Do people actually like rugby?

Hail!

As yee know, I'm out of the country, more's the pity, but I follow all the news from home. Looking at this forum, it's as if everyone is interested in rugby all of a sudden. Is this true? I can't ever remember people caring about a load of posh fellas from Dublin rolling around in the mud before, so is this just recent?

So will people just answer yes or no to the question, 'do people like rugby'. That will give a good idea of how popular the sport has become in Ireland. Tanx.

Hail Celtic! Hail Ireland!

HorseOutside (UK) - Posts: 398 - 03/02/2011 19:19:48    859770

Yes but I would say that the majority of people don't understand the rules. Rugby has some very complex rules which most people don't even realise exist. In a bar you always hear "Whose throw/kick is it now?" if the ball is kicked into touch, a penalty is awarded etc. Trying to explain the offside rule in rugby is a thesis in itself. Also one referee's interpretations of the rules are often very different to another's.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 03/02/2011 19:53:07    859804

HorseOutside:

Clearly don't know what your talking about since the ail was formed in 1991 1 dublin team has won it the rest have been munster and ulster teams... in fact 4 munster teams and 2 ulster teams.... remember too that ulster were the first irish provence to with the heineken cup and munster were next followed by leinster.

I can't ever remember people caring about a load of posh fellas from Dublin rolling around in the mud before, so is this just recent?

So it wasn't just the posh d4 heads playing it in fact it was the culchies there were actually playing and winning more!

Also before the heinken cup you had thousands going to club rugby games the final in the mid 90's attracted a crowd of around 38,000 not bad for a club game was it!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 03/02/2011 19:58:54    859808

Impossible to define the tackle in GAA but doesn't mean people don't enjoy the sports

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 03/02/2011 19:59:51    859809

'Trying to explain the offside rule in rugby is a thesis in itself.'

It really isn't. But I understand why you'd struggle with it

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 03/02/2011 20:06:57    859821

So basically Hag...what you're saying is that the AIL club 'supporters' have now become provincial 'supporters'. What will they 'support' next? Cricket? Bog snorkelling?

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 03/02/2011 20:19:15    859833

the sport of rugby is fine , its a pity the players of this country would stand up and demand their national anthem to be played they play for ireland , so they should show respect and stand and play the countries anthem , not irelands call , it would make you cringe , or get 15 players with pride of their country take over .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 03/02/2011 20:21:59    859836

Ta how is it fair to expect the Ulster players to stand for an anthem that doesn't represent them. They already have to at every home game, that in itself is very unfair. It should be completely neutral

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 03/02/2011 20:39:54    859855

Great game to both watch and play.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6182 - 03/02/2011 20:45:28    859857

pomeroyplunkett.
they represent the country of ireland , they wear the green jersey , why should they complain for the anthem , as i say and this concerns a lot of issues concerning the mentality of this country , it would not happen anywere else in the world , its our countries national anthem for gods sake , if they do not like , do not play for ireland , the national anthem should be played , like anyother anthem in the world , and the sportspeople that stand for it .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 03/02/2011 20:52:20    859861

Hail!

Your obviously not very patriotic Pomeroy if you don't think our players should be singing our anthem. As ta32 said, if they can't find 15 patriotic Irishmen to sing, then they should just go out and find replacements for the ones that won't sing.

Hail Ireland!

HorseOutside (UK) - Posts: 398 - 03/02/2011 20:55:00    859866

ta32

So God save the Queen to be played instead of Ireland's call?

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 03/02/2011 21:00:54    859873

ta32

859861 pomeroyplunkett.
they represent the country of ireland , they wear the green jersey , why should they complain for the anthem , as i say and this concerns a lot of issues concerning the mentality of this country , it would not happen anywere else in the world , its our countries national anthem for gods sake , if they do not like , do not play for ireland , the national anthem should be played , like anyother anthem in the world , and the sportspeople that stand for it .

Your obviously wearing your inclusivness/tolerance/liberal hat tonight.

will i defrost an aple tart

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 03/02/2011 21:02:57    859874

dhorse.
yes chief , and a latte to follow ;D.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 03/02/2011 21:10:14    859880

Yeah jaysus I love me aul rugby so I do and I couldn't give a toss if they played 'god save your one', 'around the field' or 'weile waile' before the game as long as I got the bloody thing.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/02/2011 21:10:34    859881

GALLINGLIZZIEWINDSOR.
would,nt you just love that , right up your street .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 03/02/2011 21:13:05    859884

Both songs should be played before home and away games. At the moment both are played before home games only. At away games the players neither walk out behind the tricolour or sing Amhran na bhFiann. The Four Proud Provinces is sung and the players walk out behind a flag that is only seen at away rugby matches. Not acceptable. As I said both songs should be sung home and away.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6182 - 03/02/2011 21:18:34    859891

Bizarre that some people are more interested about the songs they sing before the match than anything else. Couldn't care less what songs they sing.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 03/02/2011 21:24:08    859897

its simple really all or nothing , baseline of principle , you cannot run with the hare and the hound , the anthem should be played and stood for by people representing their country , its totally wrong that it is not . like everyother nation .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 03/02/2011 21:28:51    859902

Greengrass

Both songs should be played before home and away games. At the moment both are played before home games only. At away games the players neither walk out behind the tricolour or sing Amhran na bhFiann. The Four Proud Provinces is sung and the players walk out behind a flag that is only seen at away rugby matches. Not acceptable. As I said both songs should be sung home and away.

Ah sure look it, is it all that mumbo jumbo not just needless formalities, they should toss a coin to see which anthem is played before a match because its simple, fair, definitive and gets the match on quicker, easy :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/02/2011 21:29:42    859903