Why do people dislike Tipperary?

moddy91
County: Tipperary

I hope you feel more loved, wanted and cherished after all this.

There's a lot of love out there.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 12/01/2011 17:52:52    844978

12/01/2011 14:43:30
gigoer
County: Wexford

Aw come on Ulsterman & Patrique, let the past go, just look at the improvement in both football & hurling that Antrim

What has Antrim got to do with this thread.

As I already said THREE TIMES

Come on KILKENNY. UP THE CATS.

hopefully you can read this and ask someone what it means.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/01/2011 18:22:50    845013

Maybe you should read some of your own posts Pat, what has kk got to with Tipp arrogance???? You need to build a bridge and get over it, the Tipp support of today is alot different to the support that you encountered all those years ago. Your hatred for Tipp shows how simple a person you really are because a person, the person you like to portray of being knowledgable and educated would have learned how to deal with it by now.

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 12/01/2011 19:43:03    845087

patrique

845013 12/01/2011 14:43:30
gigoer
County: Wexford

Aw come on Ulsterman & Patrique, let the past go, just look at the improvement in both football & hurling that Antrim

What has Antrim got to do with this thread.

patrique

Arrogance. After the 1989 final I was in the pub with hundreds of Tipp fans, and they didn't even acknowledge that Antrim played hurling.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 12/01/2011 20:19:57    845125

Now hurling fans will understand the following.

In Antrim, many people love hurling, indeed in the Glens it is the number one sport, with many clubs hurling only.

Now the chance of Antrim winning an all Ireland while completely removed from the strongholds of the game, or while most of the other Ulster counties ignore the game, is nil. Not an earthly. every 50 years or so they might get a squad together for a few years and reach a final.

To compensate and because they love the sport, many Antrim followers "adopt" another county, just like say Irish people following a premiership soccer club. Many Antrim [people travel to the Munster final, the Leinster final and all Ireland final, so if they "support" someone it adds to the interest.

When I was introduced to the sport in Andersonstown aged 5 the two neighbour lads supported....Limerick. Obviously their dad had grown up during the great Limerick side of the 1930s. The first final I went to in 1963 had a team in black and amber. My school wore black and amber, and God forgive me I have fervently supported Kilkenny ever since. I should be supporting Wexford (who have provided me with some great moments) or Galway or such, but once a cat.......

A few years ago when the GAA launched their fan of the year award an Antrim man I know for years made the final....for supporting Cork hurlers all over the place. I know people who shout for Kilkenny, Limerick, Waterford, wexford and so on.

The ONLY Tipp fan among all of these was Mickey Darragh who played football for Antrim for years. Mickey came along at the tail end of Tipp's great era and was a great Jimmy Doyle fan.

And naturally he was....arrogant.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/01/2011 20:43:34    845147

Sucker punch from tipptothetop. Looking forward to Pat's reply to this one.

We should be talking about growing the game of hurling instead of this. If a group of American soldiers can decide to play hurling and form a team from watching a match at Shannon airport then why can't we get cavan to play hurling?

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 12/01/2011 20:51:37    845160

tipptothetop

, the person you like to portray of being knowledgable and educated

Gosh. Is that how I appear to you???????? And you don't even know me????

I am embarrassed. I didn't mean for that to come across..........

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/01/2011 21:36:40    845218

Hag, I never used the word arrogance once in my posts. As for the dark side comment, don't take it too seriously. In fact don't take it seriously at all (Admin can we have emoticons here next year ?) By the way did you know Babs was our manager too one time ? The current incumbent also hails form Tipp. Despite that we think he's still a dacent lad.
Getting back to the orignal topic another theory on why Tipp are the county lots of other hurling followers want to see beaten is a geographical one. Tipperary borders more hurling counties than any other. Eight by my count (Plus the air corridoor between the north riding and the glens of Antrim). Ye don't want the neighbours to get too full of themselves.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1066 - 13/01/2011 09:39:30    845284

Patrique:

As much I like your accounts of hurling over the years but from what I can see your living in the past (something you've in common with the arrogant tipp supporters) you don't like tipp because of what went on in the 60's we get it.

A few years ago when the GAA launched their fan of the year award an Antrim man I know for years made the final....for supporting Cork hurlers all over the place.

This wouldn't the same fellow I has the misfortune to meet at the tipp cork game this year well if it is i wouldn't count him as a hurling fan the way he acted.... the 2 mates he had with him yes they were decent fans.... probably the same fellow he claims to be one of sean og's bezzie mates!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 13/01/2011 12:29:27    845408

Again Pat I will use one of your sayings, "the fans not being able to read is no excuse for arrogance", Pat I called you simple if you read it correctly, how you like to portray yourself and how I see you are two totally different entities. You are more arrogant than any other fan I have ever met, maybe we should start a thread about your arrogance

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 13/01/2011 13:11:07    845446

HAG_AND_CHEESE

845408 Patrique:

As much I like your accounts of hurling over the years but from what I can see your living in the past (something you've in common with the arrogant tipp supporters) you don't like tipp because of what went on in the 60's we get it.

A few years ago when the GAA launched their fan of the year award an Antrim man I know for years made the final....for supporting Cork hurlers all over the place.

This wouldn't the same fellow I has the misfortune to meet at the tipp cork game this year well if it is i wouldn't count him as a hurling fan the way he acted.... the 2 mates he had with him yes they were decent fans.... probably the same fellow he claims to be one of sean og's bezzie mates!!

Think i encountered that great gael in urlingford

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 13/01/2011 13:17:53    845451

your an old codger pat with a chip on your shoulder .i dont belive tipp fans are arrogent and belive me we meet them a lot more than antrim[except for you of course] i dont know how any individual can genralize a whole county fan base i think it speaks more about the lad pointing the finger than any1 else. as for your sidekick ulsterman who piggybacks on your never ending posts hed want to lose his ulster against the world attitude does ye no favours.......i really enjoyed his post last year CORK ARE A BUSTED FLUSH ......

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 13/01/2011 14:08:54    845521

No boo Cork are just a collection of oddballs.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 13/01/2011 14:24:38    845540

good counter argument ulsterman are you not wanted on some celtic advocation thread

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 13/01/2011 14:40:03    845559

Indeed I'll leave the "my da is bigger than your da" juvenile nonsense to you and your Tipp buddies boo.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 13/01/2011 14:43:52    845566

Lets be honest. Tipp were disliked for years. Until the strikes. Then Cork took over as the bogey team. Slowly but surely the trade unionists are finishing up and we'll soon be able to get back to disliking Tipp.

I actually like this Tipp team. Brendan Cummins is an absolute gent. Eoin Kelly the same. Obviously working in Kilkenny has helped the pair of them.

;-)

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 13/01/2011 14:56:34    845584

you know ulsterman when everyone around you seems strange its time to look in the mirror

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 13/01/2011 15:02:38    845590

Think i encountered that great gael in urlingford

What did you make of him, he might be a good lad away from matches and fair play to him for following cork they way he dose (even if his own county are playing the same day).... but the way he acts during the match isn't as a great gael!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 13/01/2011 16:30:06    845650

Puddersthecat, I like your post.

Brendan Cummins is a living legend. The service he has given Tipp hurling and how he dealt with being dropped in 2007, a lot of hurlers could learn from him.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 13/01/2011 17:03:57    845694

booboo

845521 your an old codger pat with a chip on your shoulder .i dont belive tipp fans are arrogent and belive me we meet them a lot more than antrim[except for you of course] i dont know how any individual can genralize a whole county fan base i think it speaks more about the lad pointing the finger than any1 else. as for your sidekick ulsterman who piggybacks on your never ending posts hed want to lose his ulster against the world attitude does ye no favours.......i really enjoyed his post last year CORK ARE A BUSTED FLUSH ......

sorry bobo but YOU generalised that everybody in my county are IGNORANT so you as an idividual generalized

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 13/01/2011 18:23:29    845784