Six Nations........

"Sacrebleu"! a fait acopian !apres moi la deluge joie de vivre! je suis je reste allemagne dix points! au revoir.

LesBleus (UK) - Posts: 102 - 12/03/2011 16:59:13    887162

lesbleus ten points to germany..........why?

BufordTJustice (USA) - Posts: 669 - 12/03/2011 19:44:24    887240

Seriously when will people figure out that sexton is utterly useless simply is a lost rabbit in lights under pressure.

freetaker1 (Limerick) - Posts: 758 - 12/03/2011 21:27:11    887311

Seriously when will people figure out that O'Gara is utterly useless simply is a lost rabbit in lights under pressure?

His kicking in the first half gifted Wales 9 points and only for great defence when O'Gara twice found touch in his OWN 22, it could have been worse.

Ireland need to decide how they want to play, aimless poor kicking, or with ball in hand. Note that England now have Wilkinson on the bench, and wales are now starting Hook.

So if you want to play expansive rugby, you need Sexton, and STICK with him ignoring whinging Munster people.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/03/2011 21:40:06    887324

Agree with Pat here, Kidney hasnt decided which way we are going to play, we are neither expansive nor kicking for territory, rather a strange hybrid of the two which is simply not working. You can see the on-field confusion at times and that goes some way to explaining the indecision and indiscipline, we should have won yesterday, we had more attacking options and positions and f****d them all up!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/03/2011 08:24:52    887346

Spoken as if it was from the back pages of the Daily mail. The BCC.co.uk where shocked that O'Gara was taken off, how many times has sexton missed kicks right in front of the posts??. He bottled it yesterday and he will do it again and again. Sexton has done nothing not a thing to deserve the pats he gets from certain people.

freetaker1 (Limerick) - Posts: 758 - 13/03/2011 14:38:38    887495

Here's one for you lads! Martin Johnsons lack of respect to the Head of state Mary McAleese. Known for his strong leadership and no-nonsense approach to the game, 2003 World Cup winning Captain of England Martin Johnson was often perceived as the bad guy by the opposition.

Never more so than at Landsdowne Road five years ago when shortly before kick-off against Ireland, Johnson broke protocol by refusing to move to the red carpet parade area, resulting in President of Ireland, Mary McAleese, having to walk across the uncovered grass to him instead.

or Ronan O'Gara and the Queen

There's been a lot of talk about whether Ronan O'Gara was disrespectful to the Queen on her recent visit to Hillsborough Castle.

The Irish Times photo implies that he slouched with his hands in his pockets. It does seem like an odd way to stand when meeting a Head of State. Keeping both hands in one's pockets doesn't come that naturally (except, perhaps, to men who play a game with odd shaped balls).

The photo also implies that O'Driscoll is somewhat distressed by the whole situation.

Am with RO'G on this one after all HMTQ was in Ireland.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/03/2011 20:58:55    887856

Jonny Sexton should be nowhere near an Ireland jersey next Saturday. The decision why O'Gara was taken off is a confusing one, even if it was pre-arranged due to the type of game it was was.

Also we did not deserve to win at all, but we were fiddled out of it completely. I mean jesus christ almighty how the touch judge said there was no bother with the try, ridiculous. We were awful though and that should no way mask over the performance.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 14/03/2011 09:59:28    887999

Who was the Irish player who lost the ball in the tackle in the last phase against wales lads? need to know!!

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 14/03/2011 10:35:09    888034

Re the last two Johnny Sexton comments:

Very dubious decision by Kidney timing wise but let's not be short-sighted here. He is very important to Ireland as ROG has a habit of dropping off (energy levels) in matches. In a WC year, your comments are kind of ridiculous to say the least and you either don't know or remember what happened with David Humphries in the last WC?

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 14/03/2011 10:38:46    888039

Rhodejim
County: Offaly

888034 Who was the Irish player who lost the ball in the tackle in the last phase against wales lads? need to know!!

Cian Healy i think.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12372 - 14/03/2011 10:45:47    888045

Con, i know the importance of two kickers, and to be fair i'm still pretty sore about the Wales match. It's a game we could/should have won and mistakes from a lad who i don't believe should have been on the pitch at that stage in the match have infuriated me.

As i have said before, if Sexton payed for Ireland like he does for Leinster we would have no problem. I like the guy, he's played some great stuff for Ireland and Leinster in the past, but Saturday was rotten.

I hope he proves me wrong because on the way Kidney has been selecting the teams he'll probably start on Saturday.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 14/03/2011 10:50:34    888054

What exactly was so bad about Sexton at the weekend? He kicked the first ball he got out on the full, not ideal but he was only in to the game. Stringer kicked one out on the full as well, I suppose he has been a complete failure?

Sexton missed the penalty as well, fair enough, I'd imagine nobodys more disappointed about that than the man himself. O'Gara wasn't exactly masterful with his kicking either. He has missed penalties in this tournament too.

Lay off the man for christs sake. I suppose if somebody else like Humphries gets a chance, the same cranks will slate him for not being ROG as well.

Too many begrudgers and critics involved in following Irish sport. Grow up will ye?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12372 - 14/03/2011 11:02:10    888072

Dont think so Breff, pretty sure it was a sub. any one else?

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 14/03/2011 11:09:00    888081

Dont think so Breff, pretty sure it was a sub. any one else?

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 14/03/2011 11:10:08    888083

Fair enough Breff. Maybe we've been spoilt with O'Gara.

I'm only being overly critical because the lad has played so well for Leinster and i just can't understand why it's not working out in an Ireland jersey. That doesn't mean i won't be roaring him on on Saturday though if he is selected.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 14/03/2011 11:18:55    888094

Cian Healy lost the ball at the end. Some people are too hard on Sexton unfortunately I cannot defend him this time. He was handed a chance to close out a game, he choked badly.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 14/03/2011 11:24:50    888101

I rate Sexton but you can't defend the indefensible. He was shocking at the weekend and came on far too early

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 14/03/2011 11:42:29    888132

Rhodejim
County: Offaly

888081 Dont think so Breff, pretty sure it was a sub. any one else?

Paddy Wallace was the sub that spurned the overlap in the last play, the ball wasn't lost then though, it was recycled and Healy knocked on.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12372 - 14/03/2011 11:45:54    888136

fair enough breff.

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 14/03/2011 12:19:44    888187