!!!!

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 11/02/2011 11:56:34    865269

Welcome back Limerick and the best of luck to Ye!

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 11/02/2011 12:03:19    865278

Must say im really disappointed with this thread,I thought it was about the Backstreet Boys or Nsync reforming.....how wrong was I :(

sideofbacon (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 11/02/2011 12:04:12    865279

I am absolutely delighted that all seems well in Limerick hurling . Hurling needs a strong Limerick and all genuine hurling people will wish ye well. Down here I see it as a transition year I don't expect to see any trophies but we have a few promising lads emerging so there is a bit of hope on the horizon.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 11/02/2011 12:11:59    865290

A welcome and necessary return, hopefully they'll start to build up momentum and make an impact in the championship again, Donal O Grady's the best man for this job.
I'm just disappointed that there is still only one promotion place available for the Division 2 teams. I think changing that situation was more necessary than the re-introduction of league semi-finals. The usual patchwork attempt at structure change when it comes to the NHL.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 11/02/2011 12:14:18    865293

Watch out for the Cliff's of Moher!

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 11/02/2011 12:20:51    865302

Woah Woah Woah
have we all forgotten........these are the same lads who failed abjectly for the last 3 years with the difference that they are all now older and have lost a years IC hurling.......
relax the cax their Mike!

I wouldnt be holding out much ope for us.
These guys havent become brilliant hurlers in the last year!

Its like they always say about an injured striker. The longer he is out, the better he gets.......

Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 11/02/2011 12:24:35    865308

best of luck to Limerick,hurling needs them to be competitive again!

arabrebel (Cork) - Posts: 42 - 11/02/2011 13:03:48    865346

Come on Limerick!! It will be great to get back to playing games with a full squad to pick from.

MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 11/02/2011 13:20:56    865361

Mikeynora -- fair point.

But what I'm hoping is that Donal O'Grady can bring a different mindset to the table. That coupled with the legendary training sessions he is famous for, we can do well. What 'well' is, I do not know, but why not aim for a Munster title?

Tipp will be favourites and rightly so, they have some gifted players and a production line of talent coming through.
Waterford - Davy is doing a job introducing new talent & phasing out the older lads, but they are still a major threat.
Cork - in transition, but going in the right direction I feel.
Clare - the real dark horses. The talent from the 2009 U21 All-Ireland, if harnessed correctly, could lead to exciting times for Clare.

I'd love to see Limerick & Clare contest a Munster final in the next 2-3 years. But yes, I'm dreaming now. In reality what we need now is promotion back to division 1 to the elite. That will be no easy task, the sides in division 2 will have their own ambitions, not least the Banner men.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6483 - 11/02/2011 14:38:48    865432

I don't think you are dreaming Slayer when you say want Limerick or Clare to contest a Munster final. There is no reason why either of them can not win it this year.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 11/02/2011 15:39:55    865498

Good look to them. It was sad to see the fiasco that unfolded last season culminating in the humiliation in Parnell Park.

Sunday will be a big test for Limerick against another side desperate to get out of Div 2. I think that Clare will have too much for Limerick on Sunday but it will be crucial for Limerick that they keep going to secure a final place. Remember Clare topped Div 2 last year but Wexford turned them over in Thurles in the final to go up.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 11/02/2011 16:57:55    865589

They should promote the winner of Div 2 & relegate the bottom team in Div 1 but also have a promotion/relegation playoff between the Div 2 runners up & 2nd last team from Div 1.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 11/02/2011 18:19:55    865658

great to see limerick back.hurling needs it and hope your right slayer clare - limerick munster final.nows the time as waterford and cork are very poor.

yankee (Clare) - Posts: 134 - 11/02/2011 18:47:43    865677

Mikeynora is sometimes OTT but he is spot on here. This is more or less the same team that got hockeyed by Tipp by 24 points in Croke Park only 18 months ago and then failed to acknowledge their part in the fiasco thinking it was the managers fault. The same Limerick team that has failed since 2001.

I wouldn't be hoping for too much this year, to get out of division 2 will be difficult. Clare & Carlow are real contenders for this division too.
I'm not trying to be negative, I'm just stating where we are....a long long way from the mid 90's Limerick team.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1155 - 11/02/2011 19:58:41    865751

I'm sure like most hurling people I hope Limerick quickly become a competitive force quickly again. It is true to say that they have a long way to go to be back at the level of the mid ninties and (from a distance) it's hard to see how some long term hasn't been done last year but they do have one of the best managers in the country and they surely won't lack any motivation this year.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 12/02/2011 13:13:42    865922

BEst of luck to the limerick hurlers this year lads

12uniflu (Armagh) - Posts: 12 - 12/02/2011 15:06:06    865963

Absolutely hockeyed Clare.. Well done to the boys

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 14/02/2011 08:10:19    866983