Is Rugby now Ireland's 'National Game'?

patrique - sure the very essence of the GAA is a type of parochial racisism. It's what keeps it going.

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 16/02/2011 14:56:00    869136

not a chance

westmeath4sam (Westmeath) - Posts: 30 - 16/02/2011 17:19:31    869331

so rugby is part irish well that settles it then - this is regby country.

the gaa was formed under british rule so therefore the gaa is a british sport- that cant be denied- all the men you met in thurles were all british citizens of this there is no doubt

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 16/02/2011 17:59:48    869402

I always wondered why the rest of the lads didn't beat the head off Webb-Ellis when he picked the ball up and ran off with it.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 16/02/2011 18:32:19    869440

http://www.examiner.ie/sport/rugby/difficulties-may-force-carlow-rfc-to-close-doors-145425.html

Have a good read of it ballboy. Is Carlow rugby country?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 16/02/2011 18:59:22    869468

hill16no1man
haha let me guess who this guy supports how 1sided is it that all the munster guys are lovely lads
and the rest are to blame haha. limerick people tell me o gara is ignorant bloke that he want bother
to sign anything for kids while stringer is the complete oppisite he always signs for kids.
also u mentioned flannery being someone people can relate to so most people own 5or 6 pubs in there
own city like he does i doubt it
he and his family own 5 or 6 bars in limerick city,rugby in genreal whatever province you talk about

theres 6 flannery pubs in limerick but the rugby players family only own 1 of them. bull about rog. hes always signed anything ive given him and seen him sign everything a kid has handed him. yeah cork and limerick rugby fans hate each other. grow up you child

ormond_lad (Tipperary) - Posts: 3 - 09/03/2011 16:02:45    884675

deep__freeze
I hope not. If this is the case then its a disgrace. Ireland is unique in that it has the biggest amateur sports in the world and these are also the two most skillful sports in the world, whereas on a rugby pitch 8 out of the 15 players would be deemed obese by their local GP's, and the other 7 cant run fairly fast in a straight line. Terrible game, if the 6 nations weekend viewing was anything to go by anyway
has always been an upperclass sport even look at the match day ticket prices and an awful of bank employees get free tickets once a sport turns professional it looses its credibility as a person that people can relate to

how can you say forwards in rugby are obese, yeah at junior 3 or 4 level you will find some players fairly unfit which is the equivilent of a junior b or junior c gaa team.(and there isnt unfit players playing at that level)
upperclass sport.... usual gaa head up **** look at rugby. some of the oldest rugby clubs in the country are in nenagh, tipp town, so thats bull.
and bank employees dont get free tickets to croke park and other gaa games. you have your head in your ****

ormond_lad (Tipperary) - Posts: 3 - 09/03/2011 16:03:41    884678

ormond lad flannerys family do own all the pubs his father shared them among them also cork and limerick rugby supporters hate each other and they support the same team MUNSTER hmmmmm and your telling me to grow up

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/03/2011 11:25:54    886231

what are you on about hill 16 hate each other have you ever been to dolphin con or bruff game in your life you wouldnt hear as much as a bad word been spoken ... hate cop on eejit

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 11/03/2011 11:45:08    886262