Why do people dislike Tipperary?

Booboo

AND he wasn't very complimentary about your lot either. He said your hurlers were a crowd of oddball loners who didn't mix with anyone outside Cork.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 10/01/2011 21:43:18    843576

ah well then then ulsterman the gospil has been spoke .

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 10/01/2011 21:52:47    843599

If theres one county I don't like seeing Galway lose to its Tipp. Hate though is far too strong a word. The Home of Hurling label grates (It all started in Loughrea anyway not Hayes Hotel) The Keady Affair didn't help matters either. Another fine Irishman done down by an informer ! Rivalry's a funny thing tho'. Portumna hurlers got a great reception in North Tipp after winning their first club AI success.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1066 - 11/01/2011 10:12:35    843686

Maroonatic, that is because a lot of people see Portumna as a Tipperary team!!.

Star Gazer (Tipperary) - Posts: 436 - 11/01/2011 10:46:17    843720

As an Ard Mhaca man, I have never had anything other than courtesy from Tipp Fans. Over the past number of years I have hardly missed a Tipp Game, including their Club C'ships, and regularly stay overnite in Thurles.
Great people, great Gaels, and Thurles on Munster Final weekend has to be be witnessed to be believed.... unbelievable.

sam02 (Tyrone) - Posts: 643 - 11/01/2011 10:57:07    843736

A lot of the negative rhetoric about Tipp contained in this thread seems to be concentrated on the past, Babs era, Antrim finals etc

What about present day? No one seems to be saying anything

I for one, am still delighted at Tipp's AI success in 2010, it was good for hurling, the players deserved it after last year, and I recently watched a TV3 documentary about Tipp's AI run and Liam Sheedy, Brendan Cummins & others spoke with nothing but respect for one and all teams they played last year, including us, even though they slaughtered us, they still spoke respectfully of us

Good on them is all I can say

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 11/01/2011 10:59:44    843740

Killarney.87 wrote:

My attitude is that we have been in the doldrums for the best part of 40 years and with this has brought a new found humility to Tipp fans. I take nothing for granted in sport and I am just so grateful we won the all-ireland this year. For me stopping the five in a row never entered the equation it was all about us winning one.

Hurling is more important than Tipp but Tipp still contribute an awful lot to hurling and would be missed if they were gone.

great post and I believe that this attitude is what people like, humility and will to win and self belief. The thing that marks Tipperary's current sides out is that every opponent is treated with respect and Tipp just happened to be the best in 2010 without question.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 11/01/2011 11:09:46    843751

That's rubbish and typical of Limerick. I remember those Limerick matches in 95&96 and believe you me everything you say about Tipp above I saw in Limerivk 10 Fold.

Eh?

We beat them 0-16 to 0-15 in 1995 and 4-7 to 0-16 in 96. We didn't win the All-Ireland either year. How can you say everything said about Tipp that Limerick did too when we didn't even match their achievements?

Strange post, written without thought, copy & paste in haste.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 11/01/2011 11:17:25    843760

gigoer wrote:

A lot of the negative rhetoric about Tipp contained in this thread seems to be concentrated on the past, Babs era, Antrim finals etc What about present day? No one seems to be saying anything I for one, am still delighted at Tipp's AI success in 2010

Agree totally with all of your post gigoer. English & Sheedy are both humble men & set the tone for the honesty & work rate of their teams. I think that filters through to the fans too, they see the hard work put in & they appreciate it and are rightly proud of their team.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 11/01/2011 11:24:25    843770

AND he wasn't very complimentary about your lot either. He said your hurlers were a crowd of oddball loners who didn't mix with anyone outside Cork.

This is possibly just the area I grew up in, I don't know, I cannot speak for all of Limerick but in the early 80's we probably had the best Limerick team of all time but we found it so hard to get past Cork. The thing is though we used to love the games against them. In those days before sponsorship, the contrast was vivid, Cork in their blood red shirts and white trims, Limerick in Green & white. We could match them stride for stride but they'd more often than not edge over the line.

Maybe things have changed since the back door system came in but I can even remembering us hammering Cork in Cork in 1996 and their fans telling us at the end 'go on and win the All-Ireland now boyyyyyyy'. The games V Cork just always seemed to be less tense and great craic. If we lost to them no big deal, it was more difficult to lose to Tipp.

Again, I'm mentioning Babs, and Thurlesblues also spoke in these terms but Babs & co always gave off the impression that only them V Cork was a real Munster final. If we met Cork in a Munster final they seemed to just see it as another game, tradition or not they would want to just win & get through to the next round.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 11/01/2011 11:46:20    843795

Simple fact is that we are not as hated as we used to be as tipperary people have no reason to be arrogant over the past 40 years but those arrogant so-and-so's are starting to creep out of the wood work again.... I would say that the fact we border with so many hurling countries their is a healthy rivilary.... people outside these countries would be mainly indifferent to Tipperary.

Maroonatic:
I knew the keady affair would be brought up again I'll just copy a post I made on a previous thread again build a bridge and get over it and stop laying all the blame at tipperary's door they voted to have him reinstated.

"HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

Right galway people listen up.

I don't know if you read the artical about tony keady in the indo on monday, there a few facts there that'll point that Tipp aren't to blame for this.

Firstly Tony was playing for laois against tipp in the New York Championship, he was told by a galway man that there would be no reprucussions if he played but he must have had misgivings as he played under the name Bernard Keady.

The complaint was lodged by the tipperary club in New York and not by Tipperary.

Note this is the most inportant fact.... in the appeal hearing which keady lost 20-18 Tipperary voted in favour of keady being reinstated where as 4 connaught county boards voted against it so why is blame not directed at your neighbours??

Also Keady struck up great friendships with tipp players of the time namely bobby ryan and he stated that there was a beneifit night organised i think for Enna Ryan where the whole Tipp travelled by bus in storm at the time with chainsaws in the back to make sure they got there..... keady had great respect for tipperary team of the time no matter if they hammered each other on the pitch.

This always surfaces around tipp Galway games and I'm sick of seeing it on the board..... from what i can see he puts the blame with Croke Park and the fact they wanted to make an example out of him.

I'm bookmarking this thread for later use as no doubt this will pop up again over time as it has for 20 odd years now. "

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 11/01/2011 11:54:11    843807

Simple fact is that we are not as hated as we used to be

HAG do you think the hatred/dislike has subsided in Limerick as you are friends with many Limerick folk and have a stool named after you in the Hurlers bar?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 11/01/2011 12:05:27    843816

HAG_AND_CHEEse I agree with you 100%, while the whole Tony Keady affair was disgracefully handled by the GAA, the fact that fellow Connacht counties voted against Keady and ultimately Galway does show that a lot of Galway people at the time and even today would have been far better off directing their anger at their fellow Connacht counties. The reason why Galway people still go on about this whole sorry affair is that with no disrespect to Antrim the winners of that All Ireland semi final were always going to win the All Ireland, which for Galway would have meant a historical unprecedented three in a row. Considering we still haven't won the All Ireland since way back then, chances are certain Galway people will continue to go on about it until such a time as Galway finally win another Liam Mc Carthy.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 11/01/2011 12:28:27    843836

slayer:

A liitle slayer it just old timers like yourself where the real hatrid comes from ;) only messing.

But saying that it is the older lads that dispise tipperary couple of my mates ould lads have told them not to be bringing that tipperary ****** around here.... its meant as a bit of a joke but their is a bit of truth in it too.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 11/01/2011 12:44:44    843847

Allegedly, said informer presented himself to the Tipp players in the dressing room after the 89 final. To their credit he wasn't as well received as he had wished. The Keady Affair is part of GAA folklore whether lads are sick of it or not. I raised it again as just one reason why many Galway followers would regard Tipp as our bette noir. Merely a response to moddy91's musings. Try not to get too worked up over it

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1066 - 11/01/2011 13:06:51    843871

But saying that it is the older lads that dispise tipperary couple of my mates ould lads have told them not to be bringing that tipperary ****** around here.... its meant as a bit of a joke but their is a bit of truth in it too.

Ah now if I ran a pub I'd be encouraging in as many Tipp fans as I could get. Sales of toasted sambo's would skyrocket and I'm sure a new phrase of 'cannaciderbosco' would become part of everyday language

:-)

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 11/01/2011 13:48:55    843903

Hag_and_cheese

You're right to a degree, but everybody thought at the time that Tipp voted for the motion knowing it would be defeated, it was a PR move as much as anything else.
I agree with you about all the rubbish people spout about it though, you'd swear Tipp are the reason we haven't won an AI since. I think Keady does blame Tipp to a degree though, as you can see on Laochra Gael, and as he said on GB FM before the last final we were in - certainly he thinks that the county board in Tipp encouraged the initial complainant to make his complaint.

Anyway, I have nothing but respect for Tipp, a great county, and lads I've always had great craic with. The Keady incident left a bad taste for a lot of people, but as you say yourself, most of it was for Croke Park and the officiating in the 89 semi. I have none of these preconceptions, and as slayer said earlier, the current Tipp team are nothing if not humble players who play in the spirit of the game. I wish them nothing but more success (as long as its not against us!)

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 11/01/2011 14:21:47    843938

Every county has its fair share of blowhards, in fairness to Tipp they have something to be arrogant about.(Hate losing to them though!)

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 11/01/2011 15:09:56    843989

slayer:

Times have changed slayer you'll have to have gourmet sandwiches now we've become very civilised sure isn't that why half of limerick is living in tipp now... sure where you out sniffing around yourself.

abhainn:
You're right to a degree, but everybody thought at the time that Tipp voted for the motion knowing it would be defeated, it was a PR move as much as anything else.
How the blazes did they know that it would be defeated 20-18 also they contacted the county board saying that they would support they when galway set about their appeal.... are you making out the canvassed they county boards to make sure of the result!!! The a bit of a biggie allogation wise! If galway canvassed their neighbours they might have passed it.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 11/01/2011 16:16:12    844056

sure where you out sniffing around yourself.

Drinking in Newport does not constitute wanting to be from Tipperary :-)

While ye have yer pockets stuffed with All-Ireland medals, I would not have it any other way in GAA terms than to be the 'nearly' men of Limerick. Sure the women love it, we stay on top for ages and finish second. When we win an All-Ireland we will go nuts and probably never win one again. That's what seperates us from the bigger counties.

Up the Green & White!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 11/01/2011 17:48:57    844177