Air Lingus staff removed from payroll

Right??

So this definition of a strike is wrong then.
"A work stoppage undertaken in support of a bargaining position or in protest of some aspect of a previous agreement or proposed agreement between labor and management."

I don't know pat but when people picket outside for a strike or a "work stoppage for a defined period of time" which people will do for both. I can see the cries of "We On a work stoppage for a defined period of time" being as catchie as "We'er on strike". But I supposed there are other ways to picket one of the best ways lately in the republic was to go to newry shopping on their "Work stoppage for a defined period of time"

Your a man I think that likes to think he outlines things as black and white you disregard definitions of neoliberalism and social democracy and just like to call people capitalists or socialists there seem to be no middle ground, yet you can't call a strike a strike and refer it it as a "work stoppage for a non defined period of time right" they are both industrial action.

Also in regards social democracy we already had this discussion social demoracy really was founded by Eduard Bernstein who was from a marxist background and moved to embrace capitalism in an attempt to reform it giving trying to give it a more an edge of social justice.... capitalism dosen't need socialism to make money (which capitalism really dose) it was the socialists that embraced it and coined the definition of social democracy.

But I suppose like everything else on this forum (been on for a good 10 years) there's no way you could be wrong about anything.

Saying that I'm a little disappointed with the education I'm receiving and have received in this area obiously it is all rubbish and brain washing according to pat, which is surprising really when it is taught by academics in the public sector which are members of unions.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 29/01/2011 09:23:18    856192

union are to organisations what cancer is to the human race- untreated both will eat away until there is nothing left!

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 29/01/2011 12:18:59    856257

"Saying that I'm a little disappointed with the education I'm receiving and have received in this area obiously it is all rubbish and brain washing according to pat, which is surprising really when it is taught by academics in the public sector which are members of unions."

Granted I have my views on unions which I'm allowed have and I tried to back up my Idea's on them I'm not totally aginst unions the scandanivian model seem to work but unions in ireland don;t work in the same way. To disregard definitions such as social democray and neoliberism as the middle ground is wrong in this context it's too complicated to just call something Socialist or Capitalist or a little more socialist than capitialist their needs to be a definition of what takes up this middle ground, and to coin social democray as just mearly socialism is wrong it's a blend between both.

Marx thought that socialism would take over from capitalism as capitalism too over from fedualism well the modern way of thinking is that this can not happen due to factors such as a free market and globalization which are capitalist in nature their needs to be a blend between both as I've said earlier Capitalism with a bit more social justice or the other way around depending on the way you see it and Social democray and neo-liberalism occupies this middle ground weither leaning to more left wing or right wing. You can't just define it as merely socialist or capitalist.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 29/01/2011 13:16:39    856284

Marx never had a thought in his life. He stole most of his ideas from an Irish landlord, William Thompson from Cork, and Engels did the rest.

A strike was something you called to resolve an issue. You returned to work when you had won or lost. A planned, limited stoppage, is a protest.

And MOST education is provided by the state and the state insist on teaching you their viewpoint.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 29/01/2011 18:13:49    856423

its high time the cancer was treated- people must be cleansed of their sickness

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 29/01/2011 18:34:32    856439

Marx never had a thought in his life. He stole most of his ideas from an Irish landlord, William Thompson from Cork, and Engels did the rest.

What has that got to do with what I said above??

A strike was something you called to resolve an issue. You returned to work when you had won or lost. A planned, limited stoppage, is a protest.

So is a protest not also used to resolve issues... your talking in riddles now.....

And MOST education is provided by the state and the state insist on teaching you their viewpoint.

So education is useless then and this is comming from a man that boasts about all the degree's and masters he has.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 30/01/2011 16:06:11    856765

Pat:

Tis funny that the trade union that was involved in "The work stoppage for for a defined period of time" define it as a strike!!!! Maybe you should contact your union brothers in the south and inform them of their mistake..... cause everyone knows you couldn't be wrong now could you.

http://www.impact.ie/iopen24/impact-propose-hour-public-service-strike-n-280.html

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 30/01/2011 16:19:17    856777

ooops like they have the definition wrong in the u.k too.

From the trade union congress website:
Over 2,000 UNISON members in Sefton Council were on strike for 3 days over the continued suspension of their 2 Branch Officers Nigel Flanagan and Paul Summers.

3 days is that not a "work stoppage for a defined period of time"
http://www.tuc.org.uk/industrial/tuc-10594-f0.cfm?regional=5

I think you need to put a lot of people straight. also would the council be public servants yet you said their hasn't been strikes in the u.k in 26 years?? Sorry my lesser intelligence can't really work it out maybe a genious such as yourself can't explain it in more simple terms for me.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 30/01/2011 16:27:47    856783

Dam it here's another one

http://www.tuc.org.uk/industrial/tuc-10370-f0.cfm?regional=5

work stoppage for a defined period of time define as a strike, just helping a bit there's a lot of typo's to fix maybe start with the TUC website...... anyways glad to lead any help i can.

Unfortunately if you go on the site and do a search for strike you get around 20,000 results I'm afraid I can go through them all for you.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 30/01/2011 16:44:25    856792

300 off the payroll now- this is beautiful, fair play aer lingus the entire countries future could be decided on how this goes- crush theose communists their roles who be filled in an hour that is their worth!

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 31/01/2011 09:48:55    857132

patrique:

So are we agreed you had the wrong definition of a strike and that the was strikes in the u.k in the last 26 years.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 31/01/2011 16:35:05    857518

Well now liathroidboy you must be very angry at the moment !!
The dispute seems to be settled with all staff restored to their jobs and the meal break and rosters disagreement sorted out. Flights to resume as normal !!

This was done by TALKING which is something you did not want !! It had to happen and there was no need for the suspensions at all !! All they had to do was TALK !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/02/2011 11:01:07    860078

no cavan it was done by scaremongering and holding a country to ramsom! they are getting their sambo and cuppa- which they were getting anyway... they made a load of noise and what has happened they go back to work with 3 weeks less pay and do exactly what they were supposed to do. it was just communists making noise to justify their existence- the organisation conceeded absolutely nothing, if thats a victory for the communists ye are 100% welcome to it :D this has set excellent precedence for others to follow- cut them from the pay roll, sit back let them sweat, enter 'talks' stay there for a while conceed absolutely nothing and walk away with the unions thinking they have gained something so they can continue to justify their pathetic existence! These lazy people are oficially removed themselves from any promotion opportunity for the remander of their careers at aer lingus- this makes me very very happy. score at full time is aerlingus 1 communists 0. if thats a victory cavan you are completely welcome to it and i suggest you get a t shirt printed saying such :)

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 04/02/2011 11:33:43    860116

Read it liathroidboy and don't deny it - the organisation sorted out the rosters and meal breaks !!
The workers lost wages and the organisation lost big money hiring planes from Ryanair and others !!
They should have talked at the start !!

As B.T. used to say " ITS GOOD TO TALK " !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/02/2011 14:11:54    860265

oh i do fel sorry for you cavan i really do- rosters and meals were covered in the origional agreement and now are being implimented- the company made absolutely no concessions- if they did please inform me?

I actually loved this strike, im in rome for the 6N booked my usual business class ticket to rome. Aer Lingus used a hired in plane (Monarch airways) with no business class so they refunded my ticket so i flew for free, yet i still have the origional reciept so i can claim that back against tax- so basically overall i will make a handsome profit from my trip to rome for a supposed business meeting :)

between my situationa and airlingus- this has being a great win for capitalism, we have certainly turned a corner against the communists, we must continue the push and cleanes them of their cancerous minds or simply just eradicate them

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 05/02/2011 10:06:48    860789

05/02/2011 10:06:48
liathroidboy

I actually loved this strike, im in rome for the 6N booked my usual business class ticket to rome. Aer Lingus used a hired in plane (Monarch airways) with no business class so they refunded my ticket so i flew for free, yet i still have the origional reciept so i can claim that back against tax- so basically overall i will make a handsome profit from my trip to rome for a supposed business meeting :)
You can pay for access to a business lounge -which gives you a free coffee and wifi but the days of a front seat with elbow room and a free half bottle of champagne area are no more unless you fly British Airways or Cityjet or you fly transatlantic with Aer Lingus.

Maybe there is a match weekend special chartered by some sports package company - but you did say my "usual Business Class seat"

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 05/02/2011 11:32:56    860827

oh dear god it gets worse on here... there is more than one airline in the world... im on a freebie and that is all that matters

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 05/02/2011 12:47:21    860856

Caught out yet again !! have you no shame !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 05/02/2011 13:54:30    860887

05/02/2011 12:47:21
liathroidboy

860856 oh dear god it gets worse on here... there is more than one airline in the world... im on a freebie and that is all that matters

A week in Santa Ponsa - walking around with a straw hat sunburned ears and a pair of GAA socks looking for an Irish bar

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 05/02/2011 16:23:48    860988

ah lads ye are funny to say the least- do your lives revolve around trying to somehow catch me me out- must try harder folks because yet again ye have miserably failed- celebrating an irish win with a bottle of champers :)

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 05/02/2011 16:44:30    861008