Why do people dislike Tipperary?

blackcat

women troubles in college methinks

Tipp lass?

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 22/01/2011 17:50:02    851792

no unfortunately i never had da pleasure of going out wit 1 of dem. id say ive missed out big time?

Blackcat (Galway) - Posts: 132 - 22/01/2011 19:28:20    851863

patrique

As a matter of fact I do support United.Anyway You have a chip on your back from 89.Listen Move on we hammered ye fair and square get over it

bigman2 (Tipperary) - Posts: 1202 - 22/01/2011 20:12:21    851882

22/01/2011 20:12:21
bigman2
County: Tipperary

patrique

As a matter of fact I do support United.Anyway You have a chip on your back from 89.Listen Move on we hammered ye fair and square get over it

The sheer unadulterated arrogance of some Tipperary people means they cannot begin to fathom the underlying ethos of the GAA.

1989 will NEVER be forgotten by Antrim people because such magnificent success rarely arrives in the county. That success in that great year is akin to Tipperary reaching say the Super Bowl final which is hardly likely to happen.

1943 when the county also reached the final beating Galway and Tipp probably surpasses it, although 1971 when Antrim won the vocational schools title beating the all conquering North Tipperary by double scores, a Tipp side that was going for something like 10 in a row. Our school also won the B division colleges title that year, so in terms of winning major trophies that was as good as it gets.

And winning the Walsh Cup a few years ago will remain with those present forever.

So as you can see for a county like Antrim, miles and miles from the hurling strongholds and completely isolated, the magnificent feats in 1989 will always be cherished and those players will be able to dine out on it for years. Did I say it would be akin to Tipp winning the super bowl? Make that the Olympic Ice Hockey or downhill skiing titles. For a county like Antrim 1989 will always be an inspiration.

Now, only someone as arrogant as a Tipperary person would be unable to understand that.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 22/01/2011 21:40:54    851928

Patrique. You got to the final in 89 due to a crap system meaning you only had to meet Offaly who weren't at it that day due to a recent tragedy in the camp. Effectively you beat no one that year and Tipp were lucky enough to have you lot in a final and hammered ye. If your not good enough accept it and try not blame the county that showed you your true level.

I'd say your a well balanced man with a chip on both shoulders.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 23/01/2011 12:10:08    851972

23/01/2011 12:10:08
derfil1

Patrique. You got to the final in 89 due to a crap system meaning you only had to meet Offaly who weren't at it that day due to a recent tragedy in the camp. Effectively you beat no one that year

Kildare. We beat Kildare that year.

Hah,hah,hah, hah, hah, hah, hah, hah.

And I would NOT be arrogant enough to run down Kildare.

I would rubbish an Offaly team containing Brian Whelahan, Coughlin and a few Dooleys, but never Kildare.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 23/01/2011 13:57:25    852034

hag & cheese, uve over 4,000 posts...thats impressive?? wil u get a life man.

Blackcat (Galway) - Posts: 132 - 23/01/2011 14:26:58    852043

Listen Patrique ypu need to get a grip. Tipperary is the home of the GAA. Us Tipp folk are proud and honoured to live in this great County. It's not our fault we've had our fair share of success down through the years. We have given an awful lot to the GAA as Christy Ring once said "The Gaa is only half dressed without Tipp"
Never, ever forget that!

premierapple (Tipperary) - Posts: 3 - 23/01/2011 14:37:34    852048

Blackcat:

Whats your point I've been on this forum for years.... you have anything better to add??

There's some lads on here with 3 times the number of post i have should they get a life too.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 23/01/2011 14:54:18    852055

Blackcat:

Whats your point I've been on this forum for years.... you have anything better to add??

There's some lads on here with 3 times the number of post i have should they get a life too.

LOGICALLY!!

Blackcat (Galway) - Posts: 132 - 23/01/2011 16:19:01    852102

23/01/2011 14:37:34
premierapple
County: Tipperary

Listen Patrique ypu need to get a grip. Tipperary is the home of the GAA.

I see the arrogance is NOT going away.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 23/01/2011 16:41:06    852116

Well it has nothing to do with your post count but maybe you should get a life too....

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 23/01/2011 17:40:51    852167

Just to relate that back in the 1970s I played with a Tipp lad at Queen's, great lad, not a bad player.

In Manchester the mainstay of our team were three brothers from Tipp, Martin, Michael and Tommy Brennan. Great lads again, and Tommy was a wonderful, insightful player. He played in the all Ireland minor finals in 1961 and 62, and was on the Tipp team that won the first U21 championship in 1964.

and not a bit of the old Tipp arrogance with Tommy. When asked the best he played with, he did not mention Babs, or Mick Roche or Francis Loughnane from that U21 team, but gave the accolade to me.

But his two brothers?arrogant as could be, claiming they won us the county championship on their own, despite the fact that we had TWO Andersonstown lads in the team............................

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 24/01/2011 20:11:16    852968

patrique:

Fair man to blow your own trumpet there pat.... give us an ould tune!!

Who asked him the best player he played with??? It wasn't you by any chance??

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/01/2011 20:26:45    852993

Pat,

no matter what you say and how you phrase it a certain poster will miss the point by a mile.

Co-incedentially he happens to be from Tipp, pity he has decided to argue for Tipp, as the original argument is laughable most people would disregard it,, until a confused little tipp man entered the fray to befuddle everybody. All he needs now is gig and slayer to join him.

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 24/01/2011 20:40:49    853013

ochonlir:

See like cavan gaa you know nothing about Tipperary Gaa if you took the time to read my posts at the start you would see that I admit that tipp used to be arrogant but over the last 40 years have not reason to be arrogant and that the tipperary arrogance has demished to a degree.

I was pointing out the most of Patriques examples where given in a time where tipp were winning all-ireland so natuarally enough they were arrogant and in fairness when they were they had good reason to be.

"until a confused little tipp man entered the fray to befuddle everybody"
I think that is you my man when did you come on this thread was it to discuss anything about tipperary hurling or tipperary, nope it was to take pop short at people yet again.... back in you box please.

I was pointing out also that patrique dose have a high degree of arrogance (I'd say he'd admit that himself) which is a bit hypocritical when that what he having a go at tipperary for.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/01/2011 20:50:01    853024

Temper the anger hag and you'll make more sense, notice how I didn't reger to your earlier posts just then, as the invariably are meaningless why would I?

pat is good at infusing posts with humour but that's something that you are not up to speed with just at the moment, deep breaths!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 24/01/2011 20:55:44    853033

Lads I think ye are kinda losing the run of yourselves..

In every county regardless of who they are, do have their own share of arrogant supporters, Galway, Tipp, Cork, Wateford, Kilkenny etc..all have them.
Tipp are All-Ireland Champions so they kinda do deserve to be a little arrogant.

I love talking about Hurling to Tipp people because they do have a genuine passion and understanding for the game.

Looking forward to our clashes with them this year, "Passion and Rivalry" at its very best!!
But the long grass awaits in the summer!

Supermacs88 (Galway) - Posts: 248 - 24/01/2011 21:01:26    853043

ochonlir:

"Temper the anger hag and you'll make more sense"

Not at all lad, you still have be giggling away to myself here.

as the invariably are meaningless why would I?
So posts discussing Tipperary gaa are meaningless on this thread right funny that I was certain that it was in the thread title..... what have you added.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/01/2011 21:13:35    853062

Supermacs88:

I posted a reply to you but did seem to get through.

To shorten it I good tipp for galway hurling people bar some things they have to keep bringing up.... but Galway won't be hiding in the long grass I think portumna getting beaten this year will be a blessing in disguise for you and if they can get a level of consistancy need to be in the mix.

I think the reason why my last post didn't get throught is that I used a silvie quote which outline what Galway had a few of on the team of his day.... silvie was never very P.C

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/01/2011 21:26:53    853085