Why do people dislike Tipperary?

Supermacs88:

I posted a reply to you but did seem to get through.

To shorten it I good tipp for galway hurling people bar some things they have to keep bringing up.... but Galway won't be hiding in the long grass I think portumna getting beaten this year will be a blessing in disguise for you and if they can get a level of consistancy need to be in the mix.

I think the reason why my last post didn't get throught is that I used a silvie quote which outline what Galway had a few of on the team of his day.... silvie was never very P.C

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/01/2011 21:28:59    853089

What are you on about Hag?

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 25/01/2011 12:57:59    853315

ochonlir:

It's called hurling, you've proved already you don't know anything about it!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/01/2011 15:46:46    853492

Yep supermacs that's what it's all about. The last two tipp vs Galway matches were extremely exciting tussles.

I think Galway are a great shout to win the all-Ireland this year. If Kavanagh and Collins were playing against Waterford in 09 ye would have met us in the semi final. Also last years match was another tight defeat but I think mcintyre has made progress. Tony og regan has said recently he is looking forward to giving this year a right old go.

Hag's right no portumna in the club is a good thing cos canning needs a break to sort out some niggling injuries.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 25/01/2011 19:19:34    853728

25/01/2011 19:19:34
Killarney.87
County: Tipperary

Also last years match was another tight defeat

It was indeed.

And last year Cork creamed tipperary, and then beat Antrim by 6, but Antrim have improved.

So this year it should be between the big three, Galway, Antrim and Cork.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 25/01/2011 20:38:13    853808

But the kilkenny beat Cork by 12 and Tipp beat kilkenny 8 .... Do you have a formula for calculating that patrique my head hurts trying to figure it out ;)

who should i put my life savings on??

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/01/2011 15:16:37    854225

HAG_AND_CHEESE

Why 'argue' anything with him? He's an internet troll. The commonly held view is that Tipp were the best hurling team in 2010. Patrique is basing everything on Cork beating Tipperary in the Munster championship. From there he is able to put together a series of statement that resemble an argument but show all the characteristics of an internet troll.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 26/01/2011 15:21:10    854230

slayer:

Sure we all know that... I'm only having the craic with him...... He picks his favourites like a game of Top Trumps.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/01/2011 15:28:14    854240

Supermac ye will be very hard to beat this year and I do fear if we meet ye in the knockout stages of the championship this year if we make it that far (don't want Pat to be calling us arrogant again). That defeat last year hurt ye a lot as showed by the scenes afterwards. Ye were hurt and that hurt could mean a lot between 2 teams who there is very little between. Anyways lads let's start looking forward to another year in hurling. As far as Tipperary arrogance we have very little to be arrogant about we have been in the doldrums for years, had a great year last year but it pails in significance compared to other counties in the recent past. Kk and Cork dominated inter county hurling for the past decade, Portumna have been a mainstay in club hurling and there have been some great wins for other counties in the club championship also. Clare have a good underage structure set up too now as shown with their recent performances at the minor and u-21 grade. Antrim have made great strides too, with Mr Watson showing himself to be a class act. Offaly were very unlucky to lose to Galway too, again they have another class act in Shane Dooley. Tipp had a great year and we thoroughly enjoyed our win, but we are not arrogant not anymore anyway. Its a new year now, time to start all over again

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 26/01/2011 16:25:30    854292

Top Trumps?. It's interesting that you would use that as a basis for comparison.

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 26/01/2011 17:12:20    854343

Arrogance..what arrogance ha ha ha LOL!

I hope ye are right about Galway but if there is one thing that I have learnt is never to get too confident following Galway Hurling because every time we are expected to win we lose so im not going to be blowing my trumpet just yet.
Looking back on last year the Tipp v Galway was a cracking match and I believe that Tipp turned a corner and drove on and won the All-Ireland from there and fair play to them for showing the metal to win Liam something that we could learn from in Galway!!

Shane Kavanagh is a huge loss and lets hope John Lee can fill the No 3 shirt this ))--0ów u12[j3[h 3y9u 3f2hul so watch out for John Lee at Full Back.
Our biggest problem is we dont have a half forward Line good enough to win an All-Ireland with, we have no natural centre forward in the county(Joseph Cooney is a little young yet)

Supermacs88 (Galway) - Posts: 248 - 26/01/2011 18:24:02    854405

That message didnt come out too well.

Anyway, Still feel we need to shape up a bit in a few key areas.

Kilkenny still feel that thay will retain Liam(hope iam wrong)
Tipp, will be interesting to see how their new management settle in with the team.
Cork maybe in transitional period but still very dangerous to write them off.
I was very impressed with Offaly last year, will be a serious test for any team.
Limerick hard to actually say exactly where they are at the moment.
Dublin, big step back for them last year losing to Antrim but should be able to push forward this year.
Clare are young and hungry but maybe need a couple of years to mature fully.
Waterford could be a serious Danger for anyone even though Davy Fitz is there.
Wexford were bad last year and will need to seriously start becoming competitive once again.

Supermacs88 (Galway) - Posts: 248 - 26/01/2011 19:20:04    854470

ochonlir:

"Top Trumps?. It's interesting that you would use that as a basis for comparison."
??????????????????????????
You've lost it lad what are you on about!

Supermacs88:
Galway just have to make 1 break through..... it's a mental thing with galway teams, they had tipp for the taking last year but couldn't push over the line. Was the same with kilkenny a few years ago when they had the beating of the only for I think it was two eddie breannan goals in the dying minutes.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/01/2011 19:37:40    854489

26/01/2011 15:16:37
HAG_AND_CHEESE

But the kilkenny beat Cork by 12 and Tipp beat kilkenny 8 .... Do you have a formula for calculating that patrique my head hurts trying to figure it out ;)

who should i put my life savings on??

You already know the answer to that.

If your life depended on it, go for the good, hungry team.

That gives a choice of two, Galway and Kilkenny.

But if it is your life and life savings, go for the proven winner.

Kilkenny.

Their modesty will get them over the line.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 26/01/2011 20:24:15    854554

Thanks for the Pat, I wouldn't want my heart ruling my head now would I.

Being a student I have 50 euro to put on it so I'm thinking Galway would be better odds..... it's either that or set up a sandwich stand, not sure which would give me the best return!!! Since you know everything could you help me out on this.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/01/2011 20:56:05    854592

Its a good thing Pat was there to sort that out for you Hag, whatever would we do without him.
Supermac John Lee is a top notch hurler one the best centre backs I have seen in a while, would you move him to full? I've listened to a lot of talk too after last year about Joe Canning and without question he is a phenomenal hurler, when you think about how young he is and how much hurling he has played it is a blessing in disguise that Portumna are out of the club. He will be fresh and injury free this year that is a scary thought. I agree with Pat that Galway and kk will be the teams to beat this year, Declan Ryan has a tough job in following in Liam Sheedys footsteps so there is question marks there.

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 27/01/2011 19:53:35    855281

26/01/2011 20:56:05
HAG_AND_CHEESE

Thanks for the Pat, I wouldn't want my heart ruling my head now would I.

Being a student I have 50 euro to put on it so I'm thinking Galway would be better odds.

That's why you never meet a poor bookie. Galway are better odds for a reason.

They have less chance.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 27/01/2011 20:19:14    855325

tipptothetop:

What can we say but we lucky to have such a poster that knows everything about everything!!! I almost feel embaressed that we won an all-ireland last year I celebrated the fact that I thought we deserved it but pat has put me straight in the fact that we were very very lucky, and also because cork beat us in the first round they really are the true all-ireland champions.

I suppose you can only live and learn and I really have to face the truth that I don't know anything.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 27/01/2011 21:08:21    855404

If I was a Tipp fan I would be anxious to see just how Declan Ryan and his back-room team settle in to their new roles in the coming year but I honestly get the gut feeling that its the best way Forward for Tipp as it will give a Freshness to their set-up in training and preperation for 2011 because I think Liam Sheedy could do no more with them after winning the All-Ireland last year (when Donal OG Grady left Cork, John Allen did well with a bit of freshness in the Cork set up and they won back-to-back All-Irelands) now its all about continuing on were they left off last year and sometimes that bring serious pressure with it but they should have no problem dealing with it but time will tell..P.S Good to see James Woodlock back from Injury aswell.

John Lee played Full Back a few times in last years Fitzgibbon Cup for NUIG and really looked like a Nartural position for him and He cleaned Joe Canning when he marked him in the Semi-Final against LIT and thats no easy thing to do.
I did feel watching JC last year that he was burnt out and his hunger might have deserted him a little but yet the supply of ball going into him was poor all year but hopefully he will have huge year in him this year and the rest might do him a world of good!

Supermacs88 (Galway) - Posts: 248 - 27/01/2011 21:47:43    855463

Supermacs88:

The thing is that Declan Ryan and Tommy Dunne has worked with most of these players at u21 and minor before so they have a relationship with them.... they've played with a few of the older lads aswell.... I think it the best possible replacement we could have got for Liam sheedy if it works out we'll see.... but you won't mind us being a bit optimistic (not arrogant now) would you.

John Lee is a fantastic hurler in my mind the best center back in the country over the last few years but if he can fill the mantel for ye at full back then he's needed there bit of a bogie position for ye for a while now.... that's the way in hurling if you can have the strenght up the middle of the park you can build a team around that. It's hard to tell with joe we was carrying a few knocks last year too and didn't look fully fit.... in fairness the man needs a bit of a brake from the game he's playing it all year around.... most players will get a brake when their clubs are knocked out joe dosen't get that luxury most years.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 27/01/2011 22:02:14    855483