Dublin's biggest rivals?

kerrykerry

854327 Cork-they regard themselves as the True Capital

They also think Cork is a republic. Strange....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/01/2011 16:57:45    854332

if you are talking about who is the biggest threat it would be kildare but if you are talking about who we love beating the most of course it is that other shower up the n2

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 26/01/2011 17:17:50    854350

finglas full ba

854350 if you are talking about who is the biggest threat it would be kildare but if you are talking about who we love beating the most of course it is that other shower up the n2

Monaghan?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 26/01/2011 17:30:39    854361

Sky sports Super Sunday!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 26/01/2011 17:32:39    854366

Kildare as a footballing threat, Meath as the team the fans and players would probably like to beat the most, and would also hate losing to the most.

Back in the 70's or so though I would have said that our own rivalry with the Dubs was the biggest in the province, purely competitive on the field and good natured banter between the fans back then. Would put this ahead of the rivalry we'd have now with the likes of Laois and Westmeath.

wild_biffalo (Offaly) - Posts: 91 - 26/01/2011 17:33:16    854369

kerrykerry

854327 Cork-they regard themselves as the True Capital

Aww....bless!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/01/2011 17:42:06    854377

meath

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 26/01/2011 17:47:04    854381

mesAmis-i cant bring meself to say it.

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 26/01/2011 18:22:50    854404

liverpool

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 551 - 26/01/2011 18:32:49    854415

mikeoc

Leinster are dublin's biggest rivals. They're playing league games in croke park because they feel rugby is taking over.

HAHAHAHAHA
are you for real mate leinster pull in 15 thousand for there big matches the dubs pull in 82thousnad do the maths mate
its gas to hear a guy sitting on his farm in kerry how many miles away from dublin who complains about having to make too long a journey to croke park for 1 match a year but yet presumes to know what people in dublin attend more,worry about your own team getting a crowd,your just jeaous dublin have asupport base big enough to play in croke park and that the national league will actualy get some marketing were as most kerry people only market there team the month before a final

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/01/2011 18:48:04    854437

liathroidboy

lads its more like rugby has taken over- its what the public want :)

how is this true.irish rugby team got between 25 and 30 thousand for there internationals in autumn dublin footballers double that for there opening match in leinster championship how has rugby taking over then

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/01/2011 18:59:24    854451

i could'nt even tell you the rules of rugby and that would be the case for most of my family and friends.leinster/ rugby is by and large ignored in working class dublin.and i should know because i live there

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 26/01/2011 19:11:44    854462

its gas to hear a guy sitting on his farm in kerry how many miles away from dublin who complains about having to make too long a journey to croke park for 1 match a year but yet presumes to know what people in dublin attend more,worry about your own team getting a crowd,your just jeaous dublin have asupport base big enough to play in croke park and that the national league will actualy get some marketing were as most kerry people only market there team the month before a final

------------------

The reality is Leinster get far bigger crowds at their league games than Dublin. For the Heineken cup games, which would be the equivalent of the championsip Leinster can fill landsdowne road and sold out Croke park when using it. Leinster sold out their season tickets this season- 13,000. Dublin only sold a couple of hundred. GAA people shouldn't just stick their heads in the sand and pretend this isn't happening. The GAA need to start promoting the games.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4663 - 26/01/2011 19:25:49    854473

So Kildare are the biggest threat to them in Leinster?
I must have imagined that hockeying we gave the Dubs last year so.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 26/01/2011 19:38:16    854490

bad.monkey
County: USA

------------------

The reality is Leinster get far bigger crowds at their league games than Dublin. For the Heineken cup games, which would be the equivalent of the championsip Leinster can fill landsdowne road and sold out Croke park when using it. Leinster sold out their season tickets this season- 13,000. Dublin only sold a couple of hundred. GAA people shouldn't just stick their heads in the sand and pretend this isn't happening. The GAA need to start promoting the games.

hahaha are you for real dublin have filled parnell and we will see how much they get for croker they reckon 40thousand a game compared to leinsters 15thousand for magners and you obviosly have not visited croke park and the aviva as croker holds 82thousand and the aviva 50thousand so dublin filling croker is obviously more people attending dublins matches then leinsters,leinster filled croker once for the semi final of the european cup and only filled it coz they were playing munster in a novel game,dublin fill croker for most championship matches,also the pubs in dublin do be packed in the summer for dublins matches while when leinster play nobody on the northside would be intrested.dublin football is by far more supported then leinster rugby pal maybe u should actualy live in the county let alone country before you make comments on what people in my county attend more

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/01/2011 19:41:58    854492

Leinster, are part of a professional league and play a set schedule which is advertised daily in all facets of the media. Ah so are GAA games you say but the bottom line is the professional tag. Being professional adds much more to the aura, televised international matches in the Heineken Cup etc opens up a different avenus than what the GAA offer. Professionalism is the difference here and worldwide there is a bigger audience for rugby, that is unfortunate challenge the GAA face.

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 26/01/2011 19:51:34    854508

coillers eblo ,

Kildare hammered the proverbial ***** out of ye.

So imagine what they would have done to the Dubs.

So yeah Kildare are Dublin's biggest threat.

BallsMcQ (USA) - Posts: 941 - 26/01/2011 19:52:00    854509

Plenty of people from other Leinster counties attend Leinster matches so the comparison isn't valid, really is it? However the Dub county board have clearly referenced the success of Leinster when outlining why they are trying their approach to their home league games this year so there is something in it. Also I have to say that to state Dublin sell-out Croke Park for all matches simply isn't true even if these attendances are far bigger than any other county.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 26/01/2011 20:00:35    854521

BallsMcQ

coillers eblo ,

Kildare hammered the proverbial ***** out of ye.

So imagine what they would have done to the Dubs.

So yeah Kildare are Dublin's biggest threat.

And Louth beat Kildare who were beaten by Meath. Outclassed by Meath actually. Totally outclassed. That's why Meath are Leinster champions. After winning it in such stylish fashion.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 26/01/2011 20:03:44    854526

ostintime

Leinster, are part of a professional league and play a set schedule which is advertised daily in all facets of the media. Ah so are GAA games you say but the bottom line is the professional tag. Being professional adds much more to the aura, televised international matches in the Heineken Cup etc opens up a different avenus than what the GAA offer. Professionalism is the difference here and worldwide there is a bigger audience for rugby, that is unfortunate challenge the GAA face.

the fact of the matter is dublin pull in bigger crowds then leinster so i dont see why people are saying leinster have taken over it makes no sense
rugby is bigger in other countrys obviously because gaa is not played there but regardless of soccer rugby and any other sport being professional gaa is the biggest sport in ireland for people playing the game and for attendances.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/01/2011 20:05:34    854530