Why do people dislike Tipperary?

Slayer:

Drinking in Newport does not constitute wanting to be from Tipperary :-)

I heard you were scoping out the lovely ladies and just to let you know contrary to popular belief the vast majority of the ladies around that area have their own teeth and aren't as hairy as they used to be ;).

I would not have it any other way in GAA terms than to be the 'nearly' men of Limerick.
True I think they feel sorry for ye and if works more power to ye women love fellows with scars dose the emotional scars of being the nearly men count.

I join you on that Up the green and white, I might find myself in a Limerick terrace again getting tin foil hopped off the back of me head! ;)

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 11/01/2011 18:00:18    844190

When we win an All-Ireland we will go nuts and probably never win one again.

Live in hope.... I've a few mates that at the end of every season say that's it I'm not supporting them again yet at the start of the championship their out in force again year after year you have to respect that!! Best Fans in Ireland (bar the limerick lads that wear celtic jerseys to games)

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 11/01/2011 18:05:24    844198

Lads, it's time for first tea and bikkies of the year

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 11/01/2011 18:06:41    844199

Maybe 40 years in the doldrums, by Tipp standards, has bate some of the arrogance out of them.

And this has nothing to do with Antrim in 89, Antrim won their "All Ireland" by making the final.

Back in the early 1960s with the great Tipp team, especially 64/65 there certainly was an arrogance.

as I said when Doyle won his 6th and Tipp their 21st on the same day there was no wild celebration, but rather a "what did ye expect" attitude. Now that could be blase, but to me, even as a youngster, it came across as arrogance. And "The Premier County" nick name never helped.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 11/01/2011 18:16:51    844211

patrique

as I said when Doyle won his 6th and Tipp their 21st on the same day

I posted 8th (eighth) and the admin changed it to make me (moi) look as daft as some.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 11/01/2011 20:10:36    844288

Maybe 40 years in the doldrums, by Tipp standards, has bate some of the arrogance out of them.

And this has nothing to do with Antrim in 89, Antrim won their "All Ireland" by making the final.

Back in the early 1960s with the great Tipp team, especially 64/65 there certainly was an arrogance.

as I said when Doyle won his 6th and Tipp their 21st on the same day there was no wild celebration, but rather a "what did ye expect" attitude. Now that could be blase, but to me, even as a youngster, it came across as arrogance. And "The Premier County" nick name never helped.

The nickname the 'Premier County' as far as I know came from either the time of the Easter Rising or the War of Independence where at the time there was a saying "Where Tipperary Leads Ireland Must Follow", thats where the name came from. It has nothing got to do with Tipperary being the best hurling team.

mikeweed74 (Tipperary) - Posts: 4 - 11/01/2011 20:44:14    844323

Ah Patrique, you need to move on man. You constantly knock Tipp. The All-Ireland final is now 21 years ago, carrying hatred for 50 years is unhealthy when you refer back to the Doyle era.

Dinny Cahill has put so much time and effort into Antrim hurling during his two spells. The commute from Kilruane to Belfast is not an easy one to make.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 11/01/2011 20:45:56    844326

Indeed Dinny has done a lot for Antrim no doubt and many of us appreciate that be under no illusions. The anger is mostly directed at that 89 team and some of the arrogant fans who rubbed it in too much.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 11/01/2011 21:20:19    844366

mikeweed74
County: Tipperary

The nickname the 'Premier County' as far as I know came from either the time of the Easter Rising or the War of Independence where at the time there was a saying "Where Tipperary Leads Ireland Must Follow", thats where the name came from. It has nothing got to do with Tipperary being the best hurling team.

Thanks Mickey but I already knew that, from reading Raymond Smith all those years ago.

And I also know where Cork's nickname comes from.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 11/01/2011 21:48:31    844406

11/01/2011 20:45:56
Killarney.87
County: Tipperary

Ah Patrique, you need to move on man. You constantly knock Tipp. The All-Ireland final is now 21 years ago, carrying hatred for 50 years is unhealthy when you refer back to the Doyle era.

As you cannot read get someone to read this out loud to you.

In 1989 Antrim's all Ireland was the semi. They won it. That for Antrim is unbelievable glory.

Even the team were not that interested in the final as they knew Tipp would win.

But as I sit here in my newly purchased after 47 years KILKENNY jersey, I remember 1964!!!!!

And I remember purging that in 2003!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Exactly one year after DJ came out of retirement to bate ye in 2002.

And as I said in most posts, from an Antrim viewpoint, Nickey and Babs, lovely men. Nicky used to down the whiskey in D.Maguires flat before and after trouncing Queen's.

A lovel;y bloke, always helpful, as was Babs.

But the fans, not being able to read is no excuse for arrogance.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 11/01/2011 21:53:04    844418

From the first matches I witnessed in the 70's, Tipperary, are always the county I have had least respect for, but the recent tragedies in Tyrone really puts things in perspective and talking about hatred for any county is innappropriate. We are all lucky to be part of a wonderful organisation in the GAA, which has many flaws but is a fundamental part of so many Irish peoples lives and which unites us all. We all have a lot more in common than the rivalries that divide us.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 12/01/2011 09:26:11    844463

It definitely is a generational thing. Anyone around watching hurling pre the 1990s typically still has a dislike for Tipp. But I think it is true to say that this team and management come across as very humble and modest. Also certain events south of Tipp created a bogey team for many GAA followers in recent years which deflected some of the attention away from Tipp.

The frightening thing, however, is that the arrogance could resurface because without doubt this is an absolute class Tipp team and they could emulate the greatest team of all. If they did, we'd never hear the end of it.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 12/01/2011 13:57:58    844717

Aw come on Ulsterman & Patrique, let the past go, just look at the improvement in both football & hurling that Antrim has made in the past couple of seasons, the footballers made the Ulster final in 2009, last year they were unlucky in the draw to come up against Tyrone and then Kildare who were one of the top team of the championship last year and ye still brought Kildare to a replay. Ye should have beat Offaly in the hurling and then did beat an up and coming Dublin

On current trends, it's only a matter of time before Antrim is back in the top flight again. Live for this year not 20-50 years ago

And as for this:

onlyhurling

844463 the recent tragedies in Tyrone really puts things in perspective and talking about hatred for any county is innappropriate. We are all lucky to be part of a wonderful organisation in the GAA, which has many flaws but is a fundamental part of so many Irish peoples lives and which unites us all. We all have a lot more in common than the rivalries that divide us.

That's possibly the best post I've ever read on this site

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 12/01/2011 14:43:30    844755

OK I need to paint a picture here. People wonder why Tipp were hated. I was in Thurles in 1991 in the Stand. Tipp won by 2-18 to 0-10. It was a massacre. John Leahy was fed a ball on the right wing near the 40. He hit it off his right side & it curled over the bar for a beautiful score. He came over to the wire and punched the air. The Tipp fans all around us were going nuts, clapping us on the back, jeering us telling us to go home. It was awful to be there. We stopped in County Tipperary on the way home, more of the same. Laughing at us like we had no right to be in the same company as them. I was only 15 but I got trollied.

Fast forward to 2009 and the 6-19 to 2-7 humiliation in Croker. Corbett & co opened us up with surgical precision and hit score after score. There was no clapping on the back, no playing to the crowd. As soon as Tipp would plunder a goal, the players would get back into position and get ready for the puck out. Afterwards on TV, Sheedy described Limerick as having an off day & Tipp reaching the heights. Sheedy masterminded the toppling of hurling's greatest ever team and all he did was raise his finger to the camera after Corbett's third.

You simply cannot compare both regimes. Babs has gone on national radio & thought himself funny by saying things like 'Limerick are the only team who drink before they win'. Would English or Sheedy ever say that? The worst thing I ever heard English say was in the wake of the Munster final defeat to Waterford in 2002 was 'We have only beaten Limerick this year which in hindsight was not that big a deal'. Nothing arrogant or poking fun at other counties. A pretty accurate analysis of Tipp's year to date then.

When we played Tipp in the late 80's early 90's there was a nasty element to both sides support. All sorts of abuse could be shouted. But by 2007 I remember the craic was mighty at the trilogy of games. I firmly believe that the attitude & humility of Nicky English played a huge part in this change. The fact that Tipp have taken the game on since 2007 and gave us the display they did 4 months ago just shows the workmanlike humble attitude they now have, in stark comparison to John Leahy winding up the home support with a point against a well beaten team 20 years ago. I just that sort of attitude comes from the top down & players will do what their managers want.

I'd go so far as to say I really like Tipperary over the past 10-12 years, good craic, great hurling teams and lovers of the game, and Thurles is great stadium for hurling.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 12/01/2011 15:24:08    844814

sounds like slayers gone over to the dark side...abandon all hope

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1066 - 12/01/2011 16:10:23    844859

The Premier County was coined by Thomas Davis in the 1840s as a tribute to Tipp's undoubted centrality to the national struggle.

As for arrogance, I have to say that there have been times over the years when Dublin getting hammered by Tipp was made worse by the attitude of the supporters. Babs did nothing to dispel that and for some reason best known to himself seems to retain an almost passionate dislike for Dublin hurling. Whatever we did on him I don't know!!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 12/01/2011 16:25:24    844872

Puddersthecat:

The no problem with being arrogant when your successful.... 1 all-ireland isn't enough for that, their was a degree of arrogance with kilkenny people over the last few years and it was justified as their a class act, if we manage to put a few more all-ireland under our belt will bring on the arrogance then.

Maroonatic:
Not at all their a healthy rivilary and respect there I know the man and he's hurling to the bone!! Also did you notice the lack of whinging in the post something some galway should take on board..... I agree with him there was a degree of arrogance around the 91 team but you could say the same about the galway team of that era aswell!! You can really say the tipps current crop and supporters in the majority are arrogant.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/01/2011 16:31:19    844879

I certainly dont hate Tipp. They are huge rivals down through the years but i think their is also great respect between the fans of Cork and Tipp. We probably celebrated as much as you boys this year when ye knocked KK off their pirch :).

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 12/01/2011 16:35:16    844883

At least Tipperary have something to be arrogant about unlike the Armagh shower with one All Ireland

N16Calling (UK) - Posts: 260 - 12/01/2011 16:46:32    844895

sounds like slayers gone over to the dark side...abandon all hope

No way. I absolutely love Limerick GAA. There is an attitude among our fans, especially those my age group (mid-30's) that if there is a way to cock things up, Limerick will find it. Whether it be leading by 5 points with 5 minutes to go and losing, or being 17 points down, drawing & losing the replay by a point, we do it.

But you know what? It's fantastic. Following Limerick is a passion, it makes people hungry to win, but we rarely do on the big day, it makes us get our hopes up year after year, it makes us spend hundreds going to games without any huge success, but I wouldn't have it any other way. We look at the big boys & we know on our day we can probably knock any of them out of the championship, but we can't beat them all, which is the problem.

But our day will come and when it does years of frustration will end.

For the record, arrogance is not confined to Tipp. I remember us winning the Munster final pretty handy V Clare in 1994. I listened to Limerick radio the saturday before the 1995 final and the pundits were talking about the All-Ireland semi V Galway. Now if ever Mr. Loughnane & co needed motivation, there it was. That type of talk scared me & the folowing day we were hammered.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 12/01/2011 16:55:45    844905